Canadian Blog House


 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

Give The Kids A #DKMarchBreak This Year! #Review #Giveaway

Posted by
/ / 72 Comments

Books.  Remember those things made of paper on the inside, bound with a hard cover on the outside?

Sometimes I think we are starting to lose the great experience of reading books.  Actual books.  Not the type of books you can find on your favourite e-reader.  I mean printed books that you can hold in your hand.   Maybe it’s a suspense novel, the kind that keeps you turning pages, hour after hour. Maybe it’s a reference book that helps to teach you something you don’t already know.  Or maybe it’s a book featuring outstanding images and stories about a far off land, your favourite animals, or a book full of delicious recipes.  There’s just something great about holding your favourite book in your hands.

March Break is here, and we all know what that means.  Unless you are escaping to Disneyworld for March Break (and lucky you if you are!), the kids will be home with you ALL WEEK, and at some point they will be bored.  I guarantee it.  It already happened here on Day 2.  These days, parents rely heavily on technology to squash this boredom.  With easy access to iPods, iPads, laptops, and smartphones, we tend to forget about using books to help entertain the kids.  Not sure about you, but I used to spend hours upon hours reading all my favourite books as a kid.

So you can bet I was thrilled last Friday when I received our latest shipment of books from DK Canada Books.  Just in time for March Break! DK Canada Books is celebrating #DKMarchBreak with their March Break Boutique, and it’s full of all kinds of great books to help keep the kids busy.

The first book that caught my eye in the DK Canada March Break Boutique was this one:

DKCanadaLEGOIdeasBookLike so many kids these days, X-Man is a huge fan of LEGO.  He owns so much LEGO, I’m thinking we just may be able to open our own LEGO store one day!  We love LEGO also, but for a different reason.  LEGO is an “old-school” toy that just never gets old.  Like real books, LEGO has been around for what seems like forever.  LEGO inspires imagination and helps “build” on many different skills important to child development.  For those of you who have LEGO-crazy kids, this LEGO Ideas Book can make a great addition to their LEGO collection. Full of over 500 ideas, this book will push your kids to think beyond each individual LEGO set they have received, and come up with their own great LEGO creation.  X-Man could not wait to open the pages of this book, and within 1/2 hour, he brought his very own LEGO creation out to show me.  I was pretty impressed with this Dragster he created:

DKCanadaMarchBreakBoutiqueX-Man had taken some ideas from the LEGO Ideas Book and used them to create his own masterpiece.  I happen to think his dragster looks pretty awesome.

The other two books we choose to review were both related to science experiments:

DKCanada101GreatScienceExperiments

 

DKCanadaScienceRocks

X-Man is at the age where he wants to understand how things are made, how things work, and how things happen.  These DK Canada books are just great for curious kids and budding scientists.  True to DK Canada standards, both of these books are full of great visuals, detailing how easy it is for kids to unleash their own inner “mad scientist”.  We have yet to try any of the experiments ourselves, however, March Break isn’t over yet! I’m certain we will use these books for years to come.  They will come in handy for reference purposes one day when X-Man starts creating his own science experiments for school.

For a limited time, readers can enjoy 30% off this great selection of #DKMarchBreak books.  Not only will you find the books we reviewed, you will find all kinds of great books featuring arts and crafts, cookbooks, Super Hero books, and so much more! Be sure to check them out:

make-march-break-great-button-2_185x185

Have you got any LEGO fanatics and Mad Scientists in you own household?  Then you won’t want to miss out on this giveaway!  The great folks at DK Canada have offered up this fantastic 3-book prize pack for one lucky Canadian Blog House reader!!

Here’s how you can enter to WIN:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

54224y783wpiiyxb89ic

 

 

 

Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House received these books in exchange for a review.  All opinions are my own.

 

 

  1. March 26, 2014

    Amy C.

    We are staying home and inviting the neices over for some play dates.

  2. March 25, 2014

    Viv

    We have 2 weeks of spring break. In the first week we went to the zoo, hiking and my oldest had a sleepover at her grandparents’ house. This week we are going to go horse back riding and swimming.

  3. March 24, 2014

    Dianne G.

    I am hoping to spend a bit of time with my grandchildren over spring break. They love to do crafts and bake, so we will do a bit of each.

  4. March 24, 2014

    Winnie B

    Just stayed home and had a staycation with the kids

  5. March 23, 2014

    Vicky

    I had to work during March break, but we are taking 2 weeks off during Easter. 🙂

  6. March 23, 2014

    Robyn B.

    The only plans are to clean up the front yard gardens….how exciting huh?

  7. March 23, 2014

    Ashleigh Swerdfeger

    No major plans, but we did decide to home-school my little brother. We are also rearranging rooms lol

  8. March 22, 2014

    kathy downey

    no plans,grandkids are comimg over maybe make some treats and watch a movie

  9. March 22, 2014

    michelle hebert

    nothing exciting just doing yard work

  10. March 22, 2014

    darci

    I am working, taking my son to a few sporting/activity camps to keep him busy

  11. March 22, 2014

    Rene

    Same old – work and daycare. 🙁

  12. March 22, 2014

    Tara

    We’re packing up our house… and moving!

  13. March 21, 2014

    olga

    Just hanging around the house – having some downtime from all the regularly scheduled events!

  14. March 21, 2014

    holly o'gorman

    Last week for the March Break, my daughter and I went to Kingston with a few friends.

  15. March 18, 2014

    eleanor

    staycation

  16. March 17, 2014

    Tanis

    No plans for us this year, just sticking around home!

  17. March 17, 2014

    D.Petch

    Not much. House cleaning with the kids having to clean their room.

  18. March 17, 2014

    Marc-Andre Taillefer

    Spring cleaning!

  19. March 16, 2014

    Cheryla

    staying close to home, relax, rearrange, and maybe some good old fashion board games!

  20. March 16, 2014

    V. HIll

    Nothing really. Hang out, love.

  21. March 16, 2014

    Dawn Rader

    we didn’t do anything too exciting…we had a sleepover with my nephew and had family night where we stayed up and played games.

  22. March 15, 2014

    angela m

    No big plans, we went swimming ,bowling , to an maple sugar cabin

  23. March 14, 2014

    maria

    The kids are going to playdome and indoor carnival.

  24. March 14, 2014

    Denny Phan

    thxs

  25. March 13, 2014

    Bryan C

    Spring cleaning!

  26. March 13, 2014

    Andrea Amy

    Nope, no plans. Just hanging around the house with the kids.

  27. March 13, 2014

    Ami B

    Our March break has consisted of family time around the house 🙂

  28. March 13, 2014

    Lee-Ann S

    Our March Break has been evolving as we go. Planned on a movie today but hung out at home instead. There has been swimming & outside playtime as well as some crafts.

  29. March 12, 2014

    Nicole

    Checking out some local attractions and events!

  30. March 12, 2014

    diana

    hanging out with cousins and family that are visiting!

  31. March 12, 2014

    michelle tremblett

    W e are staying close to home this march break, visiting the local museums, movies, having a couple friends over 🙂

  32. March 12, 2014

    Jennifer L.

    We’re staying home and finding some fun stuff to do locally.

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      Great idea, Jennifer. Sometimes it is fun to play tourist in your own town! Thanks for entering!

  33. March 12, 2014

    Danielle

    Not much planned, just work and the everyday routine!

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      That pretty much covers most of my week too, Danielle 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  34. March 12, 2014

    Rachel Cartwright

    We don’t have much planned for March Break, but we will definitely be doing a bit of much-needed spring cleaning!

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      I’ve already done some of that too, Rachel. Blah! Oh well, it’s one of those things you can’t avoid. Thanks for entering!

  35. March 12, 2014

    Pam

    we are mostly staying around the house, cleaning the basement, taking in a theatre play and going to the movies.

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      Sounds like a good mix of fun…and getting some good chores done, Pam. Thanks for entering!

  36. March 12, 2014

    Maegan Morin

    We will be doing the same thing we do every week lol. My husband still has to work so it will be business as usual.

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      Hope your “business as usual” week is going well, Maegan 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  37. March 12, 2014

    margaux retrophiliac

    I will probably be at work, assisting people to find the best arts and crafts to make their spring break full of creative fun!

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      Well that sounds like a very productive and helpful way to be spending your week, Margaux 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  38. March 12, 2014

    Dawn - Addicted to Recipes

    This year we are staying home for spring break. My parents are helping out by looking after our school-aged son. He’s already let her know that they will be baking 100 cinnamon buns while he is there 🙂
    Thank you!
    Dawn

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      LOL 100 cinnamon buns!! Too funny!! Hope he brings some home for mom 🙂 Thanks for entering, Dawn!

  39. March 12, 2014

    Fan R.

    Disney show, gatherings and relaxing.

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      Sounds like a well-rounded week, Fan R 🙂 Enjoy! Thanks for entering!

  40. March 12, 2014

    Margarita Ibbott

    We are going to see Paula’s daughter in a play tomorrow. Very excited about that!

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      Lucky you, Margarita! Bet that will be fun!! Enjoy 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  41. March 12, 2014

    Jeffrey Rossnagel

    We are going to tackle cleaning the garage!

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh boy! You’ll be busy with that I’m sure, Jeffrey! That will be a great job to get done though. Thanks for entering!

  42. March 12, 2014

    Heidi C.

    We had our March Break already and didn’t go anywhere except locally to the library, mall, etc.

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      I didn’t realize there were so many different “times” for March Break across the country. Glad you enjoyed yours, Heidi! Thanks for entering!

  43. March 12, 2014

    Karen D

    No plans, just staying at home.

  44. March 11, 2014

    cruiser

    I’m babysitting my grand kids while the parents get a trip to Vegas. Not sure who is getting the spring break. 🙂

  45. March 11, 2014

    Annette C.

    Had to cancel the maple syrup tour, as the syrup will be late this year, so I’m going to Canada Blooms at the end of the week … need to see greenery without snow on it.

  46. March 11, 2014

    Wendy hutton

    no plan just hanging around the house

  47. March 11, 2014

    Sarah at Journeys of The Zoo

    It’s not March Break where I am so it’s life as usual and kids in school. We spend a lot of time running up and down the street that is under construction.

    Besos, Sarah
    Blogger at Journeys of The Zoo

  48. March 11, 2014

    andie

    We are going to attend some of the programs put on by our local library and community centre.

  49. March 11, 2014

    Dreena

    Our plan is to relax a bit, go out for a few lunches (dim sum and Indian food buffet), and I’ve got to get a jump on Spring cleaning.

    Cheers.

  50. March 11, 2014

    Darwin

    No big plans this spring break. We will probably be spring cleaning and purging our storage.

  51. March 11, 2014

    Erika E

    We don’t have any exciting plans for March break. We’ll do some activities locally, hopefully the weather will be nice. I have a room I’ve been meaning to paint for about a year now too, maybe I’ll get that done. 🙂

  52. March 11, 2014

    Jonnie

    March Break in Alberta isn’t until the end of the month so we don’t have any definite plans yet. We’re most likely just gonna hang around home and do some activities around our city.

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      Great idea! You can play tourist in your own town, Jonnie! Wow…I had NO idea that Alberta celebrated March Break later in the month. Thanks for letting me know…I learned something new today 🙂 Thanks also for entering!

  53. March 11, 2014

    Amy Heffernan

    No plans.

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      No plans, but I bet you’ll be plenty busy enough 🙂 Hope you have a great week! Thanks for entering!

  54. March 11, 2014

    Julie G

    I will be spending time with my grandson this March break. We will be skating, baking and going out to lunch to celebrate No School!

    • March 12, 2014

      Sandy

      That sounds like a great way to spend March Break with your grandson, Julie 🙂 I hope you have a great time together! Thanks for entering!

Leave a comment

  1. From Nursery to Primary Giveaway Roundup (Plus Linky for All Giveaways) - Frugal Mom Eh!03-22-14
  2. Purple Monster Coupons | Win a 3 book prize pack03-16-14
  3. From Nursery to Primary Giveaway Roundup (Plus Linky for All Giveaways) - Frugal Mom Eh!03-15-14

CONTACT CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

canadianbloghouse@gmail.com

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.

PARTNERS

Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

NOMINATED FOR BEST LIFESTYLE/TRAVEL/PRODUCT REVIEW BLOG!!

WINNER OF A CANADIAN BLOG AWARD!

 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png

FRIENDS OF CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

online coupons Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button


Copy the code below:


Archives

Categories