Canadian Blog House


 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

Celebrate Father’s Day With DK Canada Books #Review #Giveaway

Posted by
/ / 55 Comments

CanadianBlogHouseBabyBirds

Photo of baby grackles in their nest taken by my boyfriend – Spring 2013

With Canadian Father’s Day fast approaching here in Canada this weekend, DK Canada recently contacted me to suggest I review a few books – books that father’s might like for their special day.  I just cannot pass up an opportunity to review a DK Canada book.

I got to have my choice of DK Canada books celebrating Father’s Day, and again, these DK Canada books did not disappoint.  The whole family loves them.  This time, I asked my boyfriend to choose the books himself since it’s his special day coming up.  I think he chose a great selection.  He chose something for the BBQ chef, the nature lover, and the lover of all earthly disasters.  A very interesting mix of books!

DKCANADABOOKSFATHERSDAY2013

GRILL IT: I thought a DK Canada book about grilling recipes, techniques and tools would be pretty awesome…and it is!  This DK Canada Grill It book begins with a whole section of grilling facts, tips and information that can not only help the novice BBQ’er, but be used as a reminder for the expert BBQ’er.  Grill It covers everything you’d ever want to grill, from your favourite burgers and steaks, to veggies, fish, pizza and other snacks.  Most recipes come with beautiful, close up images of what the finished recipe should look like.  Pictures in recipes books are key for me.  I always like to see what the finished product should look like…just so I can compare!

Birds Of Eastern Canada: I love watching birds in the yard.  These days we’ve been seeing a male and female cardinal, the odd blue jay and chick-a-dee, and my favourites…a pair of mourning doves who built a nest in the bushes, and are raising two adorable babies there right now.  The Birds of Eastern Canada book is a handy regional guide to over 350 species of birds that make eastern Canada their home. Who knew there were so many species living in eastern Canada? I sure didn’t.  Each bird highlighted in this book has a brief description of its voice (or call), its nesting and feeding habits, its range in North America, and other great descriptive details.  Each page comes with great images.  Birds Of Eastern Canada is an all-around handy and informative guide for any Canadian who loves to bird watch.

Violent Earth:  I can’t wait until I can sit down for a good hour or two and read this gem of a book.  From cover-to-cover, Violent Earth is full of pictures, diagrams, charts, and satellite images detailing many of the violent events that pummel our earth on a daily basis.  You’ll find all the nasty (yet fascinating!) details covering volcanoes, earthquakes, hurricanes, mudslides and tsunamis.  Having just experienced a 5.2 earthquake here in the National Capital region last month, I was particularly interested in checking out the earthquake section.  All I can say is, I’m sure glad our earthquake here wasn’t one of “the big ones”!  Violent Earth is a fascinating book.  X-Man is a huge fan of volcanoes.  He loves to watch lava.  The brighter the lava, the better.  That means it is “the hottest”, lol.  So I’m sure you can guess which section he likes the best.  Violent Earth  has over 100 pages dedicated to volcanoes.  Trust me, if you read through this book, you’ll be an expert on just about every natural violent event on earth.

dads-rock-boutique-button-185x185

Be sure to check out DK Canada’s Dads Rock Boutique! You can save up to 30% off books for Dad (for a limited time).

So guess what?  Our friends at DK Canada are offering to give one lucky Canadian Blog House member their very own set of these 3 great Father’s Day books!  Although intended for fathers, I’m sure Mom will get just as must enjoyment out of these books as Dad.  Here’s how you can enter to win:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

54224y783wpiiyxb89ic

 

 

 

 

Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House received this set of 3 books in exchange for a review.  All opinions are my own.

 

 

 

  1. June 29, 2013

    Sandy

    CONGRATS TO MAEGAN M. FOR WINNING THIS GIVEAWAY! ENJOY YOUR BOOKS, MAEGAN!

    MANY THANKS AGAIN TO DK CANADA BOOKS FOR SPONSORING THIS GREAT GIVEAWAY!!

    THANKS TO ALL OF YOU FOR ENTERING! STAY TUNED…THERE’S ANOTHER DK CANADA BOOKS GIVEAWAY TO COME…

  2. June 29, 2013

    nycichicky

    It was actually a all weekend celebration! My husband is a biker and loves his ride. We all went as a family to an event called the “Border Bike Rally” close to were we live. The kids loved spending Friday night and all day Saturday with us. Our daughter actually won 500 dollars competing in the bike rodeo. As the evening neared it was time for the kids to go home. Now it was mom and dad’s turn, to cut loose. The cabaret was amazing and consisted of the “Headpins”, “Lou Gramm and Foreigner” playing. It really was a great night! The next day was for rest and relaxation with a glass of wine and a BBQ for supper. I’d say he had a fantastic Father’s Day! 🙂

    • June 29, 2013

      Sandy

      Now THAT’s a great Father’s Day, nycichicky! Wow! Congrats to your daughter…that’s pretty amazing 🙂 LOVE that you got to see those bands at night…I got to see Foreigner in Las Vegas and it was a great show! Thanks for entering 🙂

  3. June 29, 2013

    Holly Magee

    First Riley (3) and I made daddy a card and gave it to him, then we made him breakfast in bed followed by a nice relaxing BBQ/Lobster for supper. Then we pretty much took it easy for the rest of the night. We were surrounded with our family…Thank you so much for having this great giveaway!!! Good luck to all who enter 🙂

    • June 29, 2013

      Sandy

      Holly it sounds like you gave your hubby a pretty awesome Father’s Day! Love the sound of the BBQ’d lobster! YUM! Thanks for entering 🙂

  4. June 28, 2013

    Karine

    We celebrated it at my parents’ house with my brother’s family too

    • June 29, 2013

      Sandy

      Awesome, an all-in-one celebration, Karine 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  5. June 28, 2013

    Barbara Kajfasz

    We are celebrating this weekend Father’s Day all the kids and grandkids will be home!

    • June 29, 2013

      Sandy

      What fun, Barbara! Hope it was a great day 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  6. June 26, 2013

    aJeep

    we didnt do to much gave dad some scratch offs and some wine. he’s more of the my day leave me alone type. i did hear he wore his pjs all day tho 🙂

    • June 26, 2013

      Sandy

      LOL! Your comment made me laugh, aJeep! Well…as long as Dad was happy, that’s all that matters 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  7. June 25, 2013

    Maegan Morin

    This year for fathers day we went golfing and spent some time at the cabin. It was nice.

    • June 26, 2013

      Sandy

      Time in the cabin sounds wonderful, Maegan! Glad you enjoyed the day 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  8. June 25, 2013

    Lesley D.

    We had a BBQ for all of the dads: my dad, my husband, and my brother-in-law 🙂

    • June 25, 2013

      Sandy

      Hi Lesley!! Great to see you here! I love how you got everyone together. Bet you had fun. Thanks for entering!

  9. June 25, 2013

    Kevin Linkie

    I celebrated fathers day by bringing dad out to get plants for his yard. Helped him plant them too!!

    Kevin Linkie

    • June 25, 2013

      Sandy

      Awwww…now that’s sweet, Kevin. Especially the planting part. I bet he appreciated it. Thanks for entering 🙂

  10. June 23, 2013

    Darwin

    We went to the water park and had a picnic with all of my favourite foods.

    • June 25, 2013

      Sandy

      Now that sounds awesome, Darwin! I love water parks and picnics 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  11. June 20, 2013

    Angela Mitchell

    We went out for breakfast at an oceanfront bakery with my parents. It was a great day!

    • June 22, 2013

      Sandy

      Oooh Angela, that sounds wonderful! I would love to celebrate FD at the oceanfront 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  12. June 19, 2013

    Nicole B

    We went to the ferrari festival!

    • June 19, 2013

      Sandy

      Whaaat? That sounds cool, Nicole! Where was that? Thanks for entering!

  13. June 19, 2013

    Natalie

    We had a BBQ for Father’s Day. It was nice to spend time with the family.

    • June 19, 2013

      Sandy

      Sounds perfect, Natalie! That’s what it is all about – spending time together 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  14. June 19, 2013

    Joy M.

    We went to Brockville and took in the Tall Ship Festival – so nice!

    • June 19, 2013

      Sandy

      Ooooh! Love Brockville and the tall ships! Sounds like fun! I saw them a few years ago. Just beautiful. Thanks for entering, Joy!

  15. June 18, 2013

    flower_child

    We celebrated by going on a overnight road trip
    thanks

    • June 19, 2013

      Sandy

      Road trips are always fun…great way to spend Father’s Day! Thanks for entering, flower_child!

    • June 19, 2013

      Sandy

      That’s the most important thing anyways, Catherine…spending time together 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  16. June 18, 2013

    sarah p

    I made my husband a steak dinner 🙂 and we spent it together watching a movie and relaxing

    • June 19, 2013

      Sandy

      That sounds so awesome, sarah! Thanks for entering 🙂

  17. June 17, 2013

    journeysofthezoo

    The same way we do every Sunday; pancakes, walk, day with the Family. I love Sunday’s! Great giveaway, my husband would love the grill book.

    Besos, Sarah
    Blogger at Journeys of The Zoo

    • June 17, 2013

      Sandy

      Sounds like you always have a great Sunday, Sarah 🙂 That’s the way it should be! Thanks for entering!

  18. June 17, 2013

    KimMcIntyre

    BBQ and Canada’s Wonderland so far for Father’s Day.

    • June 17, 2013

      Sandy

      Well that sounds like a great day, Kim! I love Canada’s Wonderland. Haven’t been there in ages. Thanks for entering!

  19. June 16, 2013

    thejauntloon

    My husband and I went camping this weekend,our first weekend as empty-nesters! It’s a fitting tribute to my father who took my mother and me camping for the first time when I was just three weeks old… 49 years ago!

    • June 17, 2013

      Sandy

      How cool is that, thejauntyloon! I think that is great! Wow..some neat milestones…empty-nesters and only 3 weeks only when you first camped. Wow! Thanks for entering!!

  20. June 16, 2013

    Alyssa

    Growing up I always got my dad books for Father’s Day and other holidays – he would like these unless he has them already 😉 We are celebrating this year at home with our kids 🙂

    • June 17, 2013

      Sandy

      Love it, Alyssa! My dad has always been a big fan of books also. Hope your family enjoyed Father’s Day! Thanks for entering 🙂

  21. June 15, 2013

    mistycarole

    We are having a BBQ.

    • June 15, 2013

      Sandy

      I think BBQs are going to be a popular event this weekend! Thanks for entering, mistycarole!

  22. June 14, 2013

    cruiser

    Hoping for a bike ride and bbq.

    • June 15, 2013

      Sandy

      Hopefully you aren’t going to get the rain they are calling for here, Cruiser. Enjoy your day with hubby 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  23. June 14, 2013

    Bonny Dixon MacIsaac

    A bbq and watch a movie in the evening. Happy Father’s Day to all Dads!!!

    • June 15, 2013

      Sandy

      Those sound like my kind of plans, Bonny! Thanks for entering!

  24. June 14, 2013

    andreaca

    not doing much. completely broke, so can’t even get my husband a card. maybe bbq some burgers or something .

    • June 14, 2013

      andreaca

      not sure what link to pin…when you put the link in the rafflecopter like that, it doesn’t include the whole link and just takes us to an error 404.

      • June 15, 2013

        Sandy

        Sorry about that, andreaca. Go ahead and just copy and past this page…it should pic up a pin for you 🙂 Thanks for letting me know.

        • June 16, 2013

          andreaca

          I got the pin to work 🙂 Seems the button didn’t show up on my ipad but it shows on the computer so thank you 😀

          And we decorated a BBQ apron I found in my basement with hand prints of the kids for him, and he loved it so its all good 🙂

    • June 15, 2013

      Sandy

      Awwww..that sucks, andreaca!! So sorry to hear that 🙁 I bet hubby would be happy with hugs and kisses and some “me” time to relax. The BBQ sounds like a great idea. Thanks for entering!

  25. June 14, 2013

    Dreena

    We’ll be celebrating by having the in-laws come over for coffee and cake.

    Cheers.

    • June 14, 2013

      Sandy

      That sounds like a very nice and relaxing way to celebrate 🙂 Thanks for entering, Dreena!

Leave a comment

  1. Love DK Books? You Could WIN $250 In DK Books Of Your Choice This Valentine’s Day!01-15-14

CONTACT CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

canadianbloghouse@gmail.com

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 593 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.

PARTNERS

Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

NOMINATED FOR BEST LIFESTYLE/TRAVEL/PRODUCT REVIEW BLOG!!

WINNER OF A CANADIAN BLOG AWARD!

 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png

FRIENDS OF CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

online coupons Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button


Copy the code below:


Archives

Categories