Canadian Blog House

 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

Travelling Everywhere With My NOMAD Micro USB #Review #Giveaway

Posted by

NOMADChargeCardChargeKeyMinimalist necessities for the modern NOMAD

It’s a fact of life for many of us now that we spend our lives attached to one or more electronic devices, specifically our mobile phones.  If you are like me, you don’t go anywhere without your phone.  I happen to have a new smartphone, the LG G2 phone I reviewed a few months ago.  I loved my test model so much, I purchased the phone when my old one died.  My LG G2 has a fantastic battery that usually holds a charge for a couple of days but, as they say, nothing lasts forever.

So whenever I travel, whether it’s to visit family across the country, or just a day trip away from home for the day, I always have to remember to bring my phone cord with me so that, if need be, I can charge my phone while I’m away. Don’t get me wrong, bringing a cord with me isn’t a difficult thing to do: remembering to bring it with me is.

I no longer have to worry about forgetting my phone cord now that I own a NOMAD ChargeCard Micro USB Cable. Why?  Because this handy little gadget from NOMAD, which is compatible with my LG G2,  fits perfectly in my wallet  – just like a credit card!  So I can just leave my NOMAD ChargeCard in my wallet so that it’s there for me whenever I’m away from home.  My NOMAD ChargeCard Micro USB Cable easily connects to any standard USB port.  This means I could connect it to my laptop, and I can connect it to my USB port in my car.  I can connect it anywhere I can find a USB port – even on the back of some TVs!


So what exactly are the NOMAD ChargeKey and ChargeCard?

  • World’s smallest, most portable USB cables

  • Shaped like a house-key and credit card, respectively

  • Allows for charging from any USB port (works just like your standard iPhone 5 cable) and full data transfer when connected to a comput

  • Just launched on with expedited shipping available

Obviously, I love the NOMAD ChargeCard’s slim, easily portable design.  This is the feature that sells it for me.  I never have to worry about forgetting a charger for my phone again.  The USB “arm” clicks into the flat “card” body, but pops out when you need to connect your device.  This USB arm is flexible so that you can actually bend it in different directions, allowing for easy connection of your device to the charging source – no matter where that charging source may be (keeping in mind that the NOMAD ChargeCard does not have a long reach).

After 3 charges using my new NOMAD ChargeCard, I can safely say that the ChargeCard charges my LG G2 phone in the same amount of time as the charger that came with my phone. I tried charging it in a few different locations, making sure to have to bend the USB “arm” into a twisted position to see if it would still charge properly – and it did.  That was impressive as I was certain that bending it would cause “issues” with the charging but, it didn’t.

The NOMAD ChargeKey is another well-designed USB cable that hangs right on your key chain.  How handy is that?  This one is especially great for the guys who don’t wish to sit on a NOMAD ChargeCard in their wallet. The NOMAD ChargeKey is small, slim, and barely takes up any room on your key chain.   The boys have inherited the NOMAD ChargeKey USB cable as it works perfectly with my boyfriend’s phone, and X-Man’s iPod.


A little history about NOMAD.  They just launched the ChargeCard (their first product) last year on Kickstarter, and exceeded their goal by 300%.  That’s a pretty fantastic launch!  ChargeKey, their second product was successfully launched on Indiegogo.

In NOMAD’s own words:

“In the nomadic spirit, we accept barters as a way for people/companies to exchange their own goods and services for ChargeCards/ChargeKeys. We received an overwhelming response, ranging from custom bikes and die-stamped office furniture to wall art and artisanal popcorn.”

Make charging your devices a little easier.  Be sure to check out NOMAD’s website to see which USB cable is a good fit for your device and your lifestyle. I should also point out that NOMAD offers a referral program.  If you refer 3 friends who end up purchasing a NOMAD, you can get one free!

The great folks at NOMAD are offering up a great prize for one lucky Canadian Blog House reader!  You could win your choice of either the NOMAD ChargeCard OR the NOMAD ChargeKey!

Here’s how you can enter to WIN:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclosure:54224y783wpiiyxb89ic  Canadian Blog House received the two above mentioned products in exchange for this review.  All opinions are our own.



  1. May 27, 2014


    I use the chargers that came with my devices. I’d love to have the ChargeKey

  2. May 26, 2014

    Alex B

    now using usual chargers, I prefer chargekey

  3. May 22, 2014

    Betty S

    I do my charging at home with the cords that came with the device. I would love the have the charge card

  4. May 21, 2014

    Yuen C

    I have a portable charger to charge my phone and I like the Charge Key!

  5. May 20, 2014

    Andrea Amy

    i use the cords that came with my devices. I would love this for my iphone.

  6. May 20, 2014


    My wife would use this more than I would as she always forgets her cable. She is using the 8pin Apple and has about 5 of them as I tend to buy her a new one when she forgets it at home.

  7. May 19, 2014

    amber y

    I just use the chargers that came with my devices. i’d love to have the chargeKey!!

  8. May 19, 2014

    Brenda Glover

    I charge my iphone with annoying chargers that constantly break. I’d love to try the chargeKey

  9. May 18, 2014


    I use the original that came with the phone I think I would love the Charge Key! thanks for the chance

  10. May 18, 2014

    Amanda Murray

    Cords here, cords there… I would love Nomad’s ChargeKey!

  11. May 18, 2014


    I have a cheap portable charger that dies out fast and I like The Charge Key!

  12. May 17, 2014


    I use the cord that came with the phone. I love the Charge Key!

  13. May 17, 2014

    Bailey Dexter

    I have one table by the door and each device has the cord that it came with, not a good look for the table, but it does work.

  14. May 17, 2014

    Brandee H

    I have an extra code plugged in my cars USB port so I can charge my phone. I love the chargekey. Having it on my keys would ensure I wouldnt lose or forget it.

  15. May 17, 2014

    Karla Sceviour

    I use the cords that come with the device..I would like the Chargekey!

  16. May 16, 2014

    M Thompson

    I use the charge cord that came with the Ipod. Would love to win the Nomad ChargeKey because it is so small and portable.
    (Note: second comment as the first had typo in email address)

  17. May 16, 2014

    Jennifer L.

    I just charge with the cords that came with my devices. I’d love the Charge Key.

    • May 16, 2014


      Yep, this seems to be pretty standard, Jennifer 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  18. May 15, 2014

    Heidi C.

    I use an electrical cord currently (no pun intended) but would love the CardWallet.

    • May 16, 2014


      May not have been intended, Heidi, but that was pretty funny! Thanks for the laugh and for entering!

  19. May 15, 2014


    I use an external battery back. I would go for the Lightning version

  20. May 14, 2014


    I currently charge at home with the cords and adapters that came with my device. I think I would definitely use the NOMAD ChargeKey!

  21. May 14, 2014

    Jody D

    I am currently using a cord, but with space in our truck always being a premium I would love to be able to use the USB key charger

  22. May 14, 2014

    Amy C

    I charge with the cable that came with my phone. I would choose the ChargeCard.

  23. May 14, 2014

    Victoria Ess

    I currently use cables that I plug into walls or my laptop. I would choose the card!

  24. May 14, 2014


    I use the adapter that came with my smartphone – I’d pick the key – so that I’d always have it on me!

    • May 16, 2014


      Smart choice, Francine. You can’t go wrong with that. We all have to take our keys when we leave the house 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  25. May 14, 2014


    I charge my devices with the regular cables. It will be great to have the ChargeKey!

    • May 14, 2014


      The ChargeKey is definitely convenient…especially for guys. It’s smaller than the average key so doesn’t take up much room on a key chain. Thanks for entering, Edson!!

  26. May 13, 2014

    Cathy C

    I use the cord that comes with the phone and I would pick the card

    • May 14, 2014


      Great choice, Cathy. It’s so handy to be able to tuck it away in my wallet. I think you’d like this one 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  27. May 13, 2014

    mongupp (@mongupp)

    I carry my cord in my bag! The charge key would be cool!

    • May 13, 2014


      That was me before I got my NOMAD ChargeCard, mongupp…always a cord in my bag. This is so much easier! Thanks for entering 🙂

    • May 13, 2014


      I still use my cord at home too (where it’s set up)…but having the ChargeCard is so handy when I’m away from home 🙂 Thanks for entering, Helene!

  28. May 13, 2014

    Debra R

    This would be an extremely handy little gadget, as I’m always running out of battery life!!

    • May 13, 2014


      I hear you, Debra! Seems all I do is charge batteries these days, lol. Thanks for entering!

  29. May 13, 2014


    I charge my devices with what comes with the products. I would love to get the NOMAD ChargeKey!

    • May 13, 2014


      I bet you would love the ChargeKey, May 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  30. May 13, 2014

    Tammie S

    Well This is what I love!! I to use my cord and this will be much more convenient!! Attached to my hips all the time, well
    Maybe not my hips but I swear my keys are always there lol 🙂

    • May 13, 2014


      Hahaha! Attached at the hip, eh Tammie? That’s actually a great place for your keys and for a NOMAD ChargeKey. You won’t lose them that way! Thanks for entering 🙂

  31. May 13, 2014


    I just use the cord that came with my phone and sometimes my outlet in the car. The Charge Key would be great so I can just put in on my key ring and not have to carry a long cord in my purse! Sounds like a great product!

    • May 13, 2014


      That sounds exactly like me, Manduh, until I got my NOMAD devices. Yes, it sure is nice not to have to carry the cord with me! So easy to tuck the card in my wallet and off I go 🙂 Thanks for entering!

Leave a comment


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 562 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.


12687984_1123298754386813_5693078246501293445_n LampeBerger



 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png


Blogger Conference Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button

Copy the code below: