Canadian Blog House

 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

Canadian Gardening ~ DK Canada Books ~ #Review #Giveaway

Posted by


 Taken by my boyfriend, this photo shows beautiful (but destructive) aphids making his rose bushes their home. He crushed hundreds of them by hand to rid his rose bushes of the aphids.

I admit it.  I don’t have a green thumb.  I’ve got a brown thumb. One on each hand, lol.  I did not inherit the wonderful gardening skills of my mother.  She always had the prettiest garden and flower baskets, and she could grow some pretty mean tomatoes and rhubarb.  When she ventured “outside the box” for a couple of summers, she grew strawberries and lettuce – and she even grew those well.

When I left my family home, one of the first things I bought for my new apartment was a house plant.  I was determined to be like my mum and eventually fill my living space with greenery.  Let’s just say, it was a great idea…if only I had actually remembered to water the plant!  The “difficult” task of filling a watering can with water, and walking it over to the parched potted plant, proved to be problem for me.  Yes, call me lazy.  For some strange reason, my lush house plants, no matter the variety, all turned to brown sticks while in my care.  Good thing I never owned a dog back then!

These days I consider myself very lucky.  You see, I have a boyfriend who loves to garden.  Not only does he love it – he’s good at it!


So recently when I was contacted by DK Canada about reviewing some gardening books, it was my boyfriend who was anxiously awaiting their arrival.  As always, DK Canada was quick to deliver the goods.  Mother Nature? Not so much.  Like many parts of Canada, we’ve had a cold and crazy spring here in the Nation’s Capital.  There was no early spring planting where I live, in fact, we just got around to planting some flowers last week.

Shhh…don’t tell my boyfriend but, with the DK Canada gardening books I was sent, I think I could master the gardening all by myself, lol (kidding of course!).  I received three DK Canada books and each one of them is so full of great information and wonderful step-by-step illustrations, I think anyone could become an expert gardener by reading and following these books:



This monster of a book contains, what I think is, everything you need to know about gardening in Canada.  This 760-page book illustrates a map of plant hardiness zones, soil prep and planning, detailed information on planting flowers, shrubs, fruits, vegetables and more.  Need pruning tips? Information about pests and diseases? Need to know what tools to use and how to use them?  This gorgeous book covers all of that and so much more!


This is another gardening book filled with spectacular images and is a fantastic guide for planning just about any type of garden.  It covers formal gardens, family gardens, urban gardens, planning your garden, what plants and flowers to use in your type of garden, and so much more.  This is a DK Canada gardening book that is jam-packed with all kinds of tips and tricks appropriate to many types of gardens.


While I’ve never attempted to grown any vegetables myself (yet), except for tomatoes, I will definitely be getting my hands dirty and into some vegetable planting now that we own this book.  What I love about this book (besides the great photos, information and tips) is the fact that it explains how you can grow vegetables in gardens, yards, balconies, and roof terraces.  This book covers all kinds of fruits and vegetables, even ones I have never heard of.  Cardoons anyone?


We planted begonias, geraniums and other flowers in two planters on the deck.

We are loving our DK Canada gardening books and we have barely scratched the surface of all the great information contained in their pages.  I’m sure we will both learn a lot from these books.


Be sure to check out the great selection of gardening books that DK Canada has to offer.  Right now you can even get 30% off for a limited time.  

Now to the best part!  The wonderful folks at DK Canada have very generously offered up all 3 books to one lucky Canadian Blog House winner!  The winner of this great prize pack shall be crowned “Canada’s Next Gardening Expert”…at least by me!  Here’s how you can enter to win these 3 great DK Canada Books:


a Rafflecopter giveaway






Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House received these books from DK Canada in exchange for a review.  All opinons are my own.


  1. June 18, 2013


    CONGRATS to Bailey D. for winning this gardening prize pack from DK Canada!!

    Thanks to everyone for entering!!

    A big thank you to DK Canada for sponsoring the giveaway!

  2. June 16, 2013


    i love my vegetable garden – i always plant herbs and tomatoes

    • June 18, 2013


      Good mix, tooliecat…tomatoes are a staple for me 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  3. June 16, 2013


    Yes, I have. I mostly like to plant herbs.

    • June 16, 2013


      That’s something I’ve never done, Wanda…bet it’s nice to have fresh herbs for cooking 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  4. June 15, 2013


    The hubby started our garden (I do NOT have a green thumb AT ALL lol) and he planted tomatoes, honey dew melon, cantaloupe, cucumbers and then some nice little bushes & flowers to make it look nice 🙂

    • June 15, 2013


      LOL Dayna! Well it sounds like your hubby is a great gardener! Your garden is going to be so nice. Thanks for entering!

  5. June 15, 2013


    I have started gardening, however I to have two brown thumbs, already my potatoes have rotted and my pooch thought it was a great idea to dig them up and roll in rotten potatoes….ewww, gosh was she ever stinky:(.

    • June 15, 2013


      A girl after my own heart with the two brown thumbs! lol Ewwwww…that must have been nasty! Thanks for entering, hazeleyes2170!

  6. June 14, 2013

    sarah stickney

    i just plant whatever flowers i think are pretty

    • June 15, 2013


      Sometimes that can make the prettiest garden, Sarah 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  7. June 10, 2013

    Jennifer L.

    I have started. I’m growing some veggies this year and I also have lots of perennials.

    • June 10, 2013


      Good for you, Jennifer…I’ve got perennials in mine too. They are finally starting to look good after a long, cold winter. Thanks for entering!

  8. June 9, 2013


    The garden is doing well. The peas are almost ready and the carrots are on there way. I plant a range of vegetables and flowers. My columbines are gorgeous right now!
    I always love learning more about gardening.

    • June 10, 2013


      Oh Maggie, your garden sounds wonderful! Peas are almost ready? Mmm…love fresh peas like that. Thanks for entering 🙂

  9. June 8, 2013


    Nope. Not really a gardener, and we rent and the place is already so over run by WAY too much plants that the owners planted, so we don’t plant. But we are hoping to move next year, and I would love to create a little garden for the kids. I used to grown strawberries, and my older two loved that, just no room for that here.

    • June 8, 2013


      Yep, sometimes you are restricted by where you live, andreaca. Hopefully you will get the chance to grow your own garden next year..that would be great 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  10. June 7, 2013


    I love gardening. I’ve got tomatoes, peppers, radishes, onions, lettuce, herbs & flowers!

    • June 7, 2013


      Great choice of veggies, reinventyourday 🙂 Yum! Thanks for entering!

  11. June 5, 2013


    I love gardening and have already started mine. I’m just starting to venture into “veggie” territory lol, but I LOVE plants of all kinds 🙂

    • June 5, 2013


      Awesome Brandi! So you are just venturing into veggies…what’s on your list to plant first? Thanks for entering!!

  12. June 5, 2013

    Heidi C.

    Sorry, he morphed into a bespectacled sun!

    • June 5, 2013


      LOL…much better than the grumpy one 🙂

  13. June 5, 2013

    Heidi C.

    We planted a large garden this year with carrots, corn, lettuce, melon, peas, squash, pumpkins, tomatoes, etc. Plus, we have perennials and annuals in/to be put in. These books would really help! (Btw, my post avatar is a grumpy purple marshmallow!)

    • June 5, 2013


      Omg, Heidi! Your garden sounds fabulous! So many yummy things! LOL…glad to see your avatar morphed into something better. can always add your own pic 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  14. June 5, 2013


    This year I planted a vegetable garden with tomatoes, cucumbers and lettuce. It is a small space so I just picked my 3 favorite things. Next year I hope to expand the garden so I can have more variety.

    • June 5, 2013


      Perfect, skyalive! That is exactly how I would do it…just pick my top faves. I love your choices. Here’s hoping next year you can expand 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  15. June 5, 2013

    sarah p

    Unfortunately I don’t have a spot for a garden, but when we are in a house I will definitely be planting some vegetables and flowers 🙂

    • June 5, 2013


      Awww..that’s too bad, Sarah! One day 🙂 Or…as I have seen in my books, you can grow some pretty good stuff inside. Thanks for entering!

  16. June 5, 2013


    This year, it’s purchased tomato plants in pots and a few herbs, which beats last year’s garden which was nothin’!

    • June 5, 2013


      That certainly beats last year, thejauntyloon! If I could only plant one thing it would be tomatoes. I love fresh summer tomatoes (and I don’t seem to kill them, lol). Thanks for entering!

  17. June 4, 2013


    Zucchinis, tomatoes, carrots, cucumbers, radishes, lettuce,… most of veggies actually 🙂 and also several berries (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, blackberries).

    • June 4, 2013


      Ohhhh! I’m coming over to your place, Dolly! I LOVE all those berries! Sounds amazing! Thanks for entering 🙂

  18. June 4, 2013


    I’m like you with plants so my garden consists of perennials, mostly lilies that spread, and rhubarb to eat. Have some Hosta at the moment, but the deer keep eyeing it and every time we come home, I’m expecting it to be munched on. Does the book say how to keep deer out of gardens?

    • June 4, 2013


      Grrrr…love deer but not when they are doing that! I’ll have to check my books for you. They probably do cover that, they are so full of information I would be surprised if they didn’t. Thanks for entering!

  19. June 4, 2013


    I’ve just moved in to a new home (well, new-to-me anyway!) that came with a neglected yard. All I have to work with is one ornamental crab tree and a lot of dandelions… Its going to be a busy spring!!!

    • June 4, 2013


      Congrats on your new home, karcar! How exciting! Yes, that sounds like a lot of work, but so rewarding once you get it fixed up! Thanks for entering 🙂

  20. June 4, 2013


    I love to garden but my space is very small; that said, I do have a lot of perennials, trees, shrubs. I have planted half of my annuals so far (it has been raining and I can’t get in to garden): pansies, wave petunias. I also like to grow herbs and have a variety including parlsey, cilantro, oregano, rosemary, and several mints.


    • June 4, 2013


      Well, Dreena, as I have learned from my books, no space is too small to start some sort of a garden. Good for you! Wave petunias…what are those? A special kind of petunia? Love the sound of all your herbs! Thanks for entering!

      • June 15, 2013


        Wave petunias are “spreading” petunias – not just a single flower on a stem. They spread outward and really fill the space. I love them and they are so easy to grow/take care of.

  21. June 4, 2013

    Joy M.

    Unfortunately, I do not have a green thumb. No veggies this year (although I have had tomato plants in past years). Just some flowers in pots around the yard. Hopefully, they won’t die too early 🙂

    • June 4, 2013


      No green thumb for you either, eh Joy? I’m in good company 🙂 Lol…that is what I’m saying about the planters of flowers I’ve planted. Have to make sure to water them every second day! Thanks for entering 🙂

  22. June 3, 2013


    Have a vegetable garden this year. Really excited. Lots of flowers in the other gardens. Still have a hard time telling what’s weeds? Thanks for the chance to win these great books. Always lots to learn.

    • June 4, 2013


      Your gardens sound wonderful, nsconsumer!! I could probably learn a lot from you. Wish we lived closer! Lol..I hear you on the weeds. Grrrr! Thanks for entering!

  23. June 3, 2013

    Bailey Dexter

    I just planted my tomatoes,cucumber, onions and flowers but last night I had to cover them as we had frost

    • June 4, 2013


      Aww geez, Bailey! We aren’t supposed to have to worry about frost on June 2nd. How frustrating! I love your choice of veggies. One of my faves is cucumber. I really must try those one day. Thanks for entering!

  24. June 3, 2013


    We have started with cherry tomatoes and bushes this year.
    I would like to get around to planting more vegetables this year.

    • June 4, 2013


      Oooh! Cherry tomatoes! I love those. Will have to think about planting some myself. Thanks for entering, Marjorie45!

  25. June 3, 2013

    ivy pluchinsky

    I love planting vegetables and fruit

    • June 3, 2013


      I’m hoping to move by next summer so that I have room to plant some veggies and fruits, Ivy. I’d really like to give that type of gardening a try. Thanks for entering!!

Leave a comment


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.


12687984_1123298754386813_5693078246501293445_n LampeBerger



 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png


Blogger Conference Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button

Copy the code below: