Canadian Blog House

 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

RoboCop ~ Available On Blu-Ray & DVD ~ #Review #Giveaway

Posted by


 “The year is 2028 and OmniCorp – the world’s leader in robot technology – sees a golden opportunity to reap billions for their company.  When Alex Murphy (Joel Kinnaman) – a loving husband, father and good cop doing his best to stem the tide of crime and corruption in Detroit – is critically injured, OmniCorp grabs their chance to build a part-man, part-robot police officer.  OmniCorp envisions a RoboCopin every city and will stop at nothing – no matter the cost to Alex – to make sure the program succeeds.  But OmniCorp never counted on one thing: there is still a man fighting inside the machine.”

I saw the original RoboCop way back in 1987.  Hard for me to believe but, that was almost 30 years ago.  Time has erased many of my specific memories of this movie (I think it’s time for me to watch it again!), but I definitely do remember enjoying the original RoboCop at the theatre with some friends.

As is often the case for me, a remake or a “part two” of an original movie never quite leaves me feeling as satisfied as the first.  The same goes for this RoboCop.  It did not quite live up to our expectations.  While not as good as the first RoboCop, the 2014 version of RoboCop is still full of action, gore,  and quite a bit of humour. This RoboCop also features some of my favourite actors like Samuel L. Jackson and Michael Keaton.

Speaking of remakes, in celebration of RoboCop’s Blu-ray, DVD, and VOD releases, 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment presents to you,  the top ten remakes you can watch with your kids!

1. Freaky Friday

Freaky Friday was remade in 2003 starring Lindsay Lohan and Jamie Lee Curtis. The original was released in 1976, and there was another remake in 1995. In this fun movie, Lohan plays a misunderstood and rebellious teenage daughter to Curtis’s overworked mother. When the tension between them reaches a boiling point, a magical fortune cookie causes them to switch bodies and forces them to see their lives through each other’s eyes.

2. Three Men and a Baby

The biggest hit movie of 1987, Three Men and a Baby was a remake of the 1985 French film, Three Men and a Cradle. Tom Selleck, Steve Guttenberg, and Ted Danson star as three bachelors who are forced to take care of a baby left at their doorstep. Mix in a few drug dealers and you’ve got one of the funniest and most popular movies ever remade!

3. The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

For those whose kids are dreamers, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty would be a joy to watch. With inspiring characters, funny moments, and a wonderful storyline, this movie should not be missed! A 2013 remake of the 1947 film of the same name, it stars Ben Stiller as the titular character, along with Kristen Wiig, Sean Penn, and Adam Scott.

4. Peter Pan

The classic story of the boy who never grows up, fairy dust, flying, and evil pirates is one that has been made and remade in film various times. The 2003 remake of Peter Pan is a live-action version filled with playful children, fantasy, and romance that speaks to the kid in all of us.

5. Robocop

Whether it’s 2028 Detroit or a dystopic Detroit from 1987, when Alex Murphy – a loving husband, father and good cop – is critically injured in the line of duty, the multinational conglomerate OmniCorp sees their chance for a part-man, part-robot police officer.

For those of you who are long-time RoboCop fans, this newest release would make a great addition to your Blu-Ray collection, and you can find it now at a retailer near you.  

The great folks at 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment have offered up a copy of 2014’s RoboCop on Blu-Ray for one lucky Canadian Blog House winner! Here’s all you need to do to enter to WIN!

a Rafflecopter giveaway





Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House received a copy of this movie in exchange for a review.  All opinions are our own.

  1. July 2, 2014


    I prefer to watch movies in the comfort of my own home

  2. July 1, 2014

    Suzanne @KawarthaMums

    I like to do both : See a movie in a theatre, and at home.
    I like the atmosphere of the movie theatre, it makes the movie an event.
    I especially like watching movies at home that have bonus content.

  3. July 1, 2014

    Victoria Ess

    I prefer to watch movies in the theatre because it’s a nice treat for my partner and I to go out on a date.

  4. June 29, 2014


    I love watching a great action movie or something with lots of special effects on the big screen but, I enjoy just hanging out at home watching a comedy so, I guess I enjoy both.

  5. June 29, 2014

    Gene Donnelly

    Usually at home, because the snacks are cheaper and of better quality

  6. June 28, 2014


    Theatre, better experience.

  7. June 28, 2014

    Carole B.

    In a theater, for the big screen and the total immersion in the movie

  8. June 27, 2014

    Gary Lin

    I prefer to watch a movie in theater because of the sound and big screen.

  9. June 27, 2014

    christine nunes

    Depends, a 3D movie the theatre, other movies at home!

  10. June 26, 2014


    I love watching a great action movie or something with lots of special effects on the big screen but, I enjoy just hanging out at home watching a comedy so, I guess I enjoy both.

  11. June 25, 2014

    Angela Mitchell

    I like watching movies at home and at the theatre — it depends on the movie and my mood:) I like to see movies with a lot of special effects in the theatre though.

  12. June 25, 2014

    Jennifer P.

    I prefer at home because I actually experience motion sickness in the theatre. Never used to, then I had two fairly serious car accidents within 4 months of each other and ever since then I suffer from motion sickness. It’s improved over time, but action movies are the worst, and they are usually the ones I would want to see in a theatre, so we just view everything at home now.

  13. June 25, 2014

    Andrea Amy

    I would prefer to see a movie at the theatre because of the big screen and everything, but I have 5 kids so I watch 99.9% of movies at home. I only get to the theatre 1 or 2 times a year as its expensive, but nothing beats seeings a great film at the theatre.

  14. June 25, 2014

    sarah sar

    I love to watch movies in the comfort of my own home. I can pause the movie and take loo breaks when I need to and it’s less noisy too!

  15. June 25, 2014

    Karla Sceviour

    At the theatre is fun and great to get out and enjoy it.

  16. June 24, 2014

    Marie-Eve Daly

    I prefer to watch a movie at home as its much comfortable and I can snuggle 🙂

  17. June 24, 2014

    angela m

    I prefer both, at home because it is cheaper and more comfortable but in the theater for the popcorn and just getting out

  18. June 24, 2014


    At home right now as we have a 7 month old so don’t get out much!

  19. June 24, 2014


    I prefer to watch a movie a home because I can watch a movie in my underwear and not be judged by it.

  20. June 24, 2014

    Jody D

    Movie theaters are fun for the big blockbusters, but home is great for most of them

  21. June 24, 2014


    At home because I can pause and continue as often as I like.

  22. June 24, 2014

    Jeffrey Rossnagel

    At home so I can pause the movie whenever I like.

  23. June 24, 2014

    Robyn Bellefleur

    At home, so I can go pee whenever I want.

  24. June 24, 2014

    Maegan Morin

    I prefer the theater because the atmosphere sound and video quality is amazing, plus its a whole experience but I just cant afford it so I try to do it up at home.

  25. June 24, 2014

    Amy C

    I like to watch movies at home because it’s so expensive to go to out to a movie. If we stay home it can be family pizza and movie night.

  26. June 24, 2014

    Amanda Murray

    I definitely prefer to watch movies at home for sure! Kick my feet up, crank up the sound, eat and drink what I wish… bathroom breaks… oh yes, the list goes on, and on, and on! lol

  27. June 24, 2014


    I like to watch movies at the theatre. It’s a night out and I can catch up with friends over dinner or drinks before the movie.

  28. June 23, 2014


    Both, sometimes seeing an action movie is best at the movie theatre and sometimes horror and other such movies are best watched at one.

  29. June 23, 2014

    Jenness M

    At the theater for the big screen and sound and no interruptions!

  30. June 23, 2014


    I prefer watching movies at home. The popcorn is better and I don’t have to fight for a parking spot.

  31. June 23, 2014

    Erika E

    I like watching movies at home because I find it more comfortable. I can get up and get food and a drink without missing anything. Some movies are good to see on the big screen though and a good 3D movie should be seen in the theatre as well.

  32. June 23, 2014

    Chris Stockford

    Home so I can cook my own snacks and pause the movie when I want.

  33. June 23, 2014

    Anne Taylor

    I like to watch movies at home because its much more relaxing for me and if I’m scared I’m not shy about hiding my eyes behind hubby!

  34. June 23, 2014


    I like the theatre for the big screen with action movies. Cost too much for the treats though.

  35. June 23, 2014

    Lynda Cook

    I love watching a movie at the theater because of the sound and the size of the screen, but I mostly prefer at home, I can sit in my jammies and my snacks and drinks are free and I have a pause button for bathroom breaks and the #1 is no one behind me kicking the seat or a very tall person in front of me, so I will take watch at home anytime, plus the prices at the movies are starting to get a little crazy high!

Leave a comment


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 561 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.


12687984_1123298754386813_5693078246501293445_n LampeBerger



 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png


Blogger Conference Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button

Copy the code below: