Canadian Blog House


 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

Celebrate Earth Day 2014 With DK Canada! #Review #Giveaway

Posted by
/ / 63 Comments

DKEarthlyPleasuresBoutiqueEarth Day 2014 is coming up on April 22nd.  I recently did a little digging and found out that the first Earth Day was celebrated on April 22, 1970! Can you believe it? It has been 44 years since the first Earth Day.

Our friends at DK Canada Books are celebrating Earth Day 2014 with a fabulous assortment of books being featured in their Earth Pleasures Boutique.

We were lucky enough to be given the opportunity to review 3 of the books from the Earth Pleasures Boutique:

SmithsonianUniverse

This dazzling encyclopedia takes readers on an in-depth trip across our vast universe. True to DK Books’ nature, this book is very visual and full of spectacular photos of our universe.  This 528 book will fascinate kids and adults alike.  While we’ve browsed the photos in Smithsonian Universe, we have only just started to read the incredible amount of information contained within this book. One of our favourite sections is the “Monthly Sky Guide” which features charts showing the full sky and how it appears from most locations on earth.  Plus, you get monthly highlights and planet locators, and even a “special events” listing.  Smithsonian Universe: The Definitive Visual Guide” is a “must-have” book for amateur astronomers, or anyone who loves to learn more about our vast universe.  If there is something you want to know about our universe, I have no doubt you can find it here!

SmithsonianGeography

The Smithsonian Geography: A Visual Encyclopedia is another spectacular DK Canada book featuring stunning visuals that help tell the story of how planet Earth works, and what Earth’s inhabitants have done to it. This book covers every corner of the earth, and even features “country factfiles” detailing interesting facts about countries from around the world.  What I love about this book is that it is written is a style that is not unlike what a good blog post should be: short paragraphs and great photos. Very easy and enjoyable to read!

 

StarsAndPlanets

 

Stars And Planets: The World In Your Hands, is a great compact guide for the amateur astronomer.  This book covers everything from the instruments you need to use to observe celestial objects, to planets and stars, and even galaxies.  We particularly like the section at the front of the book that gives you proper tips and techniques on how to view the night sky, and all the objects you wish to see. If you are looking for a book that is compact enough to throw in a backpack, yet full of enough information to guide you during your night sky exploration, DK Canada’s Stars And Planets is the book for you!

Thanks to our great friends at DK Canada Books, Canadian Blog House readers can get a chance to WIN this amazing 3 Book Prize Pack, featuring each of these Earth Pleasures Boutique books we have reviewed.  Be sure to check out all the other great DK Canada Books featuring the wonderful planet we live on.  You can save 30% off for a limited time.

Here’s how you can enter to WIN:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

54224y783wpiiyxb89ic

Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House received these books in exchange for this review.  All opinions are our own.

  1. May 2, 2014

    Rhonda W G.

    We have and will continue aiming for a more “green” way of living…I am introducing non-toxic, cleaners etc. in the home.

  2. May 1, 2014

    Tara Gauthier

    We will clean up around our neighbourhood, go for a walk.

  3. May 1, 2014

    Nancy M

    At home.

  4. April 30, 2014

    Megan Willis

    We are keeping the lights off for a day!

  5. April 30, 2014

    Anna W

    On earth day I like to walk around and pick up garbage that is on the ground.

  6. April 30, 2014

    Chris

    We are working with our neighbors to clean our two parks.

  7. April 29, 2014

    Vanessa

    We are starting up our compost system again! 🙂

  8. April 29, 2014

    Rick R

    planting some new srubs in the backyard

  9. April 28, 2014

    Ryan Krebs

    Cycling and recycling!

  10. April 27, 2014

    Silvia D

    went to river clean up,donated spring cleaning items,

  11. April 27, 2014

    Angela Erickson

    Turning off the lights, eating local veggie pizza by candle light.

  12. April 27, 2014

    Jennifer D

    Going over simple ways to reduce energy consumption with my students

  13. April 26, 2014

    Debbie F

    going for a walk

  14. April 25, 2014

    M Thompson

    Recycling as much as possible. We separate plastics, glass, newspapers, paper & cardboard and take it to the local recycling depot.

  15. April 24, 2014

    tina p

    going to Famoso for “Earth” shaped pizza!

  16. April 24, 2014

    Graham D

    Starting a compost.

  17. April 24, 2014

    Lucy

    recycle and do some spring cleaning

  18. April 23, 2014

    angela m

    Cleaning up our yard and going for a walk

  19. April 22, 2014

    Jessica G

    Using my reusable mug for coffee at the shops today and unplugging unnecessary unused electronics!

  20. April 22, 2014

    Heidi C.

    We are going to work on our garden, if the weather co-operates!

  21. April 22, 2014

    Lauren

    We have been studying astronomy, so we are going to hopefully (if the weather will cooperate!) check out some of the constellations and planets we’ve been learning about!

  22. April 21, 2014

    Tanis

    Geocache!

  23. April 21, 2014

    Casey Miller

    Continue to not own a smart phone, walk, and drink water through my Brita filter (not bottled).

  24. April 20, 2014

    Anthony Castro

    My son would absolutely love these books! Thanks for the chance to win them.

  25. April 20, 2014

    diana

    Try to recycle and reduce carbon emissions

  26. April 20, 2014

    Jody D

    Hopefully cleaning up our gardens and enjoying mother nature

  27. April 20, 2014

    Nicole M

    I am going to spend the day outside and hopefully enjoy the sun shine.

  28. April 19, 2014

    Andrea Amy

    I’m not sure. The kids have school that day, but we will probably get our recycling together, and pick up some garbage from the yard now that the snow is almost melted.

  29. April 19, 2014

    Jonnie

    We are participating in a city clean up and tree planting ceremony

  30. April 19, 2014

    Herb

    plant some trees

  31. April 19, 2014

    Neils Thor

    get in touch with nature!!!!!!!!!!!

  32. April 19, 2014

    darci

    Doing yard work and getting the exterior of our home ready for spring and looking a bit more festing, cleaning up puppy landmines, leaves and any messy bits!

  33. April 19, 2014

    Lily

    Not sure yet, but I’d love to help with something if I could.

  34. April 19, 2014

    diana p

    I love space. I would love these books.

  35. April 19, 2014

    irene k

    I/d love to visit biodome.

  36. April 19, 2014

    shawn

    get in touch with nature

  37. April 18, 2014

    Bev

    To celebrate Earth Day, I will plant a tree in my backyard!

  38. April 18, 2014

    Dreena

    Not too sure at this point, but hopefully doing something outside if the weather is nice.

    Cheers.

  39. April 18, 2014

    cruiser

    I’ll be trying to spend time outdoors if it ever stops raining. 🙂

  40. April 18, 2014

    Julie Dyer

    We’re going to the Nature museum.

  41. April 18, 2014

    margaux retrophiliac

    planting some trees and flowers

  42. April 18, 2014

    Doris H.

    We go outside…usually walk the dog, go to the park.

  43. April 18, 2014

    Jennifer L.

    It’s also my dad’s birthday that day so we’ll probably have him over for dinner. We also usually help pick up litter that day.

  44. April 18, 2014

    Victoria Ess

    We try to enjoy the outdoors as a family, and sometimes we go to the park, rollerblade or go hiking.

  45. April 18, 2014

    Maegan Morin

    I plan on taking the kids bottle picking that day.

  46. April 18, 2014

    Julie G

    I’m helping clean up the riverbank in the local park.

    • April 18, 2014

      Sandy

      Awesome Julie! That’s a great idea! Thanks for entering!

  47. April 17, 2014

    wobbles13

    doing some planting with the LO!

    • April 18, 2014

      Sandy

      Awww 🙂 That’s a great way to spend Earth Day, wobbles13 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  48. April 17, 2014

    Alexa Nernberg

    Earth Day is also my birthday. Not sure what I was thinking, but I also have a dental appointment that day at 1:00 p.m, so I will be in the dental chair having my teeth cleaned.

    • April 18, 2014

      Sandy

      Woo hoo Alexa! Happy Birthday!! LOL…oh boy…that’s NOT what I’d want to be doing on my bday 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  49. April 17, 2014

    Angela Mitchell

    We participate in the local celebrations in our town for Earth Day. I also go on garbage duty every year to a different location each time.

    • April 18, 2014

      Sandy

      That’s great, Angela! Good for you 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  50. April 17, 2014

    Joy M.

    Go for a walk! Later in the week, we plan to help clean up the park, too!

  51. April 17, 2014

    DARLENE W

    We will take a hike on the Bruce trail, picking up garbage as we go

  52. April 17, 2014

    Sandra

    We will be planting a tree in our backyard and cleaning up the park in our neighborhood.

  53. April 17, 2014

    andie

    We go across to the graveyard and cleanup any debris.

  54. April 17, 2014

    Darwin

    We have signed up to clean up the shoreline for Earth Day. It’s great to get the kids involved so they see how important it is to help our earth.

  55. April 17, 2014

    Brenda A

    I have scheduled our park clean up for Earth Day. I organize neighbours and friends twice a year to tidy up the park we all love!

    • April 17, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh good for you, Brenda! Love it! You can have fun…and do something good for your neighbourhood at the same time 🙂 Thanks for entering!

Leave a comment

  1. Giveaways Galore! - Serving From Home04-29-14

CONTACT CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

canadianbloghouse@gmail.com

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 595 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.

PARTNERS

Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

NOMINATED FOR BEST LIFESTYLE/TRAVEL/PRODUCT REVIEW BLOG!!

WINNER OF A CANADIAN BLOG AWARD!

 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png

FRIENDS OF CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

online coupons Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button


Copy the code below:


Archives

Categories