Canadian Blog House

 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

Everything You Need To Know About Snakes…DK Books #WIN #Review #Giveaway #EarthDay

Posted by

PicMonkey Collage

Ever seen a snake when you first wake up in the morning?  Of course I’m talking about the scaly, green slit-eyed, forked-tongued variety!  Well I have…bright and early last Thursday morning.  No, we don’t own a Green Tree Python.  We own the new Smithsonian “Everything You Need To Know About Snakes And Other Scaly Reptiles” book from DK Books.

I had just crawled out of bed when X-man cornered me.  “Can we read about snakes again?”  Arrrrgh…at 6:30am? Really?  Well, I’m a sucker for his cute little eyes, plus with the way he asked me – I caved.  So we curled up on the couch and started reading our new DK book about snakes.  As I turned to the first page, I forgot about the scary beast that was coiled up on the book just waiting for me to look at him.  There I was, half asleep.  My poor brain was trying to determine if the snake with the huge fangs was real or just a figment of my imagination.  My brain did not compute fast enough and I jumped and shrieked – much to the delight of X-man. You see, the quality of the photos in our Smithsonian book about snakes is so good, the snakes and other reptiles look lifelike.

PicMonkey Collage1

Everything You Need To Know About Snakes is chalk full of amazing pictures, diagrams, closeups and all kinds of fun and interesting facts about snakes and other scaly reptiles.  I must admit, I learned a lot from this book myself.

Did you know?…

  • every year up to 125,000 people die from snakebites around the world (another reason I love Canada since we only have 2 types of venomous snakes here).

  • if you see a snake with milky blue eyes it is just a few days away from shedding it’s outer skin.

No matter how squeamish you may be about snakes and other scaly reptiles, you won’t be able to look away.  It’s a fascinating book for adults and kids alike.  Be sure to click on my photos for a more detailed look!

PicMonkey Collage

X-man’s favourite pages in our new book?  He loved the page called “Hide and Seek”.  It’s full of pictures of snakes camouflaged in their natural environment and it was X-man’s job to find the snakes – he found them all!  His other favourite page?  The Python vs. the Alligator “Struggle in the Swamp”.  X-man had fun trying to decide who would be the victor in a swamp fight.  His bet is on the Python.

PicMonkey Collage2

In celebration of Earth Day 2013, coming up on April 22nd, DK Books has a fantastic selection of interesting and informative books for sale that highlight our earth and the creatures who inhabit it.  You can check them out here DK BOOKS EARTH DAY.

Best of all?  DK Books has generously offered up a copy of Everything You Need To Know About Snakes and Other Scaly Reptiles (a $17.99 value – on sale for $12.59!) for one lucky Canadian Blog House member.

Do you dare enter?



***Disclosure: I received this book in exchange for a review.  All opinions expressed are my own.  No other compensation was received by Canadian Blog House.

  1. April 22, 2013


    CONGRATS to Brenda G. for winning this giveaway! Enjoy your book, Brenda!

    Thanks to all of you for entering!!

  2. April 20, 2013


    Not crazy about large snakes.

    • April 22, 2013


      So I guess you wouldn’t want a python for a pet, Cruiser? lol Thanks for entering!

  3. April 18, 2013

    Lisa Robertson

    eeeeeek!!! I like the bigger snakes more than the smaller one. But still not a huge fan like my kids are

    • April 18, 2013


      LOL…love the eeeeek! Me too, Lisa, I like the big ones better 🙂 Thanks for entering!

    • April 18, 2013


      Very wise, tankgrrl! Thanks for entering!

  4. April 15, 2013


    Reptiles don’t scare me! Now, spiders on the other hand…

    • April 17, 2013


      Lol…I hear you, Brianne! Thanks for entering 🙂

  5. April 14, 2013

    Brenda A

    Scare me? A reptile? Huh? I really enjoy all reptiles and other creatures!

    • April 14, 2013


      Oh awesome, Brenda! You’re my kind of lady! Thanks for entering!

  6. April 13, 2013


    I like all of them, they fascinate me. But something about snakes keeps me on my toes. Still like them though.

    • April 13, 2013


      Very good to have a healthy respect for the snakes, jnunavut 🙂 Smart! Thanks for entering 🙂

  7. April 11, 2013


    I would have to say snakes. Mostly because I am not sure which ones are poisonous. To me, they all are.

    • April 13, 2013


      Well, better safe than sorry, Catharine 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  8. April 11, 2013


    snakes for sure scare me, but not as much as spiders

    • April 13, 2013


      I would have to agree with you, hollymessana…I think I dislike spiders more than snakes. Thanks for entering!

  9. April 10, 2013

    Sarah De Diego (Journeys of The Zoo)

    I’m not big on snakes. We have a few around our place so I’m always watching for them and trying not to act too scared around my kids. They love them…

    Besos, Sarah
    Blogger at Journeys of The Zoo

    • April 10, 2013


      Oooh…I’d be watching out too, Sarah! Yep, we have to act all brave around the kids, lol. That’s great that they like them – you obviously haven’t passed on your dislike – good job Mama!

  10. April 9, 2013

    sarah p

    I’m afraid of snake for sure….They feel so strange when they move around on you…maybe its just something you have to get used to. 🙂 I love watching them though lol

    • April 9, 2013


      Yes, I think they are something you need to get used to, Sarah. When I first petted a python I was surprised at how “neat” it felt and I immediately lost the fear I had. Thanks for entering!

  11. April 9, 2013


    I don’t like snakes…..I have two boys and of course they seek them out on nature walks. My boys would love these books. Thanks for the contest.

    • April 9, 2013


      LOL…of course they do, eh? Boys will be boys 🙂 You’re welcome, Sandra. Thanks for entering!

  12. April 9, 2013


    im quite a fan of reptiles – my sons last party was at ‘the reptil guy’ 🙂 I guess Im scared of the rattlesnake … since its in such close proximiry ..

    • April 9, 2013


      Glad to hear you are a fan of reptiles! I would love to be part of one of those parties. Thanks for entering!

  13. April 9, 2013


    I am not scared of reptiles in general. If they leave me alone I will reciprocate. I would be afraid of any reptile acting aggressively toward me.

    • April 9, 2013


      That’s a great attitude, kitblu…if you leave them alone, they’ll leave you alone. I just don’t like when I come upon them by surprise…and I surprise them too. Not good, lol. Thanks for entering!

  14. April 9, 2013

    Wanda Bergman

    Reptiles don’t scare me.

    • April 9, 2013


      Good for you, Wanda! Would you ever want to own a reptile? Or maybe you do? Thanks for entering!

  15. April 8, 2013


    My son would love this. He loves learning about the world around him.

    • April 8, 2013


      I forgot to mention that any snake scares me. I don’t mind looking at them behind glass as they are interesting looking, but I would not like to see one free.

      • April 8, 2013


        Thanks for entering, Jill! I used to think that also (watching them from behind glass) but I’ve actually “petted” some large pythons and they really aren’t too bad. It’s being surprised by water snakes at the lake that I don’t like, lol.

  16. April 8, 2013


    Yep, I am frightened of snakes…slithering around, etc.
    Thanks for the giveaway! My son would like this book.

    • April 8, 2013


      You’re welcome, Dreena! Glad to hear your son likes snakes…he would definitely like this book, then. Thanks for entering!

  17. April 7, 2013


    Snakes definitely scare me the most. I don’t know what is poisonous or not.

    • April 7, 2013


      I tend to agree, boldcaddy! I like to look at them..from a distance and wouldn’t trust myself to know what is venomous and what isn’t. Thanks for entering!

  18. April 6, 2013


    My son would love this book. I do not mind reptiles if they are behind glass…lol!

    • April 6, 2013


      Good one, Destiny! Yep…behind glass is the perfect place for them to be, eh? Glad to see that your son is a fellow reptilian lover 🙂

  19. April 6, 2013

    Chantal J

    Only the poisionous ones. 😉

    • April 6, 2013


      LOL! VERY wise choice, Chantal! Thanks for entering!

  20. April 6, 2013


    I don’t like lizards

    • April 6, 2013


      Hi Julie! Not a lizard fan, eh? Me, I love them. I am a huge fan of Chameleons. Weird, I know 🙂 Thanks for entering!

Leave a comment


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.


12687984_1123298754386813_5693078246501293445_n LampeBerger



 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png


Blogger Conference Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button

Copy the code below: