Canadian Blog House


 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

DK Canada Takes You Off The Tourist Trail…And Into The 20TH Century! #Review #Giveaway

Posted by
/ / 100 Comments

It’s time for another fabulous DK Canada giveaway! You will NOT be disappointed with the selection of books I’m giving away this time.  They are a little “off the beaten path” so to speak, but I’m pretty sure they are books that all my readers will love!

DKCanadaOffTheTouristTrail

Speaking of “off the beaten path”, one of the great DK Canada books we received this time is “Off The Tourist Trail“.  This book is a treasure for all the traveler’s out there who love to explore places most tourists don’t get to see. For example, how about checking out the magnificent Pula Arena in Croatia, instead of the Colosseum in Rome? Exploring Iceland instead of Yellowstone (I took interest in this one as my sister won a trip to Iceland this summer!)?  My favourite? Bryce Canyon vs The Grand Canyon.  Don’t get me wrong, the Grand Canyon is truly magnificent and I’ve been lucky to visit there twice, but I’ve also been to Bryce Canyon in Utah, and it’s amazingly beautiful and awe-inspiring.  I love how this book points out “alternates” and places that many of us would never even consider going, or have never heard of.  Off The Tourist Trail covers all kinds of tourist destinations from Ancient and Historical Sites, to Beaches, Cities and Natural Wonders. This book also covers events like Festivals and Parties.  A must-read for the travel lover (we are ALL travel lovers, right?).

DKCanada20thCentury

My father has always been a bit of a “news hound”.  By that I mean that he devours the news, whether it is delivered via his TV, the radio, or his daily newspaper.  When I was a kid, and before the invention of the internet, my dad liked to collect those Time-Life books that chronicled the years.  You know, those books that are full of great photos of their times, covering news events, entertainment, politics and pop culture.  I was always fascinated with those books and their pictures.  So I was thrilled when I spotted DK Canada’s book 20th Century: A Visual Guide Of The Modern World.  I wanted that book!

20th Century is another DK Canada book that is jam-packed full of all kinds of great pictures and information detailing all the events, disasters and stories that have shaped our world.  There is so much great information on the pages of this book that I haven’t had a chance to read even a quarter of it yet! This is one book that will have you immersed in its pages for hours, and a great one to share with older kids who are starting to learn about the history of our world. This is a book our family will treasure for a lifetime.

 

DKCanadaVegetablesPlease

We have been on a bit of a “healthy eating” kick for the last few weeks.  It’s time to get rid of that extra winter weight we put on and start eating better.  For us, eating better includes eating LOTS of veggies.  With plans for a veggie garden this summer, looks like we will be eating them daily.  The problem with eating lots of veggies is, coming up with all kinds of different ways to prepare them.  You can only eat so many raw veggies and salads!

So when I spotted DK Canada’s book “Vegetables Please” I knew that this was a book for us.  This book is bursting with all kinds of great vegetable recipes that you can make, not only on their own, but mixed with various pastas, rices, casseroles and more.  One recipe that has already caught my eye is the Mushrooms In Garlic Sauce.  I love sauteed mushrooms and this recipe takes them just a step further by adding a few extra ingredients like a chicken bouillion cube.  I never would have thought to do that! Vegetables Please also includes an “Optional Meat” suggestion for all recipes, for times when you want a little more substance with your veggie dish. Great idea! This book also includes a back section full of cooking techniques.  I’m always a fan of cook books that include some “how to” sections with photos….so that I know I’m using the right technique to make the dish.

food-and-drink-button-185x185

Here’s a chance for you, Canadian Blog House readers, to WIN a set of these books for yourself!  Our wonderful friends at DK Canada Books are giving away this great 3 book prize pack to one lucky winner! Here’s how you can enter to WIN:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

54224y783wpiiyxb89ic

Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House was provided with the above books in exchange for this review.  All opinions are our own.

  1. May 28, 2014

    Jenny

    I loved travelling to chicago!

  2. May 27, 2014

    Lucy

    my favourite place was Banff, Alberta

  3. May 23, 2014

    Angela Mitchell

    One of the most interesting trips I ever took was to the Yukon Territory to a little town called Faro where I was born. I hadn’t been there since I was a child so it was surprisingly emotional.

  4. May 23, 2014

    Darwin

    Best adventure I’ve been on was New Zealand. Everything from their rainforest to their ecosystem was so incredible.

  5. May 21, 2014

    Veronica Doncaster

    My favourite location to visit is Italy! Beautiful scenery, culture, history and food. I can’t wait to go again someday

    • May 23, 2014

      Sandy

      Italy is a country I’d love to visit, Veronica! I’ve heard so many great things about it. Hope you get a chance to go back! Thanks for entering!

  6. May 21, 2014

    Wayne S

    When we were in Costa Rica we went to a bull riding festival in a small non-tourist town. It was a huge event for the locals, and we were probably the only English speaking people there. It was an incredible experience!

    • May 23, 2014

      Sandy

      Very cool, Wayne! Now that’s the way to really see a place – spending time at a local festival amongst the locals 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  7. May 20, 2014

    Lee-Ann S

    I love the Tobermory area of Ontario!

    • May 23, 2014

      Sandy

      One of my fave places, Lee-Ann. I’ve spent a lot of time there. Such a pretty little down and such a gorgeous area. Thanks for entering!

  8. May 19, 2014

    Megan Willis

    New York City! I loved it!

    • May 23, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh I’ve been there a couple of times, Megan, and just loved it. Didn’t stay long enough though. Have to go back! Thanks for entering!

  9. May 18, 2014

    darci

    A tiny town called Wells, BC right before you hit Barkerville!

    • May 23, 2014

      Sandy

      Never heard of either of those, Darci…but I’ll take your word for it! Those definitely sound like “off the tourist trail” types of places 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  10. May 18, 2014

    judy green

    Pretty hard to forget my visit to the Serengeti many years ago. Time for a return visit.

    • May 23, 2014

      Sandy

      Whoa! Now THAT sounds awesome, Judy! Yes…go again if you can! Thanks for entering!

  11. May 18, 2014

    don phillips

    Can’t recall every being ‘off the beaten path’ but spotting the icebergs of Nfld was pretty exciting for me.

    • May 18, 2014

      Sandy

      I would find that pretty exciting too, Don!! Would love to see icebergs off the coast of NFLD 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  12. May 18, 2014

    Rachel Cartwright

    Jersey, Channel Islands

    • May 18, 2014

      Sandy

      My aunt has been there, Rachel, and loved it. A place I would love to see one day 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  13. May 18, 2014

    diana

    Vancouver Island

    • May 18, 2014

      Sandy

      Definitely a place I need to explore more of, Diana! So beautiful there 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  14. May 18, 2014

    Silvia D

    my favourite place was Switzerland! So beautiful!

    • May 18, 2014

      Sandy

      Would absolutely love to visit Switzerland, Silvia!! It looks so gorgeous in the pics I’ve seen. Lucky you! Thanks for entering 🙂

  15. May 17, 2014

    Frank C

    Indonesia is a great place to explore.

    • May 18, 2014

      Sandy

      I’ve heard that Frank. Were you there for a long visit? Thanks for entering!

  16. May 17, 2014

    Brandee H

    I spent a few weeks on a little island in Malaysia learning how to scuba dive. It was awesome!

    • May 18, 2014

      Sandy

      Wow Brandee! What an experience!! And what a place to learn how to scuba dive! Thanks for entering 🙂

  17. May 16, 2014

    Cyrille

    Spent a month in Egypt and discovered little seaside towns travel agents don’t advertise about. You meet genuine people and eat really good foods!

    • May 18, 2014

      Sandy

      That sounds like an amazing trip, Cyrille. That is one place many of us would never get to but I’d love to see the Nile, the pyramids…and all those little towns (etc). Thanks for entering!

  18. May 16, 2014

    Rose M

    I would have to say Myanmar….amazing geography, culture, food, and people.

    • May 18, 2014

      Sandy

      Wow that sounds amazing, Rose! I would never have thought to travel there. Thanks for entering!

    • May 18, 2014

      Sandy

      I bet it is, Gary! Would love to visit Taiwan! Lucky you 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  19. May 16, 2014

    Jody D

    We went to Turks and Caicos last year. So beautiful, but pricey and wouldn’t want to be there too long. Still, would love to go back!

    • May 17, 2014

      Sandy

      Interesting Jody! I didn’t realize it was pricey there. I bet it was gorgeous though 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  20. May 16, 2014

    Chris MacDonald

    Costa Rica – cool ecosystem…nature at its best!

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      I would definitely love to go to Costa Rica one day, Chris! I’ve heard so many great things about it as a travel destination. Thanks for entering!

  21. May 16, 2014

    Bryan

    Drumheller, Alberta! Dinosaurs!

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh I bet that was so cool, Bryan! I love the sound of that area of Alberta 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  22. May 16, 2014

    Casey Miller

    I enjoyed Waikiki, it was a great place for our beach wedding

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh Casey! Waikiki for your wedding sounds amazing! Thanks for entering!

  23. May 16, 2014

    Jeffrey Rossnagel

    Me and my wife spent a month visiting friends in Spain.

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      My BF spent a few weeks in Spain a few years ago, Jeffrey, and he raves about it. I think I need to go there 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  24. May 16, 2014

    margaux retrophiliac

    I really love Vancouver Island

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      I’m with you, Margaux. I only got to spend one day there, but I loved Vancouver Island 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  25. May 16, 2014

    Debbie S.

    The most amazing place I’ve been is Tofino, absolutely stunning!

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      I’ve heard it is gorgeous there, Debbie! Hope to visit one day. I was on the island once before but never made it there. Thanks for entering!

  26. May 16, 2014

    Jennifer L.

    One of my favourite places is the western coast of Vancouver Island.

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      This area is popular with lots of people it seems, Jennifer. I really do have to go there! Thanks for entering!

  27. May 16, 2014

    kathy downey

    I love Weyburn,Sask where my kids live

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      Awww 🙂 Wherever the kids live always has to be the best place to visit! Thanks for entering, Kathy!

  28. May 15, 2014

    Kevin

    Exploring the Yukon from Whitehorse to Dawson City

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      One of my best friends used to live in the Yukon, Kevin. She just moved from there and I regret never taking a trip up there to visit her. Thanks for entering!

  29. May 15, 2014

    Lily

    Never been anywhere exciting, but I have been to Lake Louise a few times. It’s absolutely beautiful there!

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      Now to me, Lily, being able to visit Lake Louise would be VERY exciting! I think many of us feel this way…if it’s in “our own backyard” we don’t consider it exciting. I’d love to go there one day! Thanks for entering!

  30. May 15, 2014

    Chris A

    The Best Travel place I visited was Venezuela and walking around Margarita Island stopping by local restaurants and visiting local craftsmen

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      That sounds great, Chris – and not normally a place I would consider going. May have to look into that 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  31. May 15, 2014

    Darrah Bailey

    WHen I went to Vancouver and the Island <3 I LOVE that place and cant wait to take my kids there!

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      That sounds great, Darrah! Vancouver Island sure has a lot of fans 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  32. May 15, 2014

    Andrea Amy

    I’ve never been anywhere outside of Canada, so my answer has to be nowhere. I’ve been to Victoria, but it definitely wasn’t exciting LOL. I’ve only ever been to a handful of places, Victoria, Vancouver, a couple other places in BC, a few places in Ontario, and then Alberta. I’ve only been up to Edmonton twice in my life, mostly I’ve just remained around the Calgary area since I was born 40 years ago lol 🙂

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      Lol Andrea Amy! Like I said to someone else in this thread…the places you mention sound very exciting and fun to visit to me 🙂 It all depends where you live, I guess. I’d love to get out to Calgary! Thanks for entering!

  33. May 15, 2014

    Elizabeth Vlug

    My favourite travel destination (so far) is Newfoundland. The most beautiful scenery, lots of nooks and crannies to explore, the most friendly people and a treasure trove of artists. We have only been once but would love to go back.

    • May 16, 2014

      Sandy

      I would love, love, love to visit Newfoundland…especially after reading your comment, Elizabeth! I love works by local artists and that landscape…wow! Thanks for entering!

  34. May 15, 2014

    Joy

    I haven’t done much travelling at all! My favourite place to visit is the Maritimes – PEI and NS mainly – there are so many pretty places there! I love the beaches, and the lighthouses, and there are so many great campgrounds!

    • May 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Well you may not have been many places, Joy, but you’ve been to some of the best! I adore the Maritimes..for all the reasons you mention, and more! I could easily live there! Thanks for entering!!

  35. May 15, 2014

    Carla

    i still have to experience it

    • May 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Travel in general, Carla, or traveling off the tourist trail? There is nothing better than traveling and getting to experience another city, another region, and the great places on this earth. I wish I could do more of it! Thanks for entering!

  36. May 15, 2014

    Heidi C.

    I spent several months in Ghana. That was definitely a trip to remember.

    • May 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh Heidi! What an amazing experience that must have been for you! Wow! I bet it was beautiful. Thanks for entering!

  37. May 15, 2014

    Jennifer P.

    I love to travel and have been quite a few exciting places but I guess I would say the most exciting were 1) the backpacking trip we took to Italy with our first daughter when she was 7 months old and the backpacking trip we took to Germany/Netherlands when our second was 6 months old. Super fun!!

    • May 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Wow Jennifer! I commend you! I don’t think I would be brave enough to backpack there with such little ones! Lol…I don’t think I could even do that here! Bet they were fantastic trips though 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  38. May 15, 2014

    Victoria Ess

    My partner and I backpacked in Spain and visited a lot of small towns. They were much more “alive” than the main cities, in my opinion.

    • May 15, 2014

      Sandy

      I bet, Victoria! Sounds like a wonderful trip! Yes, I think many of us “miss out” by sticking to all the regular touristy things when we venture out on trips. There are so many more great things to explore than just the usual stuff. Thanks for entering!

  39. May 14, 2014

    angela m

    I traveled to Ireland last summer and it was beautiful.

    • May 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Lucky you, Angela! I would LOVE to visit Ireland! My sister is there right now, in fact. Thanks for entering!

  40. May 14, 2014

    Maegan Morin

    I think the best Canadian place that I have been in is Tumbler Ridge BC. They have some of the most amazing hiking trails. Especially Boulder Gardens, which is as awesome as it sounds. 😉

    • May 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh that sounds like a place I would like to explore, Maegan! I’ll have to keep that in mind if I make it out west again 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  41. May 14, 2014

    Isabel Topps

    Visited Europe, off the “tourist trail” would be Waibstadt in Bavaria, tracing ancestors 🙂

    • May 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Now that would be fun, Isabel! I bet you learned all kinds of interesting information! Great idea for part of your trip 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  42. May 14, 2014

    Amy C

    I don’t travel very much but I would have to say my most exciting travel destination was Toronto.

    • May 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Well Toronto is a pretty amazing city – especially for a tourist. So much to see and do. I love visiting Toronto. Thanks for entering, Amy C!

  43. May 14, 2014

    Kay Burke

    Nova Scotia

    • May 15, 2014

      Sandy

      One of my fave places, Kay! Especially Cape Breton 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  44. May 14, 2014

    elaine d

    I’ve been to the Mayan Riviera

    • May 15, 2014

      Sandy

      I’ve heard it is so great there, Elaine! Definitely a place on my bucket list. Bet that was a nice vacation! Thanks for entering 🙂

  45. May 14, 2014

    cruiser

    Lots to choose from, but Australia is the top of my list with the Great Barrier Reef and endless adventures. Loved the surf!!

    • May 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Australia is my number one place to visit on my bucket list, Cruiser. I just love the sound of all the great places there, the land, the ocean. I’ve heard the people are great too 🙂 Thanks for entering!

    • May 14, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh Maria! Lucky you! That’s one of the places on my bucket list. It looks so gorgeous there 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  46. May 14, 2014

    Julie G

    Definitely Thailand wins the award for me. It is amazingly beautiful with friendly people & fantastic food.

    • May 14, 2014

      Sandy

      I’ve heard that a few times, Julie! I know some people who went there on their honeymoon..and the pictures they took made it look so amazing there. Lucky you! Thanks for entering 🙂

  47. May 14, 2014

    Lynda Cook

    Well I feel a little boring the furthest I’ve ever been in my whole life is just gone up north cottage country, but the sites and scenery there are so beautiful

    • May 14, 2014

      Sandy

      There’s nothing boring about cottage country, Lynda – it has some of the best scenery in the world 🙂 Family of mine from the US are always amazed at our cottage country here. Cottage culture just isn’t the same in the US. I adore going to a cottage in the summer. Thanks for entering!!

  48. May 14, 2014

    Dreena

    I’d say the Amazon, Brazil. Different and amazing.
    Cheers.

    • May 14, 2014

      Sandy

      What an awesome trip that must have been, Dreena! Wowee! Thanks for entering!

  49. May 14, 2014

    sabina edwards

    I won a trip to LA and we did the subways and bus system to get from the hollywood area to see the Aquarium on the Pacific…then when we won the trip to PR, we hopped on a bus and explored and even did the ferry to see the Bacardi tour

    • May 14, 2014

      Sandy

      I like your style, Sabina! You’ve definitely gone off the beaten path with those trips. Sometimes that gives you the best types of experiences 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  50. May 14, 2014

    mongupp (@mongupp)

    Prince Edward Island….the red sand and dirt is amazing!

    • May 14, 2014

      Sandy

      One of my absolute favourite places on earth, mongupp! I adore PEI 🙂 Thanks for entering!

Leave a comment

CONTACT CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

canadianbloghouse@gmail.com

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 597 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.

PARTNERS

Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

NOMINATED FOR BEST LIFESTYLE/TRAVEL/PRODUCT REVIEW BLOG!!

WINNER OF A CANADIAN BLOG AWARD!

 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png

FRIENDS OF CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

online coupons Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button


Copy the code below:


Archives

Categories