Canadian Blog House


 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

12 Years A Slave ~ Available On Blu-Ray & DVD March 4, 2013 #Review #Giveaway

Posted by
/ / 69 Comments

12-years-a-slave-blu-ray-dvd-12YearsASlave_BD_Spine_rgb

We’ve all heard the buzz about 12 YEARS A SLAVE winning the “best picture” Oscar at the 86th Academy Awards last week.

Now I know what this buzz was all about.

“It is 1841, and Solomon Northup (Chiwetel Ejiofor in a gripping performance), an accomplished, free citizen of New York, is kidnapped and sold into slavery. Stripped of his identity and deprived of all dignity, Northup is ultimately purchased by ruthless plantation owner Edwin Epps (Michael Fassbender) and must find the strength within to survive.  Filled with powerful performances by an astonishing cast that includes Benedict Cumberbatch, Brad Pitt and newcomer Lupita Nyong’o, 12 YEARS A SLAVE is both an unflinching account of slavery in American history and a celebration of the indomitable power of hope.”

Be warned, this movie is at times graphic, unnerving, upsetting and horrifying.  I thought I had a good understanding of slavery, and all the evils that took place in the southern United States in the 1800’s, however, I found out I really knew nothing about it until I watched 12 YEARS A SLAVE.

I’ll be honest, at times while watching 12 YEARS A SLAVE, I wanted to turn away from the television screen.  In fact, at one point I debated turning it off. Yet this movie is so compelling that,  I just couldn’t. This movie played with every one of our emotions.  12 YEARS A SLAVE made us feel fear, sadness, loneliness, compassion, hurt, love, sympathy, and anger…extreme anger.  During certain scenes, I felt myself wanting to reach through the tv screen and throttle some of the characters.

Chiwetel Ejiofor is outstanding in his role as Solomon Northup.  He played the part of Solomon so convincingly, that Chiwetel made me feel incredible compassion for this man: a man who went from having a great job, home, family and friends (both black and white), to being forced to live the horrible, inhumane life of a slave…for 12 years.

Without giving away everything, I will tell you the ending is happy.  It’s one of those happy endings that will make you cry.  It made me cry.  My favourite line, near the end of this movie, sums up the incredible human being that Solomon Northup was. You will understand what I mean once you see the movie yourself:

“I apologize for my appearance but, I’ve had a difficult time these past several years.”

I don’t think Solomon could have uttered a bigger understatement.

Our friends at 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment are offering Canadian Blog House readers 2 chances to win a copy of 12 YEARS A SLAVE on Blu-Ray.  This is one movie I feel everyone should see at least once, and makes for an important addition to anyone’s Blu-Ray collection.  In our opinion, this is a “must-see” movie.

Here’s how you can enter to WIN:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

54224y783wpiiyxb89ic

 

 

 

Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House received a copy of this movie in exchange for a review.  All opinions are our own.

 

  1. March 26, 2014

    caryn s

    I would love to see this movies i heard its great!

  2. March 26, 2014

    Josh S

    old yeller – i still tear up.

  3. March 25, 2014

    travis

    Great movie

  4. March 25, 2014

    Raz

    Nice contest. Really want to see this and bluray would be great.

  5. March 24, 2014

    Paul

    Perhaps Schindler’s List.

  6. March 24, 2014

    loucheryl

    There are so many movies that made me cry and leave me with an emotional heart print. Here are a few: Forrest Gump, Beaches, Steel Magnolias, American Beauty, Titanic, The Wrestler, Philadelpha and The Shawshank Redemption.

  7. March 20, 2014

    Lucy

    yes, the pursuit of happyness – perseverance and overcoming hardships to have a better life

  8. March 19, 2014

    kemar

    I liked it

  9. March 19, 2014

    mo

    Cinema paradiso ….what a movie!

  10. March 18, 2014

    sonia

    ghost, so romantic

  11. March 18, 2014

    Surso S.

    the pursuit of happiness kicked me right in the feels that father son thing oh man that gets me everytime

  12. March 17, 2014

    Tanis

    Precious – pretty harsh movie.

  13. March 17, 2014

    Brenda Witherspoon-Bedard

    the colour purple

  14. March 17, 2014

    Francisca S.

    The Curious Case of Benjamin Button made an impression on me!

  15. March 16, 2014

    Sarah @ Living As We

    Schindler’s List. We watched it in my high school World Issues class. Very powerful. 12 Years a Slave is definitely on my list of movies to watch.

  16. March 16, 2014

    Casey Miller

    P.S. I Love You

  17. March 15, 2014

    jeff c

    Roots,A movie that never gets boring to watch.Times have certainly changed for the better.

  18. March 15, 2014

    angela m

    The pursuit of happyness

  19. March 15, 2014

    Megan Willis

    Yes, “Patch Adams.” Such an amazing, heartwarming story.

  20. March 15, 2014

    Mandeep Chadha

    I want to win!

  21. March 15, 2014

    Lee-Ann S

    Meet the Robinsons because we’re a family made from adoption and it puts everyone on the same page.

  22. March 15, 2014

    Lori Bazan

    Shindler’s List still haunts me. I have not yet seen 12 Years a Slave but hear it is very powerful and real.

  23. March 14, 2014

    Crystal Quibell

    Ghost

  24. March 14, 2014

    Tracey

    The Hurricane – based on Rubin Carter’s wrongful conviction. It is an incredible true story of the human spirit.

  25. March 14, 2014

    Heidi C.

    Definitely, Schindler’s List. Everytime, I watch it, I sense the immense emotional impact of this amazing film.

  26. March 14, 2014

    DaveO

    A Canadian movie called ‘Jet Boy’ – because sometimes a boy needs someone to care.

  27. March 14, 2014

    sandy

    I saw this when it first came out. It was great! I loved it, enjoyed it so much I had to see it again, took my adult son with me. He too loved it! I’m glad it won best picture. totally deserved it!

  28. March 13, 2014

    heather

    The movie that left the biggest impression on me was Schindler’s List very upsetting.
    P.S. I hope I can enter if I live in the US. I couldn’t see that in the directions above.

  29. March 13, 2014

    Wayne S

    Shindler’s List. It gave me a brand new perspective on how terrible the Holocaust actually was

  30. March 13, 2014

    Cassie Fancy

    Seven pounds , Restored my faith in humanity . Loved that movie , still do

  31. March 13, 2014

    Rachel Cartwright

    Pay It Forward was a classic… I’ve seen it so many times. So good.

  32. March 13, 2014

    Carolle Hall

    NO not yet

  33. March 13, 2014

    natasha severson

    i’ve never seen it but i really should!

  34. March 13, 2014

    Pam

    my memory fails me…but I love the Les Mis movies.

  35. March 13, 2014

    Victoria K

    No, not really. No movie has changed me.

  36. March 13, 2014

    Aaron D

    Children of Men. It really left a mark on me pondering what would happen to society if a large portion became sterile. It also really brings up great points on immigration and the tightening of borders.

  37. March 13, 2014

    Karine

    The only good example I can come with right now is Black Swan somehow, because it really tromatized me and affected me a lot

  38. March 13, 2014

    diana

    Cool Runnings….it was funny but such a good story about friendship and aiming for your dreams!

  39. March 13, 2014

    Kristine Ewald

    No I haven’t seen it, but I would love to see it 🙂

  40. March 13, 2014

    Dianne G.

    I don’t watch a lot of serious movies so I can’t think of a movie that has had a lasting impact on me. Quite a few years ago I watched the mini series Roots and that had a lasting impact. It was difficult to watch how poorly people were treated and how they were considered possessions to buy and sell. I have wanted to see this movie and was waiting for it to come out on DVD but just haven’t had the chance to watch it yet.

  41. March 13, 2014

    Victoria Ess

    I just saw this movie and it was so impactful. I’ll remember it because it was hard to watch at times and emotional, but important to witness history.

  42. March 13, 2014

    ginette4

    The Passion Of Christ, cried throughout the film, what Jesus Christ endured to save us..amazing.

  43. March 13, 2014

    loriag

    Roots – It had a high impact on me as a kid when I watched it. It opened my eyes to how society treated African Americans.

  44. March 13, 2014

    Erika E

    The Green Mile is a movie I have a hard time sitting through even though I think it’s a really good movie. It makes me emotional.

  45. March 13, 2014

    carole b.

    Life is beautiful, sad and moving, dramatic and not easy to take a comedy approch on a such subjet..very well done.

  46. March 13, 2014

    Melissa Finn

    Yes, Schindler’s List.

  47. March 13, 2014

    Heather Hayes Panjon

    Roots Is The Movie I’ve Watched That Really Opened My Eyes To The How Much Pain And Suffering Was Endured Through Slavery.

  48. March 13, 2014

    cruiser

    Saw Silence of the Lambs and from that point on, avoided all horror movies.

    • March 13, 2014

      Sandy

      LOL…that did it for you, eh Cruiser? Hello, Clarice! 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  49. March 13, 2014

    Jenness M

    Gorillas in the Mist pretty much traumatized me!

    • March 13, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh my gosh, Jenness! That’s horrible 🙁 I never did see that one myself, and maybe that’s a good thing after reading your comment. Thanks for entering!

  50. March 13, 2014

    Gary S

    Yes, The Shawshank Redemption. It taught me that a little humility and grace in one’s life can make all the difference.

    • March 13, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh that is one of my favourite movies, Gary! Have seen that a few times 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  51. March 12, 2014

    Andrea Amy

    I have. Running on Empty (starring River Phoenix) always gets me, just the way they end it and the sacrifices of the parents for the son. I know its an older movie, but its the first one that popped into my head that actually made me “think” long after the movie was over and I still get that feeling after all these years when I think about it or watch it.

    • March 13, 2014

      Sandy

      I’ve never even heard of that one, Andrea Amy. I wonder how I missed that one. I use to enjoy River Phoenix. I’ll have to check that one out. Thanks for entering!

  52. March 12, 2014

    Jody D

    Just saw The Butler and it left quite an impression

    • March 13, 2014

      Sandy

      My mum has been wanting to see The Butler so badly for awhile now. I haven’t seen it myself. Sounds like I should! Thanks for entering, Jody!

  53. March 12, 2014

    Anne Taylor

    The Colour Purple was a movie that made an everlasting impact on me. Racism, domestic violence, alcoholism and pure joy were all covered in this emotional film! I’ve watched it too many times to count and will undoubtedly watch it again.

    I haven’t seen this one, but, boy oh boy do I want too. My daughters both saw it and both ended up in tears and both are bi racial, so I suspect it had special meaning to them.

    • March 13, 2014

      Sandy

      I really need to watch that one again. It has been a long time since I watched it, Anne. I can only imagine how much 12 Years A Slave affected your daughters. It’s a definite must for their mom to see I think 😉 Thanks for entering!

  54. March 12, 2014

    Julie G

    No, I can’t say that I’ve seen a movie that had that sort of an impact on me.

    • March 13, 2014

      Sandy

      Nothing comes to mind, eh Julie? I’m a bit of a sap, so it doesn’t take much to “move me”, but I’m pretty sure this movie will stir something up in everyone who watches it. Thanks for entering!

  55. March 12, 2014

    Karen Thaeter

    The pianist.It was a wonderful movie,but left me feeling down in the dumps for a few days.
    Just seeing this talented person,struggling to stay alive during the war was very disturbing.

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      I never did see that movie, Karen, but I heard many people make similar comments to you. Didn’t that movie win for best picture that year? I seem to remember that. Thanks for entering!

  56. March 12, 2014

    Lynda Cook

    another two I really liked were The Colour Purple and Rosewood, I can’t wait to see this one, I’ve seen previews and it looks awesome

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      Loved Colour Purple but never saw Rosewood, Lynda. Hope you get a chance to watch 12 Years A Slave. Thanks for entering!

  57. March 12, 2014

    Darwin

    Most recently, I would have to say Mandela: Long walk to freedom. He had such an amazing history and had endured so much, it definitely left a lasting impression on me. I haven’t seen 12 years a slave yet, but I am looking forward to it.

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      I haven’t seen it, but I bet that was a great movie, Darwin. Mandela’s is another story about someone enduring so much pain and suffering..but coming out the other side to triumph. I’ll have to check that one out. Thanks for entering!

  58. March 12, 2014

    Joce Lyne

    i haven’t seen this movie yet…sounds good and i can’t wait to watch it 🙂

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      Yes, if you haven’t seen this movie yet – make sure it’s on your list of movies to see 🙂 Thanks for entering, Joce Lyne!

Leave a comment

CONTACT CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

canadianbloghouse@gmail.com

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 596 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.

PARTNERS

Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

NOMINATED FOR BEST LIFESTYLE/TRAVEL/PRODUCT REVIEW BLOG!!

WINNER OF A CANADIAN BLOG AWARD!

 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png

FRIENDS OF CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

online coupons Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button


Copy the code below:


Archives

Categories