Canadian Blog House


 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello ~ Montebello, Quebec

Posted by
/ / 115 Comments

 

FairmontChateauMontebello

Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello has been on my travel bucket list for many years now.  This beautiful resort has been the subject of numerous conversations I have had with friends and family who have been lucky enough to visit this famous Fairmont resort.  Nestled in the small town of Montebello, Quebec, Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello is a little piece of country paradise, less than an hour’s drive from downtown Ottawa, on the Ottawa River.

The massive cedar Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello was constructed in 1930 by a team led by Swiss-American, Hubert Saddlemire, and was completed in just four months.  If you’ve ever been to this resort, you will understand that this was an incredible feat for such a huge construction project in 1930.  In fact, construction of the Seigniory Club,  as it was known back then, “captured the popular imagination of the time, inspiring newspaper features across North America, and attracting crowds of onlookers.”

FairmontLeChateauMontebello

Great Canadian history is all around you as you walk the halls of Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello.  Walls are covered in fascinating photos of everything from the construction of the resort, to sporting events that have been held there, to all the famous leaders of the world who have stayed at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello during meetings like the G7 Summit (the first G7 Summit held in Canada).

RonaldReganSuiteChateauMontebello

Speaking of this G7 Summit, upon our arrival at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, we were excited to learn that our room for the next two days was the exact same room United States President Ronald Reagan stayed in during the summit. Now known as Suite Ronald Reagan, it was neat to think about the fact that Ronnie and Nancy had once stayed in this very same room as us! If it was good enough for the President, it was good enough for us! I wonder what they thought of the room when they stayed there. Wouldn’t it be fun to read their review?

Before we checked in to our suite, I had the pleasure of being greeted by Monte, the Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello dog, at the front office.  That’s right, select Fairmont Hotels (including in Montebello) are home to resident dogs known as Canine Ambassadors.  Being the huge dog lover that I am, I love this added touch. You can’t help but smile when you watch Monte (looking handsome in his bandana!)  greeting all the happy guests. Monte is an extremely friendly, calm and gentle dog, who will hang around with anyone willing to give him some hugs. Already missing my own two furry companions, Monte was a welcome sight for me.  Monte is more than willing to go for a walk with you should you wish to have a companion while walking around the grounds of Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello.

MonteFairmontMontebello

We arrived on an unseasonably cool July afternoon, so upon entering our cozy, rustic suite, we had no desire to do anything right away except enjoy our surroundings.  We were greeted with the sight of these delicious Canadian maple treats as soon as we walked through the door:

WelcomeTreatsFairmontMontebello

How long do you think that board of treats lasted before being eaten? That’s right! About 5 minutes.  Who can resist maple goodies?  I just loved the maple leaf made out of chocolate powder!  This was a lovely added touch to our arrival at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello.  I also loved the personalized note…and the “Canadiana” lamp on the desk!

WelcomeNoteFairmontMontebello

Fairmont Resorts have kept the “look” of Le Chateau Montebello authentic right from the outside, in. Our suite was everything you’d expect a beautiful room in a Canadian log house to look like.  All the outer walls of our room were made from cedar logs,  We loved this as it complimented the rustic feel of the whole resort. While the look was rustic, the amenities were the same as you would expect in any modern hotel room: king bed, large flat screen tv, access to WiFi, Keurig Coffee Maker, mini fridge, hair dryer, iron and even some cozy hotel bath robes.

SuiteFairmontMontebello

Since the weather wasn’t great during our first evening, we decided to spend it indoors and enjoy the resort itself.  We ordered room service, then decided to take a stroll around. One of my favourite things about the inside lobby is the spectacular stone fireplace that runs from floor to ceiling in the centre of the lobby.  It is truly magnificent. Staff at the hotel confirmed for me that they burn wood fires in this great fireplace during the colder months.  Judging by the size and the beauty of this fireplace, it must be pretty spectacular (and cozy) to sit in front of it while a fire is burning.  We also loved the abundance of seating areas around the vast lobby and in all the little nooks and crannies throughout the building.  You will never lack for a place to sit here!  From cozy tables for two, to larger tables for groups of friends, all the tables and chairs are unique.  For instance, we found a table for two that had an actual chess board for a table top, so if you had the urge, you could literally start playing a game of chess at your table.  For those who love comfort, there were plenty of comfy couches around to sink into.  We grabbed a drink from the bar and settled in for a half hour of rest and relaxation.  It was wonderful!

FairmontMontebelloQuebecAfter a great night’s sleep (the bed was super comfy!), we spent the morning wandering around the main street, Notre Dame, in Montebello, checking out a few local shops, and then stopping for some mango ice cream and amazing chocolate at Chocomotive.  Arriving back at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, the sun started to come out so we decided it was a great time to go for a hike on the beautiful trails around the resort.  The pathways take you up into a hardwood forest, across gentle streams, through large patches of beautiful ferns, and down along the tranquil Ottawa River waterfront.

HikingChateauMontebelloQuebec

Speaking of the Ottawa River waterfront, the views of the river from the lawns of the Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello are lovely.  Located in the foothills of the Laurentian Mountains, this landscape of rolling hills, lush forests and gently moving water, is a nature lovers paradise.  Park benches found along the shoreline provide a peaceful place for visitors to sit and enjoy the views.  Even the view from behind, of the Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, is a beautiful sight.

OttawaRiverFairmontLeChateauMontebello

That afternoon, when the sun came out, so did my bathing suit.  Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello has a large, gorgeous outdoor pool that is nestled between the resort and the river. The pool is surrounded by an abundance of lounge chairs, on both the lawn and the deck,  that also come with an attached umbrella for those wishing to have more shade than sun.  There is plenty of room for many sunbathers and swimmers.  A hut in the pool area provides guests with towels for poolside use. The pool appeared to be heated while we were there judging by the warm temperature of the water even after the cool weather the day before.  A lifeguard was also present while I was at the pool.

OutdoorPoolFairmontMontebello

Before visiting Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, I had many people tell me that we should NOT miss trying out their famous BBQ dinner and Buffet Breakfast.  We weren’t able to do the Buffet Breakfast, but we were sure happy we made it to the BBQ dinner.  Served outside on the patio, facing the Ottawa River, the BBQ dinner is a feast for hungry visitors. Best advice, bring a good appetite! While the menu can vary depending on when you visit, we are certain that, no matter what they serve on a given night, you will leave feeling very satisfied. First up was the salad bar. Full of all kinds of lettuce options, fresh veggies and delicious toppings and dressings, we could have easily filled up on all this goodness and walked away happy.  Of course, that did not happen.  You know we just had to try a bit of everything at the buffet!

During our visit, we had the option of enjoying a number of delicious meats including steak, lamb chops and BBQ’d pork. There were jumbo cocktail shrimps, various pastas, deviled eggs, blue potatoes (love the colour!), vegetables, and a variety of scrumptious breads. Then there was the Crispy Pork Belly.

Crispy. Mouth-watering. Sinful. Divine.

Definitely not diet-friendly, but an absolute must-try BBQ menu item.  Go ahead…cheat a little on that diet.  They are worth it!

As for the desserts, let’s just say our healthy eating lifestyle went further down the drain once we hit the dessert table.  It was a dessert lover’s dream.  Ever had Sugar Pie? It’s one of my favourite Quebec specialties, and this version was delicious.  The chocolate mousse literally melted in my mouth, and the caramel, whipped cream, chocolate pudding dessert (I’m certain there is a fancier name for it!) slipped down nicely into the only remaining cracks in my stomach.

That’s it! We were stuffed! Not even room for a coffee.

BBQDinnerFairmontMontebello

We spent our time at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello enjoying simple and relaxing things like a hike in the woods, sunbathing by the pool and enjoying time at the waterfront.  While we weren’t there to participate in all kinds of activities, this resort has over 40 different activities for couples and families to enjoy. There’s something for everyone, from horseback riding and golf, to Canada’s only Off-Road Land Rover Driving Experience, tennis, fishing, and ATV rentals.

If you go, be sure to spend some time checking out all the different areas of the vast property around the resort. We stumbled upon a number of horses, roosters, a bunny and even a small pig.  We also discovered a whole other set of buildings that house the huge indoor pool, the spa, and indoor tennis courts.

IndoorPoolChateauMontebello

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort.  Our biggest piece of advice would be to keep in mind that the Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello is marketed as a luxury resort.  In our opinion, this relates not only to the beautiful grounds, accommodations and amenities, but also to the price of meals.  For example, our BBQ dinner alone cost us $56 each, plus the cost of our alcohol.  While there are some great free activities to do, such as croquet, horseshoes, nature walk, volleyball, basketball and the pools and hot tubs, many of the fun activities at the resort have a fee attached to them.  Just keep this in mind and plan your budget accordingly.

FairmontLeChateauMontebelloQuebec

Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello is a beautiful, rustic resort and a great place to “get away from it all”.  If you are a couple looking for a weekend retreat, or a family who loves the countryside but wants to be close enough to Ottawa-Gatineau to enjoy some of Canada’s top tourist attractions, a stay at this resort may just be what you are looking for.

Although we had a great time at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, the best part of our trip was coming home to a dog who missed me so much all she wanted to do was cuddle up on the couch and sleep.  We had a wonderful snooze.

ComingHomeChateauMontebello

The great folks at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello want one lucky Canadian Blog House reader to come enjoy some culinary delights of their own!  Come enter for a chance to WIN a Sunday Brunch For 2 at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello in their main dining room “Aux Chantignoles” (value $94 ).  This gift certificate is valid until JULY 1, 2015  – so you have plenty of time to plan a visit to the Chateau. Please be sure to read the official rules for this giveaway on the Rafflecopter form. Here’s how you can enter for a chance to WIN:

**GIVEAWAY CLOSED***

MontebelloGiveaway
54224y783wpiiyxb89ic      

Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House received a complimentary stay at this resort in exchange for this review.  All opinions are our own.  

 

  1. July 29, 2014

    Thomas S

    Wow, Looks amazing

  2. July 29, 2014

    Mike

    great!

  3. July 28, 2014

    Rebecca

    I have stayed and we love it!

    • July 29, 2014

      Sandy

      So glad to hear that, Rebecca! You obviously would like to go back 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  4. July 28, 2014

    P Jackson

    Just came back from Fairmont montebello and enjoyed our stay.Would love to win .

    • July 29, 2014

      Sandy

      That’s great to hear that you were just there, P Jackson! It’s great, isn’t it? Thanks for entering!

  5. July 28, 2014

    Karrie Cheung

    Looks lovely!

    • July 29, 2014

      Sandy

      It sure is, Karrie! Have you ever been to a Fairmont hotel?

  6. July 28, 2014

    Fran Burnside

    I was at the Chateau Montebello for an Anniversary Brunch and would love to return.

    • July 29, 2014

      Sandy

      What a great setting for an Anniversary brunch, Fran 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  7. July 28, 2014

    Renee

    I have never been to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello but it looks amazing!

    • July 28, 2014

      Sandy

      I hope you get the chance to visit one day, Renee…you said it – it’s amazing! Thanks for entering!

  8. July 28, 2014

    Brenda A

    I have attended a party there once, many moons ago. It was so beautiful and I felt spoiled! What a lovely place.

    • July 28, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh a party at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello would be such fun!! Sounds like you had a lovely time, Brenda! Thanks for entering!

  9. July 28, 2014

    Harry C

    I have never had the opportunity to stay at this or any other Fairmont Love to try one though.

    • July 28, 2014

      Sandy

      Time to try a Fairmont, Harry! If our stay is any indication of how lovely their properties are (and I’m sure it is), I’m sure any Fairmont would make for a great stay 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  10. July 28, 2014

    Rachel Cartwright

    I have never been to Chateau Montebello, nor any other Fairmont property. It looks wonderful!

    • July 28, 2014

      Sandy

      Like many others here, Rachel, I hope you get the chance to stay at a Fairmont one day 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  11. July 28, 2014

    Melissa McNamee

    The only time I’ve stayed at a Fairmont hotel was when I visited New Brunswick a few years ago. This would be a wonderful place to visit and have brunch.

    • July 28, 2014

      Sandy

      Oooh! What Fairmont was that, Melissa? Sounds like a great combo..I love NB! Thanks for entering!

  12. July 28, 2014

    Chris Adams

    I have never had the chance to visit Montebello, I have had the opportunity to stay at the Chateau Richelieu in Quebec City. These properties are extravagant and would love to visit this wooden castle!

    • July 29, 2014

      Sandy

      Great way to describe it, Chris! “Wooden Castle” 🙂 Did you enjoy Chateau Richelieu? Thanks for entering!

  13. July 28, 2014

    Olivia Amaro

    No, I’ve never had a chance to visit Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello. No, I’ve never stayed at any other Fairmont property, but would love to be given the opportunity.

    • July 29, 2014

      Sandy

      It’s definitely time you got to experience a Fairmont hotel, Olivia! Thanks for entering!

  14. July 27, 2014

    cruiser

    never stayed, but it’s on my to do list. 🙂

    • July 29, 2014

      Sandy

      I bet you’ve stayed at many others on your trips though, eh Cruiser? Thanks for entering!

  15. July 27, 2014

    DouglasG.

    I’ve stayed at the luxurious Fairmont Royal York in Toronto when a friend got married but I think the rustic character of the Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello would be more my thing! Hope to discover the natural beauty of Le Chateau Montebello !

    • July 29, 2014

      Sandy

      Yes, if you like more peaceful surroundings and a rustic look…Chateau Montebello is for you, Douglas. I’ve always wanted to visit Fairmont Royal York…it looks amazing 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  16. July 27, 2014

    Sandy

    I have never stayed at a Fairmont resort, but would love to soon!!!

    • July 29, 2014

      Sandy

      They sure are nice, Sandy! Thanks for entering!

  17. July 24, 2014

    BlessedTA

    No.
    About 5 years

  18. July 23, 2014

    Laura

    Would love some of those maple treats!

  19. July 19, 2014

    Karen E Hill

    I have never had the opportunity to stay at this or any other Fairmont Love to try one though.

  20. July 19, 2014

    Sean M

    I’ve never been there, but would like to

  21. July 18, 2014

    Taiyewo A

    Wow! I would love to check this place out! Looks great! I’ve never been, but would definitely love to go now!

  22. July 18, 2014

    lindsay

    I’ve never been to montobello but have stayed at almost every other fairmont in canada

    • July 19, 2014

      Sandy

      Wow! Lucky you, Lindsay! That’s awesome 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  23. July 17, 2014

    SweetPanda

    Yes, we had stayed at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello before and we love it!!! We basically love Fairmont Hotels and we stayed at their hotels in Montreal, Banff and Lake Louise before as well

    • July 17, 2014

      Sandy

      Sounds like you are true Fairmont fans, SweetPanda! Glad you have had to check out Le Chateau Montebello for yourself! Thanks for entering 🙂

  24. July 17, 2014

    Veronica S.

    I’ve never been to any Fairmont property before and have always wanted to as they are all so lovely.

    • July 17, 2014

      Sandy

      They are, aren’t they, Veronica? 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  25. July 16, 2014

    Lian

    Hey Sandy!

    No, I have not had the pleasure of staying at any of the Fairmont hotels. This one is the first one I have seen that is so rustic, yet luxurious at the same time. I am so glad you had this experience, and that you got to cuddle your pup once you got home.

    • July 16, 2014

      Sandy

      You’ll have to change that, Lian 🙂 Time to try a Fairmont! Yes, that’s exactly it – a great combination of rustic and luxury 🙂 Thanks!! I just loved cuddling with Bella when I came home. Thanks for entering!

  26. July 16, 2014

    Janet Claire

    I’ve never been to Fairmont Chateau Montebello but really enjoyed visiting Le Chateau Frontenac in Quebec City. Sunday Brunch at Le Chateau Montebello would so amazing & perfect for our Wedding Anniversary! Thanks for offering this fabulous giveaway!

    • July 16, 2014

      Sandy

      My pleasure, Janet! So glad you’ve been to the Fairmont in Quebec City . I have been in there, but didn’t stay. Had too take a peek though – it’s magnificent! Happy (early) Anniversary! You’re right…great place to celebrate! Thanks for entering!

  27. July 15, 2014

    SUMMER PLEWES

    I have not visited any Fairmonts, looks like I am missing out! Thank you for sharing this. Loved the photos!

    • July 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Hi Summer! Yes! Time to have a stay at a Fairmont hotel! So glad you enjoyed the photos. I tried to take a lot to give everyone a good overview of what it’s like there. Thanks for entering!!

  28. July 15, 2014

    Lucy

    I haven’t visited Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello.

    • July 15, 2014

      Sandy

      I hope you get the chance to stay one day, Lucy. Everyone should at least once 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to enter!

  29. July 15, 2014

    Natalie

    I haven’t stayed at any Fairmont properties or really many other places either. I haven’t been on a trip in almost a decade!

    • July 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh Natalie! It’s time to change that! You really need to have a vacation! Hope you win a trip one day 🙂 Thanks for entering!

      • July 16, 2014

        Natalie

        You’re right; I really do need a vacation!

        • July 16, 2014

          Sandy

          Definitely, Natalie! It’s time! 🙂

  30. July 15, 2014

    Johanne LaurinCastonguay

    I have never spent a night in Montebello but have enjoyed their amazing brunch one time!

    • July 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Well I’m glad you have at least been able to enjoy the brunch, Johanne!! It sounds pretty amazing…especially after reading all the comments here. Thanks for entering!

  31. July 15, 2014

    Diana Powell

    I have never stayed at a Fairmont property , but it has always been a dream of mine to do so. Every time a see a Fairmont property I get the distinct impression that they are the best in the business. I would love to find out for sure. 🙂

    • July 15, 2014

      Sandy

      I love your impression, Diana, and it’s a good one! I would like to test that theory out by staying at more Fairmont properties 😉 I sure hope you get a chance to stay at a Fairmont property one day! Thanks for entering!

  32. July 15, 2014

    Victoria Ess

    No I haven’t been here before, but I have visited their hotel in Toronto!

    • July 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Oooh! The Royal York, Victoria? I’d love to stay there. Have loved that hotel since I was a young girl living in Toronto 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to enter!

  33. July 15, 2014

    Sharon Lemay

    The first time you visit Le Fairmont Chateau Montebello you feel like you’re in a dream it’s so beautiful.The second time you feel like you’re in paradise.Every time after that you’re in heaven. A must see!

    • July 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Wow Sharon…that sounds better than a commercial!! If it keeps getting better and better like that…I’ll have to go back 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  34. July 15, 2014

    Karen

    I have never visited Montebello, I have heard such great things about it though. We have visited Lake Louise. 🙂

    • July 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Lake Louise is definitely on my bucket list, Karen. It looks outstanding! Thanks for stopping by to enter!

      • July 27, 2014

        Karen

        I enjoy all the photos you took. It was a fun read.

  35. July 15, 2014

    Michel

    CM is indeed a historical resort, great for a w-e getaway. Enjoy the wood burning oven cooked pizza in town for a break on the wallet. Having stayed there, the QE in mtl, the chateau in Ottawa, the Banff Spring, the chateau Frontenac, the manoir in Charlevoix, they are all great Canadian resorts! Cheers

    • July 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh the pizza sounds great, Michel! Good idea 🙂 Love how you have been able to stay at so many Fairmont resorts! Thanks for entering!

  36. July 15, 2014

    Trevor R

    Looks like lots of fun

    • July 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Definitely, Trevor – everyone there looked like they were really enjoying it 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  37. July 14, 2014

    LauraD

    I just moved to Ottawa, so I have been looking for weekend getaway ideas nearby. It would be stunning in winter too I’m sure. Looks wonderful

    • July 15, 2014

      Sandy

      Welcome to the area, Laura!! This resort would be great any time of the year…and for different reasons. Definitely a great little getaway from the big city 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  38. July 14, 2014

    Sarah Robinson

    Sandy – it looks like you had an absolutely wonderful time. I haven’t been to the CM but I did consider them for my winter wedding. With the curling rink, skating and sleigh rides it would have been magical. Unfortunately it was just a tad too far for my husband’s family coming from Toronto.

    I had the good fortune of starting my career with Fairmont. I worked for both the Jasper Park Lodge and Algonquin. Have visited the Chateau Laurier, Banff Springs Hotel and MacDonald. All wonderful experiences.

    Hopefully some day we’ll have the chance to meet Monte.

    xo

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      Thank you Sarah 🙂 Yes, that would have been magical!! I understand though…that’s a pretty long way to come from Toronto for a wedding. Wow! So cool to hear you used to work for Fairmont. Those are definitely nice resorts you worked at. I know how much you love dogs…so I hope you get to meet Monte one day too. He’s pretty sweet! Thanks for entering!

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      I know you would love it, Catherine 🙂 Would make for a nice little giveaway for you and hubby! Thanks for entering!

  39. July 14, 2014

    Karine

    We’ve been once for dinner, it was amazing! Would love to win this

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      So pleased to hear you’ve also had a chance to enjoy a dinner at the resort, Karine 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  40. July 14, 2014

    Lynn

    Would love to eat there!

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      I gather you’ve never been, Lynn? You are in for a treat if you ever get to go 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  41. July 14, 2014

    Alicia

    oh so beautiful. how fun is that pool and so many great activities to do. Never bored! how could you be in such a gorg place.

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      The photos are pretty but the resort is even more beautiful in person, no doubt about it 🙂 Definitely lots of activities for the whole family, Alicia!! Thanks for entering!

  42. July 14, 2014

    Cathy C

    Yes I have stayed there several times including twice for a Canadian Wine Tasting Weekend Package with is AMAZING! The spa there was wonderful too! Beautiful drive and honestly close enough to drive for a special Sunday brunch!

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh Cathy! Lucky you! That would be FUN! Definitely a GREAT package to take advantage of 🙂 Glad you’ve had the opportunity to visit several times. You are so right…it’s a beautiful drive and an easy drive for a Sunday brunch. Thanks for entering!

  43. July 14, 2014

    Mark V

    I have never spent a night in Montebello but have enjoyed their amazing brunch a few times.

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      Very glad to hear you have been to a few brunches at the resort, Mark, and enjoyed them 🙂 It sounds like it is as good as the BBQ we had. Thanks for entering!

  44. July 14, 2014

    Victoria Martin

    The first time I went to Montebello was 30-some odd years ago, for their Sunday Brunch. I had the chance to actually stay there in 2003 for a Mary Kay sales force conference. I absolutely love the area.

    Also worth mentioning (unless I missed it) is that Parc Omega is just north of Montebello. I would love to have the chance to experience this with my kids, who have been to Parc Omega but not the hotel.

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      Wowee! 30 years ago for their Sunday Brunch! It’s amazing it has been going on for that long! Glad you had the chance to stay there, Victoria. Bet that was a fun conference! Thanks so much for mentioning Parc Omega! That’s a great place to take the kids that isn’t too far from the resort! In fact, we visited there last summer and loved it: http://canadianbloghouse.com/parc-omega-montebello-quebec/ Thanks for entering!

      • July 14, 2014

        Victoria Martin

        Yup, 30+ years. 🙂 My grandparents, who were American, loved coming up to Canada in the fall months to see the changing of the leaves. They took us out for brunch and the whole way down I had no idea where we were going and kept calling it “Shado Montebello.” (My French pronunciation has greatly improved since then!)

        I’m also tickled no end about the Canine Ambassador program. Monte would get lots of walks and snuggles from me.

        • July 14, 2014

          Sandy

          Very cool, Victoria! What great memories with your grandparents 🙂 LOL I love that “shado Montebello” Glad your French has improved! It does sound that way sometimes when the English say it (like me!). I’m with you…I LOVE the Canine Ambassador program! Such a great idea 🙂

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      That’s right, Lisabeth, you are originally from this area, right? It was a great trip and I hope you get the same chance one day. As you know, the area is beautiful 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  45. July 14, 2014

    Caitlin Carpenter

    I would to go! I’ve been to a few Fairmount properties across Canada and they’re all jewels!

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      Well said Caitlin!! Hope I get a chance to visit more of those “jewels”! Hope you get to visit Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello one day 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  46. July 14, 2014

    mamawee

    I have never been…. it looks wonderful though

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      Time to change that, mamawee! Not a very long drive for you either. Well worth it…especially if you get some free time with hubby 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  47. July 14, 2014

    michelle tremblett

    I have not been to this property before, but it looks stunning !! I have stayed at a Fairmont before and it was absolutely beautiful 🙂

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      I hope to be able to try other Fairmont properties one day, Michelle…they truly are beautiful. Thanks for entering!!

  48. July 14, 2014

    Meredith

    This looks so wonderful! I have stayed at the Chateau Laurier in Ottawa and its awesome too.

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      Ooooh lucky you, Meredith! The Chateau Laurier looks so majestic! One of my fave Ottawa landmarks 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  49. July 14, 2014

    Sarah at Journeys of The Zoo

    So happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. They really did treat you like Kings and Queens. Love all the special touches.

    I’ve visited Montebello about 15 years ago. We just walked around the grounds and looked inside the main building. I was really impressed and would LOVE to have a chance to have a brunch and/or stay there minus The Kids!

    Besos, Sarah
    Blogger at Journeys of The Zoo

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      The special touches were super nice, Sarah 🙂 I’m glad you had the chance to check out the resort yourself…but yes….you need to head back with hubby for a little getaway or a day trip for brunch. You would love it there I think 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  50. July 14, 2014

    Shannon

    I have been lucky enough to have visited Montebello. I am a Fairmont girl. 🙂 I have also visited the Fairmont Lake Louise, Fairmont Empress in Victoria, and the Fairmont Banff Springs. Always a luxurious stay!

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      Ooooh! Majorly jealous, Shannon! Would LOVE to have a stay in any of those Fairmont resorts! They look fabulous 🙂 Thanks for entering!!

  51. July 14, 2014

    andrea from the fishbowl

    We’ve been a few times, but haven’t stayed overnight yet. Come to think of it, I don’t think we’ve stayed at a Fairmont property before. I think I need to remedy that. Our visit to Montebello was great fun though. We went in the winter, which is a totally different experience, and once for brunch once too. I’d love to go again. The food was spectacular.

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      I was thinking that Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello would be wonderful in winter, Andrea. Great time to visit also! I’d love to sit by that magnificent fire place when they have a fire going 🙂 Glad to hear you loved it there too! I think you need to remedy that also – Hope you get the chance to go back and have more of that spectacular food. Thanks for entering!

  52. July 14, 2014

    Elizabeth Vlug

    We first stayed at Montebello after stumbling upon it after tenting in the area for 2 weeks. We were lucky enough that they had a room and booked in immediately. lol. What a treat after roughing it. Our second visit was 32 years ago when our parents took our 2 year old son for a weekend and sent us there as a gift! Would love to go back. What a wonderful resort!!

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      Wow Elizabeth! Your stay must have been extra extra special after coming from 2 weeks of tenting! What a great gift your parents gave you. That must have been such a nice “couples” time away 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  53. July 14, 2014

    sonia p.

    Never been there. Looks like a lovely place to visit.

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      I hope you get to visit one day, Sonia! Such a relaxing and lovely resort 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  54. July 14, 2014

    Tracy

    I have always wanted to try the brunch at Chateau Montebello because I have heard it is very good! I am envious of your time there – looks gorgeous!

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      Me too, Tracy! Have heard from so many people how good it is. It truly is gorgeous there. Hope you get the chance to visit some time 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  55. July 14, 2014

    melissa fowers

    Looks like a wonderful place! Would love to go and visit.

    • July 14, 2014

      Sandy

      It sure is, Melissa! Have you ever been to another Fairmont property before? Thanks for entering!

Leave a comment

  1. Hop on over the Outaouais Region This Easter! - Outaouais Tourism Blog03-19-15
  2. Play In The Outaouais! #OutaouaisFun01-09-15
  3. Get Lost! Explore Your Adventurous Side At Camp Explora ~ Montebello, Quebec #FamilyTravel #OutaouaisFun09-02-14

CONTACT CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

canadianbloghouse@gmail.com

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 596 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.

PARTNERS

Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

NOMINATED FOR BEST LIFESTYLE/TRAVEL/PRODUCT REVIEW BLOG!!

WINNER OF A CANADIAN BLOG AWARD!

 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png

FRIENDS OF CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

online coupons Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button


Copy the code below:


Archives

Categories