Canadian Blog House

 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

DK Readers Help Kids Get Reading Ready For Back To School! #Review #Giveaway

Posted by

I had some pretty terrific books in my collection as a kid.  One of my favourites was a large book of Mother Goose nursery rhymes that I sat down to read over and over…and over. I read that book so much as a young child, I’m surprised it did not become tattered and torn.  I’m happy to say that it didn’t, and to this day, I still have that book in my collection.

What made this book so appealing to me? Besides the obvious (what kid doesn’t love Mother Goose nursery rhymes?), I believe it was the fact that this book was full of easy-to-read, short paragraphs of poems, and full of illustrations, both coloured and black and white.  It was eye-catching and filled with fun stories about things that interested kids.

Kids today have so many great options when it comes to books that are filled with all the attributes I have mentioned.  Our friends at DK Canada have a great collection of DK Readers that help make reading fun for all kids, from those learning to read, right up to those who have mastered reading skills.  DK Canada Readers are conveniently organized by reading level, making the choice for parents that much easier.  I love this DK Readers chart:


Eight-year-old X-Man is doing very well with his reading and, looking at the DK Readers chart, I would say he is a solid Level 3 – in French.  As French is the language he is studying in, his English reading skills are further behind many children his age.  This is normal for a child attending school in a second language.  We have been amazed at how X-Man is now learning to read in English on his own.  He is learning to use the reading skills he has mastered in French, to help him learn to read in English.

So to help X-Man continue to become more proficient at reading English, we received these 2 DK Readers from the Level 1 Series (Beginning to read):




While both of these readers touch on two completely different topics that X-Man enjoys, both are 32 page books full of a great balance of pictures/illustrations, and easy-to-read text.  These DK Readers are light-weight, easy to hold books for little hands.  They are the kind of books that are super for a child to curl up on the couch with, or take to bed for a little reading session before lights out.  These books take me back to Mother Goose because the books are illustrated in a fun way to capture a child’s attention, and the story is a simple one with just the right amount of text on each page.

Looking ahead to a Level 3 DK Reader, because I have no doubt that X-Man will be reading English at that level in no time, we also received this book:


I admit, we got this book for X-Man as he is fascinated with sharks.  What boy isn’t fascinated with sharks after all the television hype about sharks with shows like “Sharknado” and “Shark Week”.

It’s interesting to note the difference between a Level 3 DK Reader like this one, and a Level 1 DK Reader.  Shark Reef has a more advanced vocabulary, more text per page, a more sophisticated story, and the illustrations are more “grown up”. Shark Reef also contains more pages – 48.

After taking a quick browse through the books before giving them to X-Man, in my opinion, any parent can feel confident that DK Readers are a great choice for books for kids learning to read, or looking to master their reading skills.

Great news! For a limited time, DK Canada is offering DK Readers on promotion – Buy 2 And Get One FREE!  So be sure to take a look at the great selection of DK Readers they have available for all the little readers in your life!


Our friends at DK Canada Books want your little ones to enjoy the same DK Readers we have, so one lucky Canadian Blog House reader could win all three of these DK Readers we have reviewed!

Here’s how you can enter to WIN!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House received these DK Readers in exchange for a review.  All opinions are our own.



  1. August 26, 2014


    I loved the “Little House” series, I read them and re-read them over and over (and still own them!). I think a lot of the appeal for me was in my head they were the perfect family, they all loved each other so much, threw it all.

  2. August 26, 2014

    Angela Mitchell

    I loved The Secret World of Og by Pierre Berton. It really captured my attention — it is so unique and creative!

  3. August 24, 2014

    Jennifer L.

    I had this book about Holly Hobby that I loved.

  4. August 22, 2014

    Megan Willis

    I loved love you forever, cause my mom always read it with me and now I do with my babies 🙂

  5. August 22, 2014

    Kim D

    We had a set of animal encyclopedias that you couldn’t drag me away from. I couldn’t read most of it but I LOVED the pictures!

  6. August 22, 2014

    Demetri A

    Red Hood was my favorite, my grandmother loved it so much.

  7. August 21, 2014

    angela m

    I love Green eggs and ham because it was silly and rhymed

  8. August 20, 2014

    David W

    My favorite book series as a kid was The Magic School Bus.

  9. August 20, 2014

    Karina H.

    I absolutely loved the Junie B. Jones series

  10. August 19, 2014


    I loved the books Martine, such a nice serie 🙂

  11. August 19, 2014

    sunshine h

    Anne of Green Gables, but lots of others mentioned here were faves too. I liked how Anne overcame adversity and didn’t let her situation get her down.

  12. August 19, 2014

    aarone m

    My favorite book was Are You There God It’s Me Margaret!

  13. August 17, 2014

    Laurie B

    I loved the Mr. Mugs readers growing up in school when I was younger.

  14. August 17, 2014


    I loved the Narnia series – I could get lost in them for hours.

  15. August 17, 2014


    I loved to read Cinderella because it’s such a happy story

  16. August 17, 2014

    Jennifer Beckett

    I loved “Tikki Tikki Tembo” by Arlene Mosel when I was little – I’ve always enjoyed learning about other cultures and languages – I guess I started young!

  17. August 17, 2014

    Sarah at Journeys of The Zoo

    I can’t remember what I read last night let alone as a child. However, my kids love funny stories involving animals. They’re just catching on to stories with morals in them.

    Thanks for a great review and giveaway. Kids can’t have enough educational books!

    Besos, Sarah
    Blogger at Journeys of The Zoo

  18. August 17, 2014

    melissa finn

    I loved the Nancy Drew series! Loved to solve a mystery

  19. August 17, 2014


    leo the late bloomer because i liked the little lion in it

  20. August 16, 2014


    Babysitter’s Club books as I loved babysitting and I liked their stories!

  21. August 16, 2014

    Lee-Ann S

    Little House on the Prairie was my favourite because it was about a little girl my age.

  22. August 16, 2014

    Rachel Cartwright

    My favourite book as a child was Anne of Green Gables – I just thought it was so well-written and beautiful.

  23. August 16, 2014

    Neils Thor

    Winnie the Pooh loved it so much!!

  24. August 16, 2014

    Silvia D

    it is a book called I wish that I had Duck Feet. I think I was just fascinated about the whole story line..I even bought the book for my kids .

  25. August 16, 2014


    The Pokey Little Puppy was a favourite

  26. August 16, 2014

    Lynda Cook

    Mine was horses I can’t remember the name of the books, but one horse was named Big Red and the other little Black, but if there was horses I was all over it, and then my next one was and still is Alice in Wonderland!

  27. August 16, 2014


    i loved the franklin the turtle!

  28. August 15, 2014

    Suzie M

    love a book of Nursery Rhymes

  29. August 15, 2014

    Jennifer P.

    My favourite book as a child was The Little Red Caboose, and I still have it. It is a large vintage book and I love(d) it because of the great illustrations and of course the classic story. I read it to my little ones now, since my mom saved it.

  30. August 15, 2014

    Lynn M

    I use to love Button Soup when I was a child.

  31. August 15, 2014

    Maegan Morin

    My favorite book as a child was called Little Fingerling. It was a beautiful story with big vibrant pictures and I just adored it.

  32. August 15, 2014

    Doris H.

    Way back when I was very young, I had this book called “The Tortoise and the Hare”…it was my favourite. .

  33. August 15, 2014


    Winnie the Pooh, my mom would read it to me at bed time.

  34. August 15, 2014

    Julie G

    I loved the whole Anne of Green Gables series, since I loved the adventures she got into.

  35. August 15, 2014

    Maria Medeiros

    My favourite book when I was little was little red ridding hood in Greek.

  36. August 15, 2014


    My favourite book as a child was anything with airplanes in them because I use to have this dream that I would a pilot.

  37. August 15, 2014


    I loved The Babysitters Club series because I was an avid reader and could relate to the girls in the books

  38. August 15, 2014

    Amy C

    I didn’t have a favourite book.

  39. August 15, 2014


    We read a lot of Nature’s Children educational books – we have the set and not many more than that. None that I can remember. I still have that entire set on my hutch for my kids. Seems they don’t get taken out as much as they used to, with computers and all.

Leave a comment


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 561 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.


12687984_1123298754386813_5693078246501293445_n LampeBerger



 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png


Blogger Conference Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button

Copy the code below: