Canadian Blog House

 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

Iconic Eyewitness Reference Books For Kids Released On Paperback From DK Canada Books! #Review #Giveaway

Posted by

Our friends at DK Canada Books have recently released a set of their iconic Eyewitness reference books for kids onto paperback for the first time.  Making this release extra-special, these books have been refreshed with new covers, improved layouts, and better ratio of words to text. Twelve classic titles have been launched in paperback, as well as one brand new, first time ever title.

Choosing from this great selection of DK Canada Eyewitness paperback books was difficult.  They all look like a great read for kids and adults alike,  covering 13 fascinating topics. We narrowed ours down to these ones.  Come take a peek at what we received:


I admit I chose this book mainly because of the beautiful cover showing the Grand Canyon.  I have been lucky enough to visit the Grand Canyon twice and it’s one of my favourite places on earth.  Wonders Of The World takes the reader on a fascinating journey around the world, stopping at some of the world’s most amazing sights, including the Great Barrier Reef, the Great Wall Of China, the Taj Mahal, Stonehenge, the Pyramids Of Giza, and so many more wonderful places!  Kids will love learning about the wonders of our world as they flip through pages of great pictures and tons of interesting facts about the world around us.  This is a book the whole family will enjoy!


Although the new paperback Eyewitness Books from DK Canada are targeted to kids, this big kid choose the next book we reviewed, Titanic, because I wanted to learn more about this tragic ship, and the circumstances surrounding its demise. Titanic is filled with all kinds of great facts, bits of trivia, illustrations and photos.  This is a book that, we think, even the biggest Titanic fan would learn something new from.  I particularly like the anecdote regarding Millvina Dean, the youngest survivor of the disaster (7 weeks old) who lived to be the Titanic’s last-living survivor.  Millvina died in 2009 at age 97.


I’ve always had a fascination with weather. I get that from my Dad.  When the Weather Network first appeared on television sets a few decades ago, my Dad was in weather heaven.  He would frequently check this station to get the latest updates on how the weather was going to affect us that day.  I’m sure we aren’t the only weather fans. Canadians are known for their love of talking about the weather. Weather is often the topic of conversations in elevators, at bus stops, and pretty much anywhere people gather together.  DK Canada Eyewitness Hurricane & Tornado is a terrifying look at the most destructive forces of nature on earth.  Don’t let the title fool you.  This book covers all kinds of weather topics such as hailstorms, floods, heatwaves, landslides and avalanches.  This is definitely a book that will keep all members of the family interested from cover to cover.




For a limited time, you can pick up these great DK Canada Eyewitness books, plus choose from ten other titles, and save 30% off on your purchase (that makes them ONLY $7.69 each!!).  With back to school time fast approaching, now is a great time to stock up on a few of these fun and educational books for the kids!

Our friends at DK Canada Books want to give 1 lucky Canadian Blog House reader the chance to win all 3 books we reviewed!  I hope the winner likes them as much as we do, because they are great books!

Here’s how you can enter for your chance to WIN:

a Rafflecopter giveaway





Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House was sent these 3 books in exchange for this review.  All opinions are our own.


  1. August 17, 2014

    Laurie B

    The first one we would all go to is the The Hurricane & Tornado book.

  2. August 15, 2014

    Charmaine T

    My children would love the Wonders of the World book as we have been studying them lately!

  3. August 12, 2014

    Karrie C

    I would love the Ocean one! Especially during Shark Week!

  4. August 12, 2014

    Angela Mitchell

    We’d love to read Wonders of the World. My daughter is really interested in discovering unique places in the world and dreaming about travelling into them.

  5. August 11, 2014

    Holly Wright

    The tornado book because I have always been interested in how tornadoes form!

  6. August 11, 2014

    sunshine h

    Oceans b/c there are so many beautiful things under the sea

  7. August 9, 2014


    Wonders of the World – a great way to learn about places that we haven’t been to

  8. August 8, 2014

    Jennifer Lo

    Hurricane and Tornado, amazing topic

  9. August 8, 2014

    Julie G

    The Hurricane & Tornado book caught my eye – we’ve had a couple of tornadoes in our area & my grandson is quite interested in them.

  10. August 7, 2014

    Sarah at Journeys of The Zoo

    Personally, I would be most interested in reading about the Titanic but The Kids would probably like the Wonders of the World. At 4, everything is a wonder 😉

    Besos, Sarah
    Blogger at Journeys of The Zoo

  11. August 7, 2014

    Doris H.

    Titanic because it is such a fascinating story.

  12. August 7, 2014


    My son would love hurricanes and Tornadoes. He’s really into extreme weather lately

  13. August 6, 2014


    I like the Wonders of the World. What a great way to discover the mystery and wonders of this amazing world with some fabulous pictures.

  14. August 5, 2014

    Amy C

    My kids would like Eyewitness Dog because they love animals, especially dogs or puppies.

  15. August 5, 2014

    Jennifer P.

    Definitely the Titanic one – I have always been interested in this tragic event, and my daughter is now showing interest too so we both would love to win that book. Her very first trip as a tiny baby was actually to the Titanic special exhibit held at the museum in Victoria, BC in 2007. It was amazing!!

  16. August 4, 2014

    Alexia H.

    My son would definitely be interested in the book on the Titanic, so I would be interested in him reading that one.

  17. August 4, 2014

    Joy M.

    We would love Wonders of the World – we would get to travel without leaving our home!

  18. August 4, 2014

    Wanda Tracey

    I am liking the “Wonders Of The World” because my two sons have traveled far and wide in this vast world to places I can only dream of.I am happy for them but their journeys have piqued my interest and taken my curiosity to unimaginable heights.I love the stories they tell me and I would love to read these books!!!THX for the chance…XX.

  19. August 4, 2014

    seham merzib

    the hurricane and tornado one because it’s nice to know whats happening in the world with all the storms going on

  20. August 4, 2014


    I am liking Wonders of the World, Hurricanes and Tornados and Titanic, it is hard to choose but if I had to it would be Wonders of the World. The grandkids will probably never be able to visit most of these( we live 60 minutes from Niagara Falls), so they will have to look in book to see them

  21. August 4, 2014


    I’d choose Ancient Greece and Ancient Egypt. I can’t get enough of the ancient and classical worlds!

  22. August 4, 2014

    Marjorie Roy

    The Wonders of the World would be great to read.

  23. August 4, 2014

    Life of K

    I agree – SO hard to choose!! I love the ones you chose but I’m not sure my kids would be as interested. They’d probably like the animal ones better – Cat, Dog…

  24. August 4, 2014


    The covers are enticing.

  25. August 4, 2014

    Lynda Cook

    Would like the Hurricane and Tornado, love storms and just seems like an excellent book

  26. August 4, 2014


    Hurricane and Tornado book. I know it’s for kids, but my husband is into anything to do with weather. If we lived in Tornado Alley, he would be a storm chaser.

Leave a comment

  1. Purple Monster Coupons – Win 3 gorgeous books from DK Canada!08-05-14


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 562 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.


12687984_1123298754386813_5693078246501293445_n LampeBerger



 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png


Blogger Conference Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button

Copy the code below: