Canadian Blog House

 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

Rocks And Minerals – The World In Your Hands – #WIN A Copy From DK Canada – #Review #Giveaway

Posted by


My family loves to “treasure hunt”  By that I mean, throw us on a beach and we’ll beachcomb for hours.  Lead us into the forest and we’ll spend an afternoon hiking through the bush, stopping to look under logs, rocks and anything else covering the forest floor.

Living in the great Canadian Shield (and many of us do) provides my family with a great opportunity to treasure hunt for beautiful rocks and minerals.  From the beautiful limestone shores of Kingston, Ontario, to the hematite of Bancroft, Ontario, the “nickel belt” of Sudbury, Ontario, and the diamonds of the Northwest Territories, you can find so many of these treasures in your own backyard.


love-the-earth-button-185x185Earth Day 2013 is fast approaching (April 22nd).  To celebrate, DK Canada sent me a copy of their Smithsonian Nature Guide: Rocks And Minerals – The World In Your Hands.

We were super excited to receive this book.  We love to go rock and mineral hunting in our area.  The National Capital Region is full of great places to find some pretty spectacular rocks and minerals.

Look what my boyfriend found during one of our outings to an area in Quebec about 1/2 hour outside of Ottawa:


I had seen crystals like this in museums before, but I’d never seen such a beautiful specimen just sitting there in the forest waiting to be found.  Well…not really.  My boyfriend had to dig through a big rock pile to find the crystal.  Guess what was hiding in that rock pile? POISON IVY!  My boyfriend was thrilled he found this massive crystal.  He was NOT thrilled about the poison ivy that invaded his body for weeks later.  Nasty!

The crystal is our best find to date, however, we have found all kinds of great rocks and minerals on our treks.  Problem is, we couldn’t always identify what we found.  Now we can!  With our DK Canada Rocks And Minerals book we can pretty much identify any rock or mineral we find.  The book is jam-packed with gorgeous, close-up photos of rocks and minerals, including a brief history and description of each one.  There’s even a small section about meterorites – a “find” that is on our bucketlist!

PicMonkey Collage

Something I love about this book is the introduction section.  It covers topics such as identifying rocks and minerals, collecting rocks and minerals, equipment, organization, storage, cleaning and more.  Although it’s full of information, Rocks And Minerals from DK Canada is still compact enough to be carried in a knapsack for easy reference in the out of doors.


On to the best part!  The great folks at DK Canada have offered one lucky Canadian Blog House member the chance to WIN their very own copy of Rocks And Minerals!  Here’s how you can enter to win:



***Disclosure: I received this book from DK Canada in exchange for a review.  All opinions expressed are my own.  No other compensation was received by Canadian Blog House.

  1. April 26, 2013


    CONGRATS TO JOY for winning this giveaway!! Hope you like your book, Joy!

    Many thanks again to DK Canada for sponsoring this giveaway…and thanks to all of you for entering!!

  2. April 25, 2013

    Crystal Dubeau

    My favorite is sapphires and diamonds… so beautiful! (I have 4 kids that love looking for rocks and tresures, so this would be a perfect book for us, they can check out their collection to identify what they have!)

  3. April 21, 2013



    • April 18, 2013


      Hehehe! What girl doesn’t love those 🙂 Thanks for entering, tankgrrl!

  4. April 17, 2013


    Well of course the amethyst is the prettiest, but i have discovered that there are so many different and beautiful rocks and minerals

    • April 17, 2013


      You are so right, hollymessana! One look through my new Rocks and Minerals book and I’ve discovered all kinds of r&m’s I didn’t even know existed 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  5. April 16, 2013


    i love amethyst or pink quartz

    • April 16, 2013


      Pink Quartz is definitely nice, corrine! Thanks for entering!

  6. April 16, 2013

    angela m

    I love Amethyst.

    • April 16, 2013


      Another Amethyst lover 🙂 Thanks for entering, Angela!

  7. April 15, 2013


    I don’t really have a favorite but I would love to win this book to find out!

    • April 15, 2013


      Well this is the book to win then, Brianne. You’ll find a favourite amongst all the beautiful pictures of rocks and minerals 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  8. April 14, 2013

    Brenda A

    Any type of quartz is a thrill here and we have had success!

    • April 14, 2013


      Lol..I’m jealous of any of you finding quartz! Thanks for entering Brenda!

    • April 13, 2013


      LOL…well that leaves lots of choice 🙂 Thanks for entering jnunavut!

  9. April 13, 2013


    I love the Amethyst so pretty

    • April 13, 2013


      It sure is, Lisa 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  10. April 13, 2013


    Here in Cape Breton, the beaches have so many types of rocks. This book would be wonderful for indentifying them. A book like this never goes out of date!

    • April 13, 2013


      Meant to add that the pure white stones we find are our favorites, We call them ‘wish’ rocks.

    • April 13, 2013


      Love the sound of those white rocks, nsconsumer! I LOVE Cape Breton rocks! I remember beachcombing there for hours finding so many wonderful rocks (which I still have). All kinds of colours! Thanks for entering 🙂

  11. April 13, 2013

    Lynn M

    Amethyst is my favorite and my birthstone too!!

    • April 13, 2013


      Nice birthstone to have, Lynn 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  12. April 13, 2013


    Hematite – i love all sorts of rocks – they are especially thrilling when we find them ourselves!

    • April 13, 2013


      You’re right, jemrah…the best ones are the ones you find yourself 🙂 Oh I love hematite! I have a hematite necklace. Thanks for entering!

  13. April 13, 2013

    Carrie Butler

    My Favorite is Amethyst Quartz. They are a bit easier to find and I love the colour.

    • April 13, 2013


      Another Amethyst Quartz lover 🙂 I would love to be able to find one of those 🙂 Thanks for entering, Carrie!

  14. April 12, 2013

    Chantal J

    Apache tears-a volcanic glass that is usually black, but is occasionally red, brown, gray, green (rare), dark with “snowflakes,” or even clear…I love the brownor blue ones.

    • April 12, 2013


      I love it, Chantal! I had never heard of Apache Tears. Guess what? I looked it up in my Rocks and Minerals book..and it’s there on Page 280. Very cool! Sure is beautiful! Thanks for sharing that..I learned something new 🙂

  15. April 12, 2013


    I really like amethyst quartz. It’s so pretty. Got a chunk of it on display in our house.

    • April 12, 2013


      I love those too, Dreena – you’re right, they are so pretty. Lucky you for having your own piece! Thanks for entering 🙂

Leave a comment


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 562 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.


12687984_1123298754386813_5693078246501293445_n LampeBerger



 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png


Blogger Conference Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button

Copy the code below: