Canadian Blog House


 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

Hot Diggity Dog! It’s SLOTDOG!

Posted by
/ / 114 Comments

I’ve always loved hot dogs, but not as much as I do now since we received our new SLOTDOG from Muskoka Maverick Ltd.  Thanks to our new SLOTDOG, we may just be eating the juiciest BBQ’d hot dogs in our neighbourhood.

I admit it.  I was skeptical when I received our new SLOTDOG and took it out of the packaging.  The first thing that ran through my mind was something along the lines of “hmmmm…this looks like one of those gimicky “as seen on tv” gadgets that never seem to work as they say they do”  That being said, I’m always willing to try out a new gadget, and hey, what did I have to lose?  I get to eat hot dogs in the process of reviewing this product. How bad could that be for a hot dog lover?

Although I love hot dogs, I am by no means a “hot dog expert” – if there is such a thing.  I love hot dogs of all kinds as long as they are topped with my favourite toppings: ketchup, mustard, baby dill relish, and onions.  I do know there is a difference, though, between the hot dogs we eat at home on the BBQ, and the hot dogs you can buy at the ball park, or from the popular street vendor in town.  There is just something a wee bit better about the hot dogs you get at these types of outdoor food carts or venues.

Now I think I know what the secret to better hot dogs is…..

SLOTDOG!

SlotDog

As you can see from my photo, the SLOTDOG is such a “simple” tool yet, see those metal “slots”? Those are what transform regular hot dogs into juicy and delicious SLOTDOGS.

So how does it work?

“Simply press the SLOTDOG down on two opposite sides of a hot dog, then toss it on the BBQ and watch as it transforms in front of your eyes! As the hot dog cooks the slots slowly expand, helping to show you when it’s ready to enjoy.”

“A SLOTDOG hot dog not only looks great, but also grabs hold of any condiment and won’t let go. This allows the tasty penetration of your once boring dog with all of their yummy goodness.  A process we like to call…MAX FLAVOUR INFUSION!!”

SlotDogReview

So we proceeded to test out our SLOTDOG for the first time using our usual brand of hot dogs that we always enjoy on the BBQ.  I gave my boyfriend the honour of using the SLOTDOG first, since he likes using tools and gadgets.

Reality is, I was afraid of massacring our hot dogs and rendering them “unbarbequeable”.  Is that a word? Apparently my spell check says no.  I disagree and I’m hitting the override button.  It’s a term of endearment I use when I mess things up so badly, even a BBQ cannot save the food. That’s what I was afraid I would do with the SLOTDOG.

SlotDogHotDogs

Surprisingly, our SLOTDOG is exceptionally easy to use!  In fact, we started off being too “gentle” with our SLOTDOG, afraid to cut too deeply into the hot dogs with the metal slots.  Turns out, you need to throw a little weight into your hot dog.  A nice steady push with the SLOTDOG on each side, and you end up with great looking hot dogs like you see in our picture above.  All ready for the BBQ!

SlotDogOnTheBBQ

As our SLOTDOG hot dogs rolled off the BBQ (yes, my boyfriend BBQ’d for us in some of the coldest temps of this frigid Canadian winter!), we slathered on our favourite condiments, added a prerequisite side of potato chips, and bit into these mouth-watering wonders. The first thought we both had was “could the SLOTDOG really have made our hot dogs juicier?  Naaaaa.  We figured we were just imagining that these hot dogs were some how juicier than normal.  We didn’t spend much time thinking about this comparison because, frankly (pun intended), these hot dogs were so darn tasty all we wanted to do was enjoy eating them.  So we did.

Next day we started talking about the SLOTDOG again.  Perhaps the BBQ’d hot dogs tasted so good just because they were cooked on the grill in the middle of winter, and this gave us a much needed taste of summer.  So we decided to test out the SLOTDOG again and make ourselves more hot dogs for lunch. We lit the BBQ and cooked our hot dogs, SLOTDOG style, again.  The result? Just as mouth-watering tasty as the first time.

Since then, we have used the SLOTDOG once more and have agreed.  SLOTDOG really does make a better hot dog.  Not only does the SLOTDOG “grab hold of your condiments and not let go” but, in our opinion, SLOTDOG produces a juicier, move flavourful hot dog.  If you love BBQ’d hot dogs, we are certain you’ll love the SLOTDOG.

What else do we love about our SLOTDOG? This product is Canadian made right in the heart of Canada’s Muskoka cottage country.  Another awesome Canadian invention! 

 

“JOIN THE HOT DOG REVOLUTION”

 

So where can you your hands on your very own SLOTDOG? You can find the SLOTDOG at select retailers, or order online.  Thanks to the great folks at SLOTDOG, Canadian Blog House readers can also get a chance to WIN one!  Here’s all you have to do for your chance to WIN:

***GIVEAWAY OVER***

 

slotdogwinner

54224y783wpiiyxb89ic

 

 

 

Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House was provided with a SLOTDOG for the purposes of this review.  All opinions are our own.

 

  1. March 6, 2014

    Chris A

    I have never seent his before…My life is now better for having come across this SLOTDOG. I am a huuge fan of Frank’s or Sriracha on my dogs. yumm yumm

  2. March 6, 2014

    Veronica S.

    KETCHUP

  3. March 6, 2014

    Dawn Rader

    ketchup, mustard and relish! my kids all put cheese whiz on theirs

  4. March 6, 2014

    diane king

    nothing–just plain hotdog–love to enjoy the taste

  5. March 6, 2014

    Kim G.

    Ketchup, Mayo & Cheese

  6. March 6, 2014

    rose langill

    ketchup and mustard

  7. March 6, 2014

    Amy Heffernan

    I love the works. Ketchup, mustard, onions, relish, cheese and bacon bits. 😀

  8. March 4, 2014

    Maggie C

    mustard, hot peppers, and lots of onions

  9. March 2, 2014

    Gail A.

    I like’em pretty simple – a wavy line of mustard and a sprinkle of diced onion – YUM!

  10. March 1, 2014

    Brandee H

    At home I am pretty boring, just ketchup or mayo. But when I get one at Costco I go all out with Sauerkraut and lots of hot peppers 🙂

  11. February 28, 2014

    amy lovell

    Everything! The more the merrier !~ Mustard , pckiles onions tomatoes mayo hot peppers. etc. Everything except ketchup that is. bleh

  12. February 27, 2014

    tammy campbell

    dill pickles, onions, hot peppers, ketchup, mustard and cheese

  13. February 27, 2014

    Linda B

    I make what we call a Coney Dog. It’s cooked ground beef with tomato or chili sause mixed together, put on the dog hot with shredded cheddar cheese and chopped onions! mmmm so good. And by the way this gadget looks and sounds fantastic!! 🙂

  14. February 27, 2014

    Curtzo604

    Mustard… just a touch.

    Or, a full load, sans ketchup…

  15. February 27, 2014

    stephen gordon

    Corn Relish, Mustard and Onions. Yummy for the Tummy

  16. February 27, 2014

    ChristinaE

    The regulars…. ketchup, mustard, relish.

  17. February 26, 2014

    Shaun R B

    Ketchup!

  18. February 26, 2014

    Michelle Michaud

    Love mustard, onions, hot peppers, bacon and sometimes lettuce…yes, I said lettuce…try it! 🙂

    • February 26, 2014

      Sandy

      Such an obvious topping….but one I’ve never thought to try. I will give it a go one of these times, Michelle! Thanks for entering!

  19. February 26, 2014

    Deanna S.

    Only Ketchup!

    • February 26, 2014

      Sandy

      Another Ketchup lover, eh Deanna? 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  20. February 25, 2014

    misty

    ketchup, mayo, cheese

    • February 26, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh! There’s a reference to mayo again. Surprised my BF doesn’t put that on his…he loves mayo. Thanks for entering, Misty!

  21. February 25, 2014

    Charlene Lucas

    Hot mustard, relish, ketchup and sauteed onions!

    • February 26, 2014

      Sandy

      Mmmmmmm sauteed onions. Those would be awesome on a hot dog! Great idea. Thanks for entering, Charlene!

  22. February 25, 2014

    cheryl hodgkins

    Mustard, corn relish, yum yum pickles, onions and tomato

    • February 26, 2014

      Sandy

      Now some of those are different toppings, Cheryl! Corn relish and yum yum pickles…never would have thought to try those. Thanks for entering!

  23. February 25, 2014

    marc-andre taillefer

    ketchup!!!!

    • February 26, 2014

      Sandy

      Those exclamation marks say you mean business when it comes to ketchup, Marc-Andre, lol 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  24. February 25, 2014

    Nicky J

    mustard, onions & relish

    • February 26, 2014

      Sandy

      A very good trio, and close to what I like, Nicky 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  25. February 25, 2014

    Joce Lyne

    i like ketchup mayo and relish

  26. February 25, 2014

    elaine d

    i only ever put ketchup on my chicken hotdogs 🙂

  27. February 24, 2014

    Herb

    ketchup!!!!

  28. February 24, 2014

    Angela Mitchell

    I love a fully loaded hot dog. Ketchup, mustard, relish, cheese, and onions are great and sometimes sauerkraut.

  29. February 24, 2014

    mike

    cheese, and more cheese

  30. February 23, 2014

    M Thompson

    Top with ketchup, mustard, sweet relish and cheese.

  31. February 23, 2014

    Karine

    Ketchup and relish! hahah mmm I’m hungry for hot dogs now!

  32. February 23, 2014

    Robyn B.

    Ketchup and diced onions.

  33. February 23, 2014

    Sarah Stickney

    Everything! mustard, ketchup, relish, onions, mayonnaise, pickles and even potato chips.

  34. February 23, 2014

    lori b

    mustard, relish, ketchup and onions

  35. February 23, 2014

    susanne mccarthy

    Mustard, relish and fried onions

  36. February 23, 2014

    Brittany Langstaff

    Yellow mustard and raw onions!

  37. February 23, 2014

    Jon T

    Yellow mustard, relish and ketchup – simple and deelish!

  38. February 23, 2014

    Patrick Siu

    Beef Chili with Beans

  39. February 23, 2014

    Tammy Dalley

    Ketchup,cheese,bacon,relish and mustard

  40. February 22, 2014

    Josh S

    Mustard, Onions & Hot Peppers!

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh boy! Another hot pepper lover. I just cannot do those, Josh. Wowza! lol Thanks for entering!

  41. February 22, 2014

    Rachel Cartwright

    Ketchup, and lots of it!

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      You and my Mum would get along well, Rachel 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  42. February 22, 2014

    Megan Willis

    Just a bit of Ketchup and Mustard 🙂

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      Just a bit, eh Megan? That way you can taste more of the dog 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  43. February 22, 2014

    Lisa Cannavan

    ketchup,mustard and lots of onions

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      Mmmm! Lots of onions….I love lots also. Can never have too many onions, Lisa 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  44. February 22, 2014

    Jennifer

    Salt, ketchup, and sometimes I spread Cheese Whiz on the bread (no, really!).

    I laughed at your barbeque comment – we barbeque year round, the best time to barbeque is winter because NO BUGS! 😀

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh! Another Cheez Whiz fan, eh Jennifer? Lol…I’d destroy the bun trying to do that 🙂 Yay! Another winter BBQer 🙂 Lol….you make a very good point! No bugs! Thanks for entering!

  45. February 22, 2014

    Pat Drouillard

    mustard,relish and ketchup

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      3 of my faves 🙂 Thanks for entering, Pat!

  46. February 22, 2014

    Alex P.

    Ketchup and mustard!

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      A good solid combo, Alex 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  47. February 22, 2014

    Christine Topley

    How ingenious!!!

    Mustard, Ketchup, Relish, Onions, Tomatoes

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      Sure is, isn’t it Christine? Great idea – tomatoes! Thanks for entering 🙂

  48. February 22, 2014

    Sharon Painter

    mustard relish onion tomatoe ketchup and cheese !

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      Mmmm…cheese 🙂 You and a few others are making me think I’ll have to add cheese to my hot dog repertoire from now on, Sharon 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  49. February 22, 2014

    Joanne Saunders

    Cheese

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      Plain and simple, yet a great choice to have on its own. Love cheese! Thanks for entering, Joanne!

  50. February 22, 2014

    Jennifer Frezza

    That is super cool.. I <3 <3 <3 BBQ hotdogs.

    Mustand, jalapenos & onions

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      Super cool is right, Jennifer! Jalapenos? Now that one scares me, lol. I’m not a hot pepper fan. My BF “made” me try a hot pepper hotter than jalapenos a few weeks ago. LOL…never again! My mouth was on fire and wouldn’t stop salivating for about 10 minutes. Thanks for entering!

  51. February 22, 2014

    Darrah Bailey

    Relish & Mustard

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      A good combo, Darrah…I like both! Thanks for entering!

  52. February 22, 2014

    Karla Sceviour

    ketchup,mustard,relish,and cheese!

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      Hi Karla! Ooooh….there’s cheese again! Definitely a yummy topping! Thanks for entering 🙂

  53. February 22, 2014

    Karen

    mustard, relish & onions

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      3 of my faves, Karen 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  54. February 22, 2014

    krislyn roth

    lots and lots of mustard

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      A true mustard fan, eh Krislyn? Thanks for entering!

  55. February 22, 2014

    Terry Perron

    Liked with Cheese and Bacon

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      Mmmmm! Definitely a good combo, Terry. I just avoid bacon on mine as I feel too guilty with the extra fat and calories from the bacon, lol. Thanks for entering!

  56. February 22, 2014

    Janie N @copperjane

    Love Hotdogs! Mustard & cheddar cheese on a toasted bun

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      Yay….toasted bun! That makes any BBQ’d hot dog better! Thanks for entering, Janie!

  57. February 22, 2014

    Heidi C.

    Ketchup, relish and mayo for me!

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      Another mayo lover, Heidi. I love mayo…just haven’t tried it on hot dogs…yet! Thanks for entering!

  58. February 22, 2014

    cruiser

    I like mine plain or with chopped onions. 🙂

    • February 22, 2014

      Sandy

      If I had to go with just one condiment, I think it would be onions too, Cruiser 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  59. February 22, 2014

    Jody D

    Honey Mustard and Sauerkraut

    • February 23, 2014

      Sandy

      There’s something I’ve never even tried before – sauerkraut. I’ve heard it’s good. Thanks for entering, Jody!

  60. February 22, 2014

    charityk

    ketchup mustard and relish

    • February 23, 2014

      Sandy

      My faves too, charityk….minus the onions 🙂 Thanks for entering!

    • February 21, 2014

      Sandy

      Lol…well we all like different things 🙂 Thanks for entering, Lori!

  61. February 21, 2014

    Maegan Morin

    I just like some ketchup and that is it. 😀

  62. February 21, 2014

    Lynda Cook

    I like ketchup, relish, mustard and onions

  63. February 21, 2014

    Matt D

    Ketchup, mustard, relish

    • February 21, 2014

      Sandy

      Three of my faves, Matt 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  64. February 21, 2014

    Julie G

    Relish, ketchup and onions top my hot dogs.

    • February 21, 2014

      Sandy

      A great trio if you ask me, Julie! Thanks for entering 🙂

  65. February 21, 2014

    Jo-Anne Pfoh

    I don’t I am a vegetarian lol but my son puts ketchup and um ketchup

    • February 21, 2014

      Sandy

      I’m sure SLOTDOG is not restricted to beef hot dogs, Jo-Anne…I bet you could use it on Tofu dogs 😉 LOL…your son sounds like my mum…ketchup…and ketchup…and ketchup. Thanks for entering!

  66. February 21, 2014

    suzi

    relish, onions and mayo!

    • February 21, 2014

      Sandy

      Mayo on hot dogs…never considered that one. Interesting! Thanks for entering, Suzi!

  67. February 21, 2014

    elaing8

    Ketchup,mustard,cheez whiz and onions

    • February 21, 2014

      Sandy

      There’s a classic! Cheez Whiz! Great idea, elaing8. Thanks for entering!

  68. February 21, 2014

    christel murphy

    Onions, mustard, ketchup

    • February 21, 2014

      Sandy

      Classic, Christel! Thanks for entering 🙂

  69. February 21, 2014

    sarah jackson

    Onions , ketchup , mustard

    • February 21, 2014

      Sandy

      Classic choices, Sarah! Thanks for entering 🙂

  70. February 21, 2014

    Bonny MacIsaac

    Mustard and onions usually are my toppings.

    • February 21, 2014

      Sandy

      That’s a good combo, Bonny! Thanks for entering 🙂

  71. February 21, 2014

    tanyab79

    Pretty plain, Ketchup and Mustard

    • February 21, 2014

      Sandy

      Nothing wrong with “plain”, Tanya. As much as I love my condiments, I’d eat one of these SLOTDOG hot dogs with nothing on top. That’s how yummy they are…even on their own. Thanks for entering!

  72. February 21, 2014

    Debbie Bashford

    diced onions, dijon, dill pickles and heinz 57

    • February 21, 2014

      Sandy

      Dijon! Great idea, Debbie 🙂 Wow…never thought of using Heinz 57 as a topping either. Thanks for entering!

  73. February 21, 2014

    Joy M.

    Ketchup, mustard, cheese, & relish!

    • February 21, 2014

      Sandy

      Hi Joy! Mmmm! That reminds me, sometimes I enjoy some cheese on mine too 🙂 Thanks for entering!

Leave a comment

CONTACT CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

canadianbloghouse@gmail.com

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 593 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.

PARTNERS

Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

NOMINATED FOR BEST LIFESTYLE/TRAVEL/PRODUCT REVIEW BLOG!!

WINNER OF A CANADIAN BLOG AWARD!

 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png

FRIENDS OF CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

online coupons Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button


Copy the code below:


Archives

Categories