Canadian Blog House

 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

Acne Emergency! Oxy Emergency Wipes To The Rescue! #Review #Giveaway

Posted by

The Mentholatum family of products has long been a trusted brand for my family since way back in the 1960’s. That’s over 50 years! I still remember my mum rubbing green mentholatum paste on my chest when I had a bad cold.  The wonderful menthol smell would immediately help make breathing easier.  It was like having a “comfort blanket” on my chest when I felt my worst.  To this day, the smell of the cooling mentholatum immediately brings back wonderful memories of how well my mother used to take care of me when I was sick. This is the original bottle..still going strong!


I also grew up using Phisoderm facial cleanser.  It was a staple on our bathroom counter.  Considered safe for the whole family, this was one product my mother always kept on hand for all of us to use.  During my teenage years,  other Mentholatum products, Oxy acne washes and creams,  became my “go-to” acne solution.

So when the folks at Mentholatum Company of Canada contacted me recently asking me to review one of their brand new products, I eagerly agreed.  Considering I have been a long-time fan of their products, I was very keen to try their brand new Oxy Emergency Acne Vanishing Treatment Wipes.

Acne treatments have come a LONG way since I was a teenager.  I remember the harsh medicated smells of  the various cleansers and creams I would try to use in the 1980’s before I found Oxy products.  They worked alright but, oh boy, did they stink!   I remember feeling like I was a walking acne treatment with the strong smells trailing behind me.  As a paranoid teenager, I started to wonder if it was my acne people were staring at, or were they staring at me because of the smell? So embarrassing!

For today’s teenagers, and adult acne sufferers,  there are some great treatment options for acne….without the overpowering medicated smell.

Oxy Emergency Acne Vanishing Treatment Wipes are one such treatment option.  These Oxy wipes “work rapidly to help heal acne”.  The new Oxy Emergency Acne Vanishing Treatment Wipes:

  • are the only medicated wipe on the market with the acne fighting ingredient Benzoyl Peroxide, clinically proven to kill acne bacteria on contact and help heal acne blemishes fast

  • relieve redness and work to reduce the size of pimples fast

  • have an advanced encapsulated technology that controls oils and work continuously to fight breakouts throughout the day

  • re-sealable on-the-go package for added convenience

  • non-drying, alcohol free formula with added oil free moisturizers

  • dermatologist tested

  • 30 wipes packaged for a month-long supply

Thanks to a recent change in diet (we are trying to get healthy and fit!), we have found an added benefit to our new way of eating…less acne!  While this is a great thing, it isn’t helpful when you are waiting to try out a new acne treatment.  However, I always know there is no escaping the claws of the acne bacteria beasts – at some point they are going to surface!  So we just waited until they made an appearance…and they finally did.

Our acne breakouts tend to be “greasy or fatty food related”, and in my case, hormones play a big part.  For me, acne seems to like to pop out at “that time of the month” just when I’m already feeling my worst.

Last week I started getting a small breakout of acne.  My problem with any acne I get is that, usually, it sits just under my skin, in a bump that never rises to the surface and “pops”.  It just sits there like a lump…a sore lump. That’s exactly what happened last week so I decided to put my Oxy Emergency Acne Vanishing Treatment Wipes to the test on my “no pop” acne.

Oxy and pHiso prize picture

I peeled open my pack of wipes and pulled out a perfect “palm-sized” wipe from the package.  Because I had this convenience pack of wipes with me in my purse, I was able to use them while I was out running errands.  I applied a wipe to my acne and immediately felt a cooling sensation.  I wiped and dabbed my acne bumps, tossed my wipe in the garbage, and went on with my day.  I forgot about the wipes and my acne until that evening when I went to wash my face. I was amazed to find that, not only was the redness gone from this patch of acne, my small bumps had all decreased in size to just about nothing.  I had hoped that my Oxy wipes would help my acne rise to the surface and pop, but they did the opposite.  The Oxy Emergency Acne Vanishing Treatment Wipes had actually decreased the inflammation and swelling of my bumps, rendering them (pardon the pun) wiped out!  I treated my acne with one more Oxy wipe before bed, and awoke in the morning to find my acne completely healed up.  I was very pleasantly surprised.  I was not expecting the results I got from using these wipes.

Aging tends to dry out your skin, and my skin has started to experience these changes with the aging process. While my skin used to lean more towards the oily side of the spectrum, these days it tends to be dry.  So I was a little concerned that using my Oxy wipes may dry out my skin.  I discovered there was no need for concern though.  The Oxy Emergency Acne Vanishing Treatment Wipes got rid of my acne, but left my skin feeling clean and soft.

While I wasn’t expected to review other Mentholatum Canada products as part of this post, I was sent all of the products seen in the photo at the top of the page.  One thing I did want to note was that I was happy to be sent the Phisoderm Facial Cleansers (one for oily skin and one for dry skin).  It had been a long time since I had used a Phisoderm product, and I had forgotten how much I liked their cleanser.  With a clean, mild scent, Phisoderm leaves my skin feeling refreshed and energized.  I will be using the Phisoderm Cleanser for oily skin during the summer,  and will keep the Phisoderm Cleanser for dry skin during the winter months.

If you suffer from acne, be sure to give the Oxy Emergency Wipes a try to see what they can do for you.  You can also try the Emergency Spot Gel and Emergency Cleanser to help you in your fight against acne.  Please keep in mind that my acne is not severe,  and that my results may differ from yours depending on the severity of your acne.

Thanks to the great folks at Mentholatum Canada, one lucky Canadian Blog House reader can win this same fantastic prize pack that I received, full of great acne fighting products!

Here’s how you can enter for your chance to WIN:

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House received the above products for the purpose of this review.  All opinions are my own.




  1. June 13, 2014

    mongupp (@mongupp)

    I hate acne! Struggled with it most of my life!

  2. June 13, 2014

    rose langill

    Wash face each morning with water and a mild soap. I have always had acne even still at 36 years old now have a son with it too, This prize would help lots in my house.

    • June 13, 2014


      As much as we’d like it too, it seems acne never quite disappears altogether, eh Rose? Sure sounds like your family could use the Oxy Emergency products! Thanks for entering!

  3. June 12, 2014

    Lindsay P

    VERY sensitive skin combined with acne makes for a rough teenage-hood. I always washed my face, but covering with makeup make my skin rash and anything with strong chemicals had much the same effect. I’m 22 and still get acne; these would be great to try!

    • June 13, 2014


      Oh Lindsay 🙁 Sorry to read this…sounds like you have had a tough time with your skin. You can’t win, eh? Sounds like anything you put on your skin can cause an outbreak. Thanks for stopping by to enter!

  4. June 11, 2014

    Tammie S

    Acne is a huge problem for my son. We are at out wit end. Thought about Pro-Active but that is so expensive:(. We have tried Oxy pads and so far they seem to keep the redness down. Hopefully we win this and he can keep on trying to keep them tamed down.

    • June 13, 2014


      That’s terrible for your son (and likely stressful for mom!). Pro-Active looks good in the ads, but yes, so expensive. I really hope your son can find something that works well..maybe Oxy Emergency 🙂 Thanks for entering, Tammie!

  5. June 11, 2014


    I have tried everything under the sun and things seem to work initially and then stop. I hope if I win this is a product that will help clear both mine and my teen daughter’s acne!

    • June 13, 2014


      I sure would love to hear you say this product helped both of you Crystal! I don’t like seeing anyone suffer from acne. That can really make us all so self-conscious. Thanks for stopping by to enter!

  6. June 11, 2014

    Angela Mitchell

    I make sure I don’t overwash my face and I use a gentle soap and moisturize. When I was 19 I started to get quite bad acne. I’ve had it ever since although it’s finally gotten a bit better the last few years.

    • June 11, 2014


      Glad to hear your acne has gotten a bit better, Angela. Sounds like you have a good skincare routine now 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  7. June 9, 2014

    Erika E

    I wash my face in the morning but sometimes I’m a little lazy at night. I didn’t have bad break outs when I was younger but now as an adult I seem to have them at the worst times. Usually when there are pictures involved.

    • June 11, 2014


      Yep! Just when you need an acne breakout the least, eh Erika? I tend to do that too (not bother to wash before bed) but I’m trying to make sure I do these days – it always feels so much better to go to bed with a fresh face 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  8. June 4, 2014

    michelle tremblett

    I scrub my face day and night, I’ve luckily never had to battle too much acne, of course if I have somewhere to go and I really don’t want to break out that is exactly when I will haha. My kids are both coming into their teens and the acne is just starting for them ;/

    • June 8, 2014


      Let’s hope it doesn’t get too bad for your kids, Michelle! Yep, I know the feeling…acne always seems to appear at the worst times. Thanks for entering!

  9. May 31, 2014

    Betty S

    I was relatively lucky in my earlier years, but now when I do break out, it seems to last forever and I am sure stress and polution brings them out.

    • May 31, 2014


      Yes I bet you are right about stress and pollution, Betty. Nothing like doing it “backwards”, eh? Geez. Thanks for entering!!

  10. May 30, 2014


    I try to wash me face every night before bed but sometimes fail to do so. I am currently struggling with acne.

    • May 31, 2014


      Me too, Tanya, but sometimes I am just too tired. Not a good thing though…it’s always best to wash before bed. Thanks for entering!

  11. May 30, 2014

    Heidi C.

    I wash my face twice a day with acne wash products and then apply moisturizer with SPF. I get acne when I perspire a lot.

    • May 31, 2014


      Sure sounds like you have a very good routine, Heidi! I’m sure that helps a lot. Thanks for entering!!

  12. May 30, 2014


    Just soap and water for me! And no horror stories!

    • May 31, 2014


      Just the basics, eh Tanis? You must have really good skin! Lucky you 🙂 Thanks for entering!!

  13. May 29, 2014

    Karla Sceviour

    I am always having acne horror stories,because I am always getting breakouts at random times! ..I wash my face in thr morning adn before I go to bed,with a cleanser,and moisturizer.

    • May 31, 2014


      Oh no, Karla 🙁 That’s not fun…especially when you work hard to keep your face clean. Thanks for entering!!

  14. May 29, 2014

    Amy C

    I wash my face in the morning and before bed. I have no stories.

    • May 31, 2014


      You are one of the lucky ones, Amy 🙂 Happy for you! Thanks for entering!!

  15. May 29, 2014


    I’ve been worse in my 30’s than when I was a teen. I’m not very happy with my skin.

    • May 31, 2014


      I wouldn’t be happy about that either, Andie 🙁 Sorry to hear that. Thanks for entering!!

  16. May 29, 2014


    I had the hugest pimple in my early twenties that would just not go away. I tried everything and when it finally did leave I have a huge pock mark left on my face, a reminder every day of my acne nightmare.

    • May 31, 2014


      Oh no, Pam 🙁 That’s terrible. It’s bad enough to suffer with severe acne, but worse when you have to live with a reminder like that every day. Sorry to hear that. Thanks for entering!!

  17. May 29, 2014

    Jennifer P.

    I use a gentle cleanser in the shower every morning, and I don’t really have any acne horror stories.

    • May 31, 2014


      You are a lucky lady then, Jennifer, especially after some of the comments I have read here. Thanks for entering!!

  18. May 29, 2014


    I do the basic wash, tone and then moisturize. I always seem to get acne flair ups for special events/occasions!

    • May 31, 2014


      I think that is normal for a lot of us, May. Stress can be a big trigger. Thanks for entering!!

  19. May 29, 2014

    Cassey C

    I break out whenever I am stressed such as before interviews.

    • May 31, 2014


      That would do it for me too, Cassey! Thanks for entering!

  20. May 29, 2014


    I use an acne wash daily as I still deal with acne in my 30’s! It seems like it’s never going to end!

    • May 31, 2014


      So annoying, eh Glogirl. We all think acne ends when you leave your teens behind…but it doesn’t 🙁 Thanks for entering!!

  21. May 29, 2014


    I have suffered from acne since my younger years…it is a pain in the butt. I wash my face every day (cleanser, toner and moisturizer) and if I don’t, I find it gets worse. I also suffer from crazy hormones which is probably why my acne gets crazier at times. I have yet to find something that works.

    • May 31, 2014


      A pain in the butt is right, Karla! Especially when you are trying to take good care of your skin. Crazy hormones will cause problems for sure. Thanks for entering!

  22. May 29, 2014

    Maegan Morin

    Currently I wash my face with a mild cleanser then I scrub it with a cleansing pad and finally I use a moisturizer.

    • May 31, 2014


      Sounds like you do a great job on your skin, Maegan!! Thanks for entering 🙂

  23. May 29, 2014

    Karen Evans

    From the age of 12 till the age of 19, I suffered badly from acne (aka pimples) as the only medicine was clearisal(??) I would buy tons of it and wore a lot of make up to conceal them. (of course, wearing the make up didn’t help)! Now that I am a grandma in my middle 50s, some of my acne has come back. I wash my face 3 times a day with plain soap and water and sometimes a bedtime moisturiser as my face is dry! ACCKK !!!

    • May 31, 2014


      How frustrating, Karen! Oh I remember those days of Clearasil and cover up. I’m certain that made things worse for me at the time 🙂 Thanks for entering!!

  24. May 28, 2014


    My cleansing routine almost doesn’t exist at the moment. My acne horror story would just have to be that I use to a popper. Good think I was able to quit that cold turkey!

    • May 31, 2014


      Oh my gosh, that made me laugh, Darwin! A popper! Lol…I’ve known many “poppers” in my life 🙂 Glad you don’t seem to have too many problems with acne now though. Thanks for entering!

  25. May 28, 2014


    um, i don’t have one? I have been pretty fortunate with acne, only having the odd blemish – my daughter is getting to that age – hopefully, she will be blessed with good skin 😀

    • May 31, 2014


      I really hope your daughter takes after you in regards to acne, Joy! How luck you are 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  26. May 28, 2014

    Julie Dyer

    I wash my face with a medicated facewash, followed by a swipe of medicated toner for sensitive skin. My skin breaks out from you name it — stress, sugar, too much sun — so I need to take preventative measures each day. I don’t have one specific horror story but having acne as a teenager was particularly horrible. My (already fragile) self-esteem plummeted with each breakout. I hope my kids will be spared!

    • May 31, 2014


      Awww Julie 🙁 That sounds pretty rough!! I’m sorry it has been..and continues to be a struggle for you. Yes, I hope your kids don’t have to deal with that also. Thanks for entering!

  27. May 28, 2014


    I get worse when I eat chocolate and during “that time of the month”, it doesn’t help that I only eat chocolate during that time too lol. I use Olay cleansing wipes which are mild but they don’t do anything for my acne, so I use a witch hazel with cooling mint toner to keep my pores clean and my face feeling fresh. I have tried so many acne treatments but still haven’t found something that works as fast as your post. I will have to check these new wipes out for sure!

    • May 28, 2014


      LOL those darn cravings we get during that time of the month, eh Manduh? I get chocolate cravings too…and french fries…and sometime candy…lol…all the bad stuff! Hmm…sounds like you get some pretty stubborn acne. I wonder if you try all three Oxy Emergency products if that would help you? Thanks for the laugh and for entering!

  28. May 28, 2014


    I seem to get acne around my nose when I have a cold, double ouch.

    • May 28, 2014


      Ouch is right, Cruiser! That has to be painful 🙁 Thanks for entering!

  29. May 28, 2014

    Joanne Saunders

    My current cleansing routine is soap and water twice a day followed by astringent. I have been suffering from severe acne almost all my life and I am now 45 yrs old.

    • May 28, 2014


      Oh geez, Joanne 🙁 My sympathies to you. It’s one thing to have it as a teen…but when it continues as an adult, and it’s severe, that’s rough. Thanks for stopping by to enter!

  30. May 28, 2014


    Any amount of stress (and I mean ANY) will trigger my skin.. break outs are terrible, and ALWAYS happen when there’s pictures to be taken -.-

    • May 28, 2014


      LOL! I should laugh (and my apologies!), but I can very much relate to having that happen when it’s time for a big family pic or some special event. So frustrating, Laura! Thanks for entering!!

  31. May 28, 2014

    Debra R

    I, too, grew up with Phisoderm….and Vicks Vapo-rub. I loved the menthol smell. I’m getting up there in age, but instead of my skin being dry, it gets very oily in the T-zone, with, as you said, tender bumps under the skin. Those acne wipes would be wonderful to carry around, especially in my back case on my motorcycle. Your face tends to get quite dusty on the roads. Handy for a quick wipe to ward off those nasty pimples. Thanks for the chance to win these useful products.

  32. May 28, 2014

    ivy pluchinsky

    I always seem to break out when i have an event to go to or a trip to go on!

    • May 28, 2014


      I just hate when that happens, Ivy! I think stress catches up to us at times like that 🙁 Thanks for entering!

Leave a comment


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.


12687984_1123298754386813_5693078246501293445_n LampeBerger



 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png


Blogger Conference Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button

Copy the code below: