Canadian Blog House


 photo Facebook-icon_zpsf1f53f9e.png  photo Twitter-icon_zps2aaee0e6.png  photo Pinterest-icon_zpse45185bc.png  photo Google-Plus-icon_zpsfc242f8d.png

It’s HOT! It’s SUMMER! It’s MASTERMIND TOYS! WIN A $50 GC!

Posted by
/ / 137 Comments

Summer is finally here and that means summer vacation for the kids!  With at least 8 weeks left to keep the little ones busy, Mastermind Toys has got summer covered with their fun Hot Summer Toys that kids are sure to love.

As I recently mentioned, Mastermind Toys has just opened their THIRD location here in Ottawa, in the suburb of Barrhaven, located at 71 Marketplace Ave, (situated in Chapman Mills Marketplace). I had the chance to take a peek in this new store last week when I was in the area with X-Man.  We were just as enthralled with this new store as we were with the Mastermind Toy store I visited in Kanata.  Toys from floor to ceiling, bright and colourful displays, well-marked sections, great staff, and of course, those fabulous HUGE custom-made stuffed animals!  

I don’t know who wanted to visit the new Mastermind Toys store more, me or X-Man.  He wanted to visit to cash in on a promised “treat”, while I wanted to visit just so I could browse through the super fun aisles of toys. Mastermind Toys may be a toy store aimed at young kids, but this big kid-at-heart is fascinated by some of the unique toys that this Canadian retailer carries.  After browsing for 20 minutes, I could have bought numerous items…for myself! Top of my list is the Zoku popsicle maker.  I love making my mum’s homemade popsicle recipe in summer and this product looks like it would do a great job making my popsicles – fast!

Back to reality though.  We were there to get X-Man a treat.  He was allowed to spend up to $30 and he was on a mission to find something to keep him busy later that day.  Choices, choices.  Being the LEGO fanatic that he is, a great LEGO set (a 3-in-1 sports car/tow truck/roadster set) was the number one choice.  Mastermind Toys has a great selection of LEGO sets, including sets that have things like working gears and chains. X-Man walked away a happy customer,  and I was smiling when he spent an hour later that afternoon happily constructing the tow truck.

Now,  X-Man has yet another fantastic toy from Mastermind Toys after receiving the FLIGHT Pogo Stick to review:

MastermindToysFlightPogoStickHands up! Who remembers the classic Pogo Stick?  I sure do.  I used to LOVE jumping in the driveway on my sister’s pogo stick.  I spent hours jumping on that thing.  So I was equally as excited as X-Man was to receive the FLIGHT Pogo Stick. It took all my willpower to let him be the first to try it, lol.

The first thing I noticed when I pulled the FLIGHT Pogo Stick out of the box is how sturdy and well-made it is. This was no 1970’s Pogo Stick like I used to use.  The co-molded rubber performance grips feel great to hold on to, and provide a good, non-slip grip.  The durable hydro-formed steel body of the FLIGHT Pogo Stick makes it seemingly impossible to break.  A look at the information on the back of the box indicates that this pogo stick can handle a body weight of up to 180 pounds! Wowee! That definitely meant I could bounce on the FLIGHT Pogo Stick too!!  The no-slip surface of the foot-plate makes it easy for kids to keep their feet firmly on the pogo stick and not slipping out from under them even when wet.

Other features include:

  • Concealed Low Friction Spring technology – quiet, smooth and higher bounce
  • Progressive Spring: Dampens sudden stop when fully compressed
  • Strong steel piston with replaceable sphere tip – provides better balance and comfort
  • Welded triangle foot-plate for better stability, control and advanced tricks
  • Plenty of room for sticker

Of course I let X-Man take the first test jump of the FLIGHT Pogo Stick.  X-Man had been wanting a pogo stick for ages, so he was pretty excited to give it a go.  As with any product such as a bicycle, skateboard or scooter, kids should wear a helmet and protective gear (knee pads/elbow pads) while using the FLIGHT Pogo Stick.  X-Man has a bike helmet so I made him wear that, however, he doesn’t have the pads so this is something we now have on our shopping list.  Of course I still had to let him try it out, so out to the driveway he went.

We quickly learned why the recommended minimum weight for the FLIGHT Pogo Stick is 80lbs.  X-Man falls short of this minimum weight, and therefore,  this made it difficult for him to use the pogo stick properly.  He was able to jump on it (he managed to jump 5 times in a row with it) but his lighter weight made it frustrating for him to use it for any length of time.  So…that just meant that this big kid (me) would have to test it out further.  Needless to say, I was happy to jump on the stick!

MastermindToysFlightPogo

While my pogo stick jumping skills have seriously declined since the 1970’s, I am still in love with X-Man’s new FLIGHT Pogo Stick.  This pogo stick is light years ahead of the pogo stick I used to use.  I love the grips, love the smooth action of the springs, love the non-slip foot-plates,  and the overall spring action when I jump.

No doubt about it, this is a QUALITY pogo stick and well worth the $59.99 price tag.

The replaceable rubber sphere tip is a great feature.  When my sister’s old pogo stick tip wore out, that was it, unless Dad could fashion his own rubber tip, which was next to impossible back then.

This summer, it will be me, and maybe a few friends,  who will keep enjoying the FLIGHT Pogo Stick.  By next summer, I’m sure X-Man will be ready to take control of his new pogo stick himself after he packs on a few more pounds.  I have no doubt we will be enjoying this great Mastermind Toys product for years to come!

Mastermind Toys has all kinds of other great Hot Summer Toys they are featuring right now.  Here are just a select few of their “fun in the sun” toys:

MastermindToysSummer2014

 

o   Lazer Pitch Baseball

o   Our Generation Dolls

o   Dodge Tag

o   Doodle Quest

o   Smak-A-Ball

o   Kidnoculars

o   Sweet Links Bracelet Maker

For those of you in the Ottawa area, Mastermind Toys’ newest retail store in Barrhaven will be celebrating their Grand Opening July 10-13th.  Be sure to bring the kids – they have all kinds of fun stuff planned!  There will be FREE Loot Bags for kids, Giveaways, Cupcakes (Saturday only) and a great offer.  The Mastermind Toys staff will be on hand to provide the BEST customer service, and as always, their complimentary gift wrap service will be available all weekend.

So be sure to come and have some FUN with Mastermind Toys, Ottawa!

Our great friends at Mastermind Toys are offering up a $50 Mastermind Toys Gift Card for one lucky Canadian Blog House reader!! How great is that?! And don’t worry – if you don’t live near a retail store…you can still shop online! Here is all you need to do to enter for your chance to WIN:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

54224y783wpiiyxb89ic

 

 

 

Disclosure:  Canadian Blog House was provided with this product in exchange for this review.  All opinions are our own. 

 

 

  1. July 18, 2014

    darci

    A rainbow loom kit would be wonderful!!!

  2. July 17, 2014

    Jeanette Jackson

    My grandson would love the Playmobil Lion Knights Empire Castle

  3. July 17, 2014

    Juliee Fitze

    Love to get the Smartrike

  4. July 17, 2014

    Ginger Leah Gervais

    My son seen the pogo stick and he says he likes that best 😉

  5. July 16, 2014

    Angela Mitchell

    We’d love to get the Smartrike for my 19 month old son!

  6. July 16, 2014

    Kristine Ewald

    My daughter would love anything LEGO

  7. July 16, 2014

    Tracey

    The Lego Superheroes Starblaster Showdown!

  8. July 16, 2014

    michelle

    OMG – Dodge tag – how cool is that. I want to play with my son and then once he is asleep play against the hubs

  9. July 16, 2014

    Audrey Skinner

    My great-nephew would love the electronic trampoline.

  10. July 15, 2014

    Natalie

    Puzzles are popular here and the 3D crystal puzzles that MasterMind toys has look like they’d be a huge hit!

  11. July 15, 2014

    Michelle B

    My youngest daughter wants a Pogo stick so bad but, she is too tiny for the standard one. I’m sure she’d have lots of fun with the Kidoozie Hop and Squeak Pogo Jumper though.

  12. July 15, 2014

    Tara Gauthier

    My son would absolutely love this pogo stick!

  13. July 15, 2014

    Rochel S

    Would love to get a new Playmobil set!

  14. July 14, 2014

    jan

    I like the Red Toolbox Treasure Chest Kit

  15. July 14, 2014

    BobbiJo Pentney

    My kids would love lego friends and lego city

  16. July 14, 2014

    Cathy C

    I am loving the pogo stick That is top on my list

  17. July 14, 2014

    Pam

    I would love to have a huge set of Kapla blocks.

  18. July 14, 2014

    Wendy hutton

    the Groovy girls dolls are real cute

  19. July 14, 2014

    Jennifer D

    The new ninja turtle lego!

  20. July 13, 2014

    ivy pluchinsky

    Ice pop maker

  21. July 13, 2014

    krystyl olson

    my DD loves the new style of Beanie babies …. my DS loves LEGO sets

  22. July 12, 2014

    Sunshine G

    She’d love a water table!

  23. July 12, 2014

    Harvinderks

    My daughter would love NEW Rainbow Loom® Kit – with Metal Tip Hook.

  24. July 12, 2014

    Bree

    My boys would love the pogo sticks!

  25. July 12, 2014

    Emily

    My little brother has been asking for a pogo stick for ages!

  26. July 11, 2014

    kristen visser

    would love to get my daughter the Hape Alphabet Abacus

  27. July 11, 2014

    TT

    LEGO Friends is my daughter’s most favourite!

  28. July 10, 2014

    Charles DF

    I am the ‘child’, and would love any of the techie things.

  29. July 10, 2014

    nicolthepickle

    I think she would like the Cloud B tranquil Starfish.

  30. July 10, 2014

    roger simmons

    Ice Pop Maker. My kids would love it. Especially my daughter. She loves her easy bake she would love that.

  31. July 10, 2014

    Bailey Dexter

    A fun toy for the grandkids would be the Inflatable Fish Ball Pit with 24 Balls they would love it!

  32. July 8, 2014

    Anna W

    The LEGO® Ninja Turtles T-Rawket Sky Strike sounds good!

  33. July 8, 2014

    Robyn Bellefleur

    My daughter would love the rainbow loom set.

  34. July 8, 2014

    angela m

    My kids would love the Lundby Smaland Doll House

  35. July 8, 2014

    Jennpup

    My daughter would love to buy the LEGO® Minecraft Micro World The End! My son would like that POGO Stick!! 🙂

  36. July 8, 2014

    Suzie M

    The Lego turtles

  37. July 8, 2014

    Chris Stockford

    I would have to pick the Legos

  38. July 8, 2014

    janet

    Anything wooden and kitchen-related!

  39. July 8, 2014

    J

    Lego

  40. July 7, 2014

    aarone m

    The HAPE discovery center would be well received

  41. July 7, 2014

    shane

    LEGO all the way

  42. July 7, 2014

    lori b

    a hexbot nano

  43. July 7, 2014

    Angie In My 30s

    anything and everything MINECRAFT … I can’t pick just one. lol

  44. July 7, 2014

    Jenn

    The Zoku ice pop maker would be a huge hit!

  45. July 7, 2014

    James Robb

    lego teenage mutant ninga turtles

  46. July 6, 2014

    charlene

    Melissa and doug puzzles. She loves puzzles.

  47. July 6, 2014

    Sarah Stickney

    inflatable indoor snow fort

  48. July 6, 2014

    Melissa D

    my son would love Hexbug Nano V2 Black Hole

  49. July 6, 2014

    Amy

    He would love the Sands Alive!

  50. July 6, 2014

    mrdisco@gmail.com

    Lego Ecto-1 for me

  51. July 6, 2014

    Nicole

    The Decorate Your Own Rocket would be a big hit!

  52. July 5, 2014

    kristine

    I imagine my son would love anything lego or rainbow loom.

  53. July 5, 2014

    Darlene W

    Anything Lego at our house

  54. July 5, 2014

    Justin

    whooooot!

  55. July 5, 2014

    Charmaine T

    My 4 yo would love the Our Generation Abrianna doll!

  56. July 5, 2014

    Maggie K.

    My son Theo would love if I bought a few bottles of Pustefix Bubble Refills.

  57. July 5, 2014

    loucheryl

    My son would love the Thomas Train table set!

  58. July 5, 2014

    Life of K

    These days I think Lego would be at the top of their list!

  59. July 4, 2014

    Rene

    I would love the Crazy Forts Construction Toy (oh, I mean my kids would love it 😉

  60. July 4, 2014

    Lucy

    Vulli Sophie the Giraffe

  61. July 4, 2014

    Karla Sceviour

    Air Hogs Helix X4 Quad RC Helicopter 2.4 GHz

  62. July 4, 2014

    Jenny

    Lincoln Logs

  63. July 4, 2014

    Casey Miller

    Fashion Plates look like a lot of fun!

  64. July 4, 2014

    Janie N @copperjane

    LEGO® Juniors Pony Farm

  65. July 4, 2014

    suzi

    She’d like the VTech InnoTab Disney Princess Software Cartridge

  66. July 4, 2014

    Jody D

    My nephew is the perfect size for the Pogo Stick!

  67. July 4, 2014

    BlessedTA

    Hape Discovery Space Center

  68. July 4, 2014

    Megan F.

    Snap Circuit board! We love that kind of stuff!

  69. July 4, 2014

    Stephanie M

    Lincoln Logs

  70. July 4, 2014

    Amanda@MultiTestingMom

    I absolutely LOVE Mastermind and if I were to buy something there, it would likely be LEGO b/c that is what my son is most into these days 🙂 BUT those Pogo sticks look awfully cool and they seem to be trendy!!

  71. July 4, 2014

    Brenda Penton

    My son would love to have the LEGO® Minecraft Micro World The End

  72. July 4, 2014

    BM

    LiteHawk Collector’s Limited Edition 2013 Helicopter

  73. July 4, 2014

    Toby

    Radio Flyer Ultimate Comfort Wagon looks awesome! Sure looks different than the one I had as a kid!

  74. July 4, 2014

    Brandee H

    I love the specialty block sets they sell. The Pirates one is my favourite. My son would also be happy with a TMNT lego set.

  75. July 4, 2014

    Eldon L

    The Zoku pop maker would be great!

  76. July 4, 2014

    Jennifer P.

    My daughter would love to have the Calico Critters Adventure Tree House. Or any Lego product, particularly the LEGO Friends “Stephanie’s Beach House” building set.

  77. July 4, 2014

    sunshine h

    I have had my eye on a Zoku Quick Pop maker for some time, so I think that would be my choice. Though, DD would have to agree. hehe.

  78. July 4, 2014

    Suzanne Rudge

    What a fabulous review Sandy! We absolutely LOVE Mastermind Toys. It has something for everyone and is such a lovely and inviting store to visit. My son loves both the Lego and Ten-Ki Knights sets and my daughter, well, she loves it all, but especially the huge selection of Rainbow Loom stuff.

  79. July 4, 2014

    Josh S

    JumpSmart Electronic Trampoline looks cool

  80. July 4, 2014

    wobbles13

    the giant giraffe

  81. July 4, 2014

    Heidi C.

    My little guys would love some Thomas train items.

  82. July 3, 2014

    Maegan Morin

    My son would love to have the LEGO® Technic Moto Cross Bike!

  83. July 3, 2014

    May

    My niece would love the Vulli Sophie the Giraffe!

  84. July 3, 2014

    margaux retrophiliac

    any of the lego sets!

  85. July 3, 2014

    Amy Heffernan

    I think my lil guy would just love one of those Plasma Cars! Thanks for the great giveaway!

  86. July 3, 2014

    joyce s.

    My kids like the brain teasers.

  87. July 3, 2014

    Bev

    My son would love the Lamaze Cuddle and Squeak Koalas!

  88. July 3, 2014

    andie

    My two would love to take a turn on the “Schoenhut® 5 Piece Drum Set.”

  89. July 3, 2014

    Tanis

    LEGO® City Arctic Helicrane would something my son would love!

  90. July 3, 2014

    vasyo zed

    playmobil is rulez

  91. July 3, 2014

    JenniferManganelli

    yes please

  92. July 3, 2014

    melissa fowers

    My son would love Lego or any toys really. My Daughter loves puppy toys.

  93. July 3, 2014

    nick a.

    My nephew would go crazy for the K’NEX Typhoon Frenzy Roller Coaster.

  94. July 3, 2014

    Donna L.

    My niece would love the Playmobil My Secret Play Box Princess Castle.

  95. July 3, 2014

    Jamie Glenn

    My kids love Lego!!!

  96. July 3, 2014

    Rachel Cartwright

    My nephew would love some Lego!

  97. July 3, 2014

    Jeff Skidmore

    That big stuffed elephant would be amazing!

  98. July 3, 2014

    Cassey C

    Sand Alive is our choice!

  99. July 3, 2014

    Dream24

    LEGO® Minecraft…as long as it’s Minecraft it doesn’t really matter 😛

  100. July 3, 2014

    Darwin

    My son would love the plasma car!

  101. July 3, 2014

    lisa bolduc

    my kid has the tegu blocks and loves them

  102. July 3, 2014

    Lisa Neutel

    Any of the awesome LEGO sets would be his first choice

  103. July 3, 2014

    Victoria Ess

    They would love Duplo or Lego.

  104. July 3, 2014

    Julie G

    My grandson would love the LEGO® The LEGO® Movie™ Super Cycle Chase. He’s really into Lego right now.

  105. July 3, 2014

    Krista M

    The Wham-O slip n’ slide wave rider double water slide!

  106. July 3, 2014

    Doris H.

    He would absolutely love to have a Lego set….very creative toy!

  107. July 3, 2014

    Mary Anderson

    Some new lego would be a HUGE summer hit for my 3 monkeys!!

  108. July 3, 2014

    joyce

    lego would be awesome for my kindergarten kids!:)

  109. July 3, 2014

    Suzanne

    I think the Zoku pops set would be awesome!

    The kids and I love Mastermind Toys and shop there often!

  110. July 3, 2014

    cruiser

    I would have to give my grandson his choice of Lego. Love that stuff.

    • July 3, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh Joy, great idea 🙂 Do you or your daughter play? Or is this something one of you would like to learn? Thanks for entering!

  111. July 3, 2014

    Jennifer L.

    My son is a huge Lego fan so he’d love a new Lego set — maybe one from the Lego movie.

    • July 3, 2014

      Sandy

      LEGO sets are a great choice, Jennifer, and I saw plenty of them at Mastermind Toys – including some LEGO movie sets. Thanks for entering!

    • July 3, 2014

      Sandy

      Scooters are big hits with kids these days, Lori 🙂 X-Man has the Kick Maxi Kick Scooter and just loves it. Thanks for entering!

  112. July 3, 2014

    Sandy

    Both my boys would really enjoy the LightHawk Champ RC Tunnel Boat! I think dad would also!

    • July 3, 2014

      Sandy

      I have been eyeballing that too, Sandy. X-Man is a HUGE RC fan. Lol..yep, just the thing Dad would love too, I’m sure. Thanks for entering!

    • July 3, 2014

      Sandy

      Oh wow! I’d never seen that before, Darrah! That looks pretty cool! Hmmm…I bet X-Man would love that one too. Thanks for entering!

  113. July 3, 2014

    Lynda Cook

    Omg!!! I love the 3′ Hana Black Horse, my granddaughter would instantly fall in love with it, the only problem is the price..lol

    • July 3, 2014

      Sandy

      I hear you, Lynda! LOL X-Man wanted to take home the giant elephants! I told him they cost a “wee bit” more than the $30 limit he had to spend that day 🙂 Thanks for entering!

      • July 4, 2014

        Lynda Cook

        Omg, elephants too!!! I stopped looking when I seen the horse, now I want an elephant..lol….Have a great day Sandy!!

  114. July 3, 2014

    Cindy B.

    The ZOKU Quick Pop Maker would be fabulous in the summertime for my little one!

    • July 3, 2014

      Sandy

      I’m with you, Cindy. I’m really lovin’ the look of the Zoku popsicle maker 🙂 Thanks for entering!

  115. July 3, 2014

    Brenda A

    ANY of the Playmobil! They also have a huge longing for Callico Critters.

    • July 3, 2014

      Sandy

      Great choices – Playmobil is wonderful for the little ones 🙂 Thanks for entering, Brenda!!

Leave a comment

CONTACT CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

canadianbloghouse@gmail.com

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 593 other subscribers

Got family and friends in Canada?  Give them the gift of an experience.

PARTNERS

Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1) Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

NOMINATED FOR BEST LIFESTYLE/TRAVEL/PRODUCT REVIEW BLOG!!

WINNER OF A CANADIAN BLOG AWARD!

 photo 221ddf47-ff11-4c4a-a58a-d15dae8e47c1_zpse40a0da1.png

FRIENDS OF CANADIAN BLOG HOUSE

online coupons Icon3_OMC_125px
Advertise With Canadian Blog House (1)

Grab My Button


Copy the code below:


Archives

Categories